$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
777 reviews
Great third time there!

We have spent three trips to PR and stayed at the same hotel for the great service and... See full review

  • Ricky Baeza.
  • Aug 22, 2015
Amazing Girls Trip

My friends and I had never been to Puerto Rico and did extensive research on deals. We are beyond... See full review

  • Amanda
  • Aug 20, 2015
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Location
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Highlights
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Policies

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$179
4.3 / 5 603 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.2 / 5 133 reviews
★★★
$104
3.7 / 5 63 reviews
★★★
$85
3.7 / 5 168 reviews
★★★★
$160
4.5 / 5 19 reviews
★★★
$113
4.1 / 5 36 reviews
★★★
$138
3.9 / 5 44 reviews
★★★
$70
3.4 / 5 87 reviews

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 777
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PhilipBoston
Friends
Boston, M
Oct 11, 2011

Lobby Renovation

I am upset that we were not notified before booking that the hotel lobby was under renovation. I think we would have booked elsewhere had we known. The hotel was just ok, nothing to write home about. The view was excellent. The food at breakfast was just awful. It was really poor quality. It was the worst experience. Bad service, everyone at the table was pushed in ordering items that cost more. She pretended not to understand and just brought items we had only asked about. Didn't go back, truly felt ripped off. I won't be going back to this Marriott!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wwong
Friends
New York, NY
May 15, 2012

Average Stay

I went with 2 other girlfriends and we chose Marriott knowing its 4 stars so it should be a well above average hotel but we were disappointed in their customer service. We arrived before 4pm and they said they dont have our room ready yet but if we upgrade to a pool view room then the room will be ready immediately, we decided not to upgrade and just waited at the beach. When we arrived at our room, we found that one of the sheets were dirty with some stains so we called to have them replaced, they said they will come immediately to change them. We waited over 1 hour and no one showed up yet so we called again. After another 30 minutes someone finally came to change the sheets. We also asked if there is complimentary breakfast that is included with our booking and whoever we spoke to said we do. The next morning we went down to get breakfast and they told us we dont have complimentary breakfast, so we went to front desk to check again and they said according to our booking, breakfast is not included. Their staff apparently dont know what they are talking about and what annoyed me was when they said they dont have a record of who took our call the previous night. We spoke to the manager and he said hes sorry but there's nothing he can do. Really now? Nothing? He could have at the very least do something to make our stay there a little more enjoyable after dealing with their incompetent staff for the first 2 days of our arrival. The manager definitely did not take us seriously because we look young, when we told him were never going to return he just said okay. I think its time for Marriott to reconsider the staff they hire and step up to their 4 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feetfirst
Friends
Atlanta, GA
Oct 25, 2012

Fine overall, but......

I was checked in by Jenine, who was fabulous. The view from private balcony was excellent. Great food and drinks from Hotel's restaurant and bar. The downside of the stay was the atmosphere in the room itself. Damp and Humid to the point of being a bit "moldy" smelling. There was no ventilation system, not even an exhaust fan in the bathroom. No amount of Clorox or Lysol could vanquish the smell. Also, avoid elevators 1 and 2 which had a strong odor of urine each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ossobuco and mango cheesecake!!!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neka Hall
Friends
Indiana
Mar 2, 2013

MOLD MOLD in Room!! But Great location

Went for My 30yr Birthday with girlfriends Weekend Trip! We moved 3 different times and still ended up in a room that smelled. There was mold growing on the outer door entry to the two adjoining rooms and each room we were moved to either smelled of sewage or mold. It got to the Point we stayed in the Last room after talking with Managment the hotel was sold out they colud not move us again. they Took $400 off our Stay and a Free Excursion! :} Great! But still got sick from the Moldy room. Veiw was Beautiful from the Room. Great Location on the Condado not fair from Old San Juan {Must Go} Food wasnt that Great so we mostley ate at local places one place was awsome up the street walking distance serverd great pizza for got the Name of place?& Cheap Upon returning home all of my clothes… smell of mold... even those that I never wore. The people were great but beware this is a very poor country so some may be genuine and others may just be playing on your sympathy. I would not return and primarily due to the rooms... I think they have a serious mold problem! Puerto Rico People are Reserve Kinda up tight next time i go will stay on Isla Laverde more of a Carrebian Feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

That Area remind me of South Beach Miami! Fun Fun..Shops, Great Food,Beach is Nice alot of Hotels Around Will Stay at the La Concha Next time {PartyHotel} Also If u Like Clubbing Go to the Hotel El San Juan club {Brava} Awsome Club in side nice Casino Also!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fambase group
Friends
Boston, Massachusetts.
Aug 10, 2011

Relaxing getaway.

We did a lot of activities, most of them not provided by the hotel because those were too pricy and booking through independent tourists are much cheaper. We visited El Yunque rainforest, Luquillo beach, el Morro, old San Juan, the country side mountain villages, club lasers, club brava, club the noise, and the bacaradi factory. One thing that I wish the hotel had was an all inclusive package or at least one complimentary meal because that's where most of our money went. Compared to the vacations it wasn't the best but it wasn't the worse either, it was descent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book activities through independent tourists not the hotel because it's much cheaper. For example the rainforest/Luquillo beach tour is $95 per hour for a minimum of 4hours on a private tour through the hotel while through an independent tourist we found it was only $65 per person for the whole day!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
4horsemen
Friends
NJ
Jul 27, 2009

ok

hotel was ok, rooms were damp, had to put a dehumidifer in the room, good pool and beach fun, overall just average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Northampton ,MA
Aug 6, 2011

Not so good

Its hard to beleive that marriot charge 18.95/day for internet while smaller motel offers free internet beside this everything else is money money money...... there are some other hotels offer better service for less money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

you can walk to most of good dinning places

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
FLORIDA
Apr 29, 2011

Centrally Located Hotel..

Nice hotel...the staff was great and the food was tasty. The hotel is centrally located to most tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of different restaurants in the area to fit all types of wallets.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Atlanta, GA
Aug 11, 2009

2009 Vacation

Great beach access. My only disappointment with this hotel is that we had to change rooms three (3) times to get a decent room that didn't smell or have a terrible view of the rusted hotel building. I have never been so disappointed in a Marriott before this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were great restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. You can save some money, and do some of the tours on your own.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SAKeithia H.
Friends
Clinton
Feb 20, 2015

Cool 21st Birthday Vacation

The hotel was nice. Very relaxing and in a great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top