$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
830 reviews
Short Stay

Just stayed for one night. However the place was very nice. The staff was very helpful and... See full review

  • m1123
  • Jul 28, 2014
Bachelor's getaway

Close to everything .. Loved the ambiance .. Thanks for the executive suite was a nice experience See full review

  • African traveller
  • Jul 24, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (830)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 830
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Myriam
Bronx, NY
Jul 21, 2010

DISASTER TRIP

Very unsatify upon our arrival after we have call to confirm our room and what was needed from them. I am a disable individual and was their to celebrate my birthday and go and check on my dad which he's been ill since the loss of my mom recently. Me and my cousin arrive at the hotel to be inform that their was no disable room available and that due that we did not went directly to them that we went through you that their was nothing guarantee. I said but when you got pay for this in March everything was guarantee and why could you give us this information when we call you to confirm. We arrive exhausted stay in one room and then the next day we have to move again to another room. I had to be in Aguadilla, PR which its 2.5 hrs driving and when we arrive our luggage were not in our room. I had to call them and ask them where were our luggage. Then when we arrive we were told we had to pay an additional $400 more in case we broke something and I lost it. I told them, you don't have our room and now you also want more money. I feel at that time we should have received an upgrade room with no extra charge. I was able for them to go half way and just charge me $200. Also the parking was another adventure. We had valet parking and pay daily for 3 days which was $20 a night and had pay $60. Our last day they said I owe $160 for parking and I said no I already pay $60, and they say no receipt your problem not mines. I spoke to managers, supervisors and no one could help me. Also on our second night our refrigerator broke as well, the rooms only have a refrigerator and coffee maker no mircrowave. They said they don't have microwave because children play with them, but if you are handicap you must have other needs especially for my understanding I have a back brace that I put in the microwave to provide heat at night and I could not do this. When we arrive the people at the desk they all had attitudes and it was like I did not do my homework regarding this hotel. So at this time I want to be compensated I pay top dollars for a trip that was not worth and if I don't get any compensation on your behalf I won't ever use you and you won't be recommended to anyone. I will take my business elsewhere and unfortunately I have to do alot of traveling up their because my dad is very ill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The music was great, but the casino was horrible its so small that for such a famous hotel everything is not worth the money. The pools are small also, they have a pool bar but it closes at 5pm, but the pool is open until 11pm every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vladimir Vasilev
New York
Mar 5, 2014

Terrible

I will never go back there! Before I was thinking that I had a terrible vacation on Hawaii but now I know that this is most bad vacation in my life, no explanation, no recommendation, no advices! I am going to recommend everyone to stay away from that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, tx
Jul 13, 2011

A/c didn't work

Went for 2 brays in my family, was there 4 total nights.. 3 nights our ac in our room didn't not work. Had to change my room 3 times!! They gave me a $200 "hotel only" credit-only for food and drinks, but no money back. Bfast was way too pricy, craps table at the casino was always closed. It just sucked all around. Beach and the ocean was the only good thing this hotel had going. Stay away!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 25, 2011

Seen Better

The staff was friendly. However the nightly entertainment was dismal. The pool area was decent and the beach was OK...the ocean waves were very rough to enjoy a good swim. The restaurants nearby were expensive and and not very authentic. If you want value for your money, go where all inclusive is offered - islands like Jamaica (negil) or Aruba...you won't go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Dec 3, 2009

Not too impressed

I was upset that we were put on the second floor of the hotel. We asked to be moved to a different floor and the desk attendant said there would be no additional charge. When we signed out they charged us and additional $50.00 per night. I will likely not use this again due to being put on the second floor for our vacation. Is that why there is savings involved? We ended up paying more in the long run. Room smelled like mildew.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cosh
Atlanta
Jun 6, 2010

DO NOT STAY IN JUNE

We did not know that June is high school prom month, the drinking age is 18.......... so you have a hotel full of drunken 18 year olds out for there school prom. According to the hotel there should be an adult in the room for them to stay, this was not the case. So we had to put up with parties in rooms,shouting in the corridors and doors slamming. They showed no respect to the dress code and the boys walked around in shorts around there buts and no shirts. I guess they were trying to look cool....... sadly they looked like jerks. The women were not much better. I wish the hotel would of stopped this. it is a nice hotel, just do not stay in June

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The fort is really cool

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JVLAVL
Sebring, FL, USA
Oct 16, 2011

wet trip

The hotel room was very uncomfortable. A/C did not work well everything felt wet. The island is very humid so it would have been nice to have a less humid environment when we got back to room. I called desk and they sent someone but they just turned the air down to 62 which did not help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

walk old San Juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Waynette
New York, NY, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Our Trip to San Juan

I was very dissappointed with the hotel! I understand they just had a hurricane, but staff was not friendly or imformative.. no one new anything at all! no activities to do at all. they did try and make the stay pleasureable due to horrible circumstances. I think being PR has bad weather the hotel should have been better prepared! this had to be one of the worst hotel ive every stayed in! We had a problem every morning with our free breakfast! The halls smelled like mildew! the beach was beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Consumer Savvy
New England, Massachusetts
Sep 10, 2009

Very Disappointed!

We stayed at this Marriott ten years ago and enjoyed everything about it. Our recent stay was anything but like our first. The first hotel room was so musty that we had to be moved. The second room was not any better. The smell was on the bedding, etc. and we brought the smell home in our luggage. Our bathroom door did not close or lock. The carpeting and newspaper was soggy from the intense humidity level in the rooms, despite running the AC constantly at 65 degrees. The carpeting throughout is old and stained and the walls are in dire need of a paint job. The hotel lobby was constantly noisy and had too much commotion. This was not the comfortable, relaxing vacation we had planned and so much longed for. We spent little time at the hotel, except to shower and sleep, as we refused to spend any more time or money at the Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hrzg056
summit new jeresy
May 22, 2012

Breakfast included!

I had booked 2 city view rooms which cost 179 a night but when i got there they ask me if I wanted to upgrade to beach /pool view for 25 dollars more a night. I said yes it was better. When speaking to other guests who stood there too said there breakfast was included mine was not. It cost me for 3 an average of 60.00 a day eating there at the hotel for 4 days I was disappointed other travel services included food according to the another guest. I am disappointent about that issue! The hotel is getting outdated the place is old the new hotel on the same block i would stay there and not at the Marriot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

colon plaza has the best places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top