$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
830 reviews
Short Stay

Just stayed for one night. However the place was very nice. The staff was very helpful and... See full review

  • m1123
  • Jul 28, 2014
Bachelor's getaway

Close to everything .. Loved the ambiance .. Thanks for the executive suite was a nice experience See full review

  • African traveller
  • Jul 24, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (830)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
830 out of 830
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brenda love to travel
W. Bloomfield
Sep 2, 2011

Great vacation

Great workout gym Great pool and beach area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

save on taxi and great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Martha's vineyard
Apr 23, 2011

Great for families

Great location and excellent for kids. The waves were too rough for us but it was fun to lie in the sun and our daughter loved the pool. Affordable restaurants within walking distance. We rented a car from the Hertz in the hotel and was provided with easy driving directions to El Yunque. Otherwise, took a taxi to old San Juan. This hotel has the best location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mina-Miner
Adams, MA
Aug 15, 2010

Wonderful honeymoon getaway!

Our overall stay was wonderful. The place was beautiful and clean and there was alot to do in the area. Some of the hotel staff seemed alittle rude and snooty when asking a question but overall the rest were great. I do wish they would leave the entrance to the beach through the pool area open later it was alittle inconvenient to walk around the block and down a side street to get the beach, some people do like to take walks on the beach at night. We did go snorkeling and had a marvelous time everyone was so nice and it was very easy to book through the hotel I would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants along the strip in front of the hotel were all wonderful! We tried several different places and never had a bad meal or service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FM in Philly
Garnet Valley
Sep 2, 2013

Great place, great staff and a great view

We loved almost everything about the San Juan Marriott. The staff was super and the location was really great. Good restaurants nearby include: Mona's, Buns, Cafe del Angel and Il Postino. The only thing we would improve on was the activities at the hotel for families. There wasn't a lot to do at the hotel itself and no activities after 6 at the hotel for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you get to El Yunque, you have to go to Lluvia. The best meal we had while in Puerto Rico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Aug 16, 2009

Highly Recommended

Fantastic Hotel. Very courteous staff. Perfect location, plenty to do within walking distance. Nice beach, beautiful pool. Drinks are expensive, only drawback. Small but nice casino. Very fun atmosphere at night. The lobby turns into a type of club. People of all ages were dancing and having a good time. 10 minute cab ride to Old San Juan. 10 minute cab ride to airport. Stay at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Old San Juan for dining or bar experience. Much cheaper and only about 10 minutes away. Also, located about 100 yards from the hotel is a nice strip of restaurants which offer all types of food for significantly less than the hotel restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
condao, pr
Jul 16, 2010

Good

Overall it was nice, the service in the casino was very slow but the hotel staff was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magda Braga
Laurel, MD
Aug 15, 2010

Very clean and very helpful staff...

Staff was very helpful and nice. Rooms were clean all the time. We had a great stay at this hotel. I highly recommend. I had selected this hotel online and I have no regrets. Close to everything. We rented a card and traveled half of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Premium Outlet out of Barceloneta

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moi
New York
Sep 26, 2009

Overall nice place

Overall, this was a great hotel to stay at and by far the best thing about it was the EXCELLENT service we received. It was clean & had a great location as far as being the best spot on the beach. It's a great place to be if you don't want to venture out. Don't get me wrong, there are good places to eat surrounding the hotel, but I felt that a few hotels down the street had more going on and were a little closer to things I wanted to do. I had a good experience here, but honestly would probably stay at a different hotel next time for the reasons mentioned above. P.S. Go for the ocean view room, it's totally worth it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
opheelia
Tempe, AZ
Nov 26, 2011

Thankful to Be in PR on Thanksgiving!

My boyfriend and I settled on this hotel after reading extensive reviews of comparably priced resorts in greater San Juan. We were greeted with a complimentary glass of champagne when we arrived at check in. The process was smooth and simple. The lobby bar was under construction, which was no big deal for us. It's expected to be done in December 2011. We had an oceanfront balcony room, and the view was amazing. You can sit on your balcony and stare at the blue-green ocean, and listen to the waves crash on the beach. I strongly suggest the upgrade if you can swing it; we caught a glimpse inside one of the "city view" rooms and ours was worth every penny! The hotel room was standard (bed, desk, TV, two nightstands, armchair) and the bed was very comfortable. I gave the "cleanliness" an average rating only because the housekeepers won't touch ANY of your stuff. I'm sure this is for security reasons and to keep guests from freaking out. So if you want a full cleaning, be sure to move your belongings into your suitcase or a small location. (This includes the bathroom counter; put your toiletries back in your bathroom bag!) The pool area is very nice, but much of it is shaded in the afternoons. We spent most of our time on the beach. There are chairs and umbrellas available, and the staff will bring them out to your chosen spot. The water is rough, so be careful when swimming! It's a resort, so the drinks and food were more expensive than your average bar or restaurant. The food was excellent, and worth the convenience when we ordered it. We ate at the Latin Grill one night and ordered lunch by the pool one afternoon; both meals were delicious! There are plenty of options outside the hotel, and you can bring your own beer/wine/drinks and food to the beach. The beach service was attentive, extremely friendly, and alcohol is reasonably priced if you ask about specials. There are taxis available at the hotel; they apparently wait in the parking structure, so if you want to head to Old San Juan or another neighborhood, it's a snap. Overall, we had an amazing, very relaxing time here. It became more crowded on Thanksgiving. It wasn't overwhelming, but we were glad we came the week leading up, since we had more beach space and less noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a local convenience store down the street to the right of the hotel that sells drinks and food. They even have fresh cheese. It seemed cheaper than the Walgreens across the street. If you can, pack a soft cooler or plan to bring or buy some Ziploc bags for ice to make your own out of a backpack. Ask the beach bar, pool bar, and beach service about drink specials! They run them all day, but they won't necessarily offer the information. There are a couple of cafes if you walk to the right (same direction of the convenience store) where you can find cheap breakfast and lunch. Again, this is a resort area, so things are pricey, but if you're patient and willing to look around at menus, you'll find the less expensive options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Capt chaos
Naples, FL
Feb 3, 2013

Excellent location

Staff is great and friendly, hotel is in a great location. Plenty of great resturaunts in the area. Casino is good every one is friendly. They also have live music. Rooms are excellent, would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Talked with local residents on good and local places to eat,nightlife

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search