$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
837 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (837)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
837 out of 837
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eazy
Business
NY
Sep 16, 2011

Desapointment

I have to say that I was desopointed!! The way is advertised as a resort. I have been in many resorts in there is no comparasy. To beging they should desclosure information when the hotel is in contruction, The rooms have a smell to mildue . after complain twice the hotel try to acomodate us. we find other hotel with better accomodation for less money in the same area. overall we are not happy. this is my first time that i write a complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Aug 15, 2010

August 2010

We liked the location of the hotel the best, as we wanted to be city close. Our 1st time to Puerto Rico, so visiting San Juan, and close surrounding area was on top of list of things to do. Hotel was appropriate, however, bar at pool and beach either closed early or was not open. Granted, Mid August is probably worst time to go for fun-outdoorsy things (weather was not friendly to us this week). Front Desk and Concierge were absolutely excellent: as we are hotel people ourselves, this is critical! We did not use the casino, and it did not detract from our family vacation. We would use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Nov 23, 2009

Nice place to stay

Excellent beds for a great night sleep!! Enjoyed our stay, room was a bit small, but hotel is very nice and the staff are extremely helpful. Definitely go for the oceanfront room, you won't be disappointed. Very nice fitness center. Pools are nice, but shaded by too many surrounding trees. Best beach in the area. Restaurants are very good. Overall, nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants nearby. Taxis get very expensive!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PEETRE
Business
MIAMI FL
Jun 3, 2009

ABOUT THE FOOD

THE RESTAURANT FOOD ARE EXPENSIVE AND BAD, BELLOW AVERAGE FOR A MARRIOTT,IS A MUST TO IMPROVE THAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

LA CONCHA HOTEL IS VERY COMPLETE AND LESS EXPENSIVE WITH A QUALITY FOOD AND PERFECT EVERYTHING YOU NEED FOR YOUR VACATION

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon City, Oregon
Jan 15, 2010

Not typical Marriott standards

We had an alright time, but had to move to another room as next door was noisy, then new room had poor hot water quality, and staff decided to remodel next door rooms bathroom at 9pm in the evening, needed to ask them to stop. Room service knocked on our door at 6:30 in morning, woke us up. So we feel this Marriott was not up to standards, ordinary, not 5 star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don;t eat in hotel, way too expensive and not that good quality. Make sure you have hot water, and be told that roads are toll roads so to have change handy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rick & Jasmine
Business
Orlando, FL
Jun 8, 2010

Excelent for the weatlhy

WOW, everything is so expensive here. I guess that's why it's full of wealthy older crowds. The least expensive thing to do is hang out in the pool area. (You are paying for it whether you use it or not). It is awesome whether you like the white sandy private hotel clean beach or excelent hotel pool. The hotel claims to be a resort but it's not. It's best to eat outside of the hotel restaurants, there are plenty of restaurants on Ashford Ave. Good dance music every night in the lobby and very good casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to many of the local restaurants especially "The Latin Star". Good local food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NewYorkerCM
Business
New York, NY
Aug 17, 2014

Great beach, Good Hotel Foods, Mediocre Local Experience

The best part about this hotel is the food! Whether you eat in the Lobby, or at the restaurant downstairs, they have very good food. The double beds in the rooms are VERY small, and hard as a rock. Not the typical hotel mattress I would expect from a Marriott. The lobby and elevators had a horrible urine smell most of the time, I'm not sure what that was. The area is nice, but more run down than I expected. Condodo Beach has alot of vacant hotels and buildings, as well as a lot of homeless people. The service at local bars and restaurants (besides the Hotel), is lacking. They definetly gravitate towards the locals more than the tourits. Overall, the hotel was nice with a few draw backs, but being beach front, you really can't beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the Hotel Lobby is excellent! Definetly try the Chicken Quesidillas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelling the globe
Business
Condado
Nov 14, 2014

Condado

The hotel is nice. The staff is attentive but the condado strip has seen better days. The area is very crowded and has no tropical feel. Other areas of puerto rico feel like you went away, this area...not relaxing at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a walgreen nearby to buy sodas, suntan lotion etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drocktheblock
Business
CT
Jan 2, 2014

Holiday

I enjoyed my stay at the Stellaris Marriott. It's location on CondAdo beach is fabulous. I stayed in one of the JR 1 bedroom suites on the Pent House floor, the view was amazing!! The staff was great and had an overall enjoyable stay. The only thing I would complain about is, the door in the bathroom that adjoins the bedroom. It was smoked glass. And 4 of us were staying in the room and anytime someone was in the bathroom the people in the bedroom had all of the bathroom light shining in on them. Only defect with this resort I could find. I would def. stay here again and would recommend this property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WiggleWiggle
Business
Newton, Massachusetts
Jan 6, 2014

Quality/Clean Hotel Good In a Great Location

This is a family friendly hotel with clean rooms in a great location. What it is lacking is the restaurants and stores and amenities which other nearby resorts, such as, San Juan Hotel Resort and Casino and Caribe Hilton, offer. It's location and surrounding restaurants and shops, however, make up for what it is lacking inside and, perhaps, is the reason for the lack of these amenities in the hotel. One thing that did catch me off-gaurd was the temperature of the pool water and area. It was cooler than anticipated. This is likely because of its location (surrounded by hotel) and palm tree coverage. Also, the gym is small and overcrowded. All in all, it is a good value given its cleanliness, friendly service, price, and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend going to the local restaurants in the area such as Ummo, the italian restaurant across the street, and Buenos Aires restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top