$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
837 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.
Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (837)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 837
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NewYorkerCM
Business
New York, NY
Aug 17, 2014

Great beach, Good Hotel Foods, Mediocre Local Experience

The best part about this hotel is the food! Whether you eat in the Lobby, or at the restaurant downstairs, they have very good food. The double beds in the rooms are VERY small, and hard as a rock. Not the typical hotel mattress I would expect from a Marriott. The lobby and elevators had a horrible urine smell most of the time, I'm not sure what that was. The area is nice, but more run down than I expected. Condodo Beach has alot of vacant hotels and buildings, as well as a lot of homeless people. The service at local bars and restaurants (besides the Hotel), is lacking. They definetly gravitate towards the locals more than the tourits. Overall, the hotel was nice with a few draw backs, but being beach front, you really can't beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the Hotel Lobby is excellent! Definetly try the Chicken Quesidillas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Casual Philly traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 7, 2014

Perfect!

The Marriott was conveniently located on a strip of shops and restaurants in the Condado neighborhood. The hotel itself was perfect - very clean, and with every amenity. While the hotel beach was not the prettiest on the island, it was completely lovely and wonderful because the Marriott staff would set up lounge chairs and umbrellas for you. All the staff was cheerful and helpful. Will absolutely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lostintransx
Business
San Juan, conado
Sep 10, 2013

Quick weekend getaway

To make it short I had a great time here . Perfect location, the beautiful beach, nearby shops & restaurants. Staff was always helpful & friendly. Will be back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Older New Yorker
Business
New York, NY
Feb 2, 2013

great mini vacation

I arrived on a Saturday afternoon around 2PM and had a soda at the bar while waiting for my room. They had my room ready for me only about a half hour later, which was nice since check-in isn't until 4PM. The hotel lobby bar is great, I used the small gym and sauna, and had a very good late night room service hamburger one night. It's great being right on the beach and my "partial view" room was really a great sideways view of the ocean. Close to a lot of eating places too. There was a sound outside my room every 20 minutes or so sounding like an ice machine dropping ice, but I use ear plugs every night always, and didn't hear it when I slept. My second stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't expect great Italian food at the Italian restaurant that is adjacent to the (good) Mexican restaurant down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VA gay traveller
Business
Alexandria, VA
Nov 19, 2012

Really good getaway!

The hotel was fantastic. When we checked in, we were met by a barmaid with a wonderful free rum drink! The hotel had many attendants around the lobby area, all thin and handsome and providing a kind greeting. The pools, whirlpool, beach, bars overlooking the beach, etc., were all wonderful although the drink prices were steep. The beach was perfect, with 80 degree water temperature and folks that brought the unbrellas and lounge chairs out for us. Overall, I would rate this trip as a real bargain, and I really enjoyed the experience. With the package price and direct flights to/from Washington/Dulles, it made the whole trip a no-brainer. People at the office can't believe what a good deal this vacation was. And the people in San Juan were just so kind and helpful--they obviously understand the U.S. and what tourism is about!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Three gays and girl
Business
NYC
Jun 11, 2012

Fantastic for fun

We got an upgrade for free to the executive penthouse suite. WHAT A TREAT! The staff was great, the location was perfect, and the free rum punch was a highlight. We had a lot of fun at the casino, which offers low minimum bets for gambling. Our only complaint is that the bar prices around the pool are a bit steep and the free drink service at the casino is SLOW. Overall, this hotel is highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Argentinian Steakhouse, Ummo, was delicious and not too expensive. The Mexican restaurant, Tijuanas, was fabulous. All near by the hotel! Avoid Zucchero. Limited menu, slow service and overpriced everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobotash
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Great Location - Hotel showing signs of age

I have been to this hotel a number of times over the last 20 years and not much has changed. The hotel is in need of an update. While spotlessly clean it is showing the wear an tear. The lobby is gorgeous, pools great, and beach wonderful. Spa facilities are in need of major renovation. All in all still a wonderful place to stay and I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jam Bar & Grill - food is fabulous and the vibe of the place is a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VELVET
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Not for pleasure!

This hotel has no personal touch. No service at the pool, beach service was minimum and the check- in staff lacked hospitality. Had the breakfast very expensive and cold - it's buffet style. Was looking forward to the tropical drinks but they were horrible, beer was our save option. One thing I did notice the staff did cater to the conference people. Kudos to the cleaning crew the only people that had it right. I'm not staying here again, unless I'm on a conference!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

OLD SAN JUAN! MUSIC IN THE STREETS, GREAT LOCAL FOOD AND AWESOME BARS, LOTS OF CHOICES.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CBSJ
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Great location...and nicely appointed hotel

My stay at the Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino was just what I was looking for. The location is only a short 10 minute taxi ride and once there, you are in the middle of everything...beach, shops and nice restaurants. And, beautiful Old San Juan is a short trip from the hotel. The amenities at the hotel were fantastic, and the staff were very courteous and helpful, especially the Concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely try Ropa Vieja for dinner...a short walk from the hotel with an extensive menu that provides the diner with a wonderful opportunity to sample some of the local flavor. A favorite of mine was the fresh stewed goat meat...on the menu as Fresco Guisado. And, I would also recommend the avocado salad. Both were DELICIOUS!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack K
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Great spot

I've stayed here many times. The pool and beach are convenient and really nice. The restaurants are good and the casino is big and lively. I like the location too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short taxi ride to Old San Juan where there are several great restaurants as well as shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top