$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
769 out of 769
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RichNTacoma
Business
Tacoma
Aug 16, 2013

Great at appologies

This is a really nice place, that is very poorly run. What they are best at is trying to appease you with money off of services and free meals. The room we checked into was mildewy; yes, this is the tropics, but it is also a high end hotel. The maids scream across the hallways. There were workmen chancing locks; that was horribly coordinated. If the management learned to make things right instead of appease, this might have been a better stay. Good gym, nice pool, small but friendly casino are pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Tyme Visitor
Business
Texas
Sep 21, 2013

Honeymoon Experience

Not at all happy about the resort prices and we had to pay $25 extra to upgrade to a room I originally requested online. Also, when we got to the room there was a strong ammonia smell that we thought would eventually disappear since they had just cleaned the room before we entered but 3 days later it was still strong and sickening. We had to keep the windows open at night which was the perfect trade due to the sound of the waves from the ocean however the ac turns off as soon as the windows are open which we figured out the 2nd evening in the room. We are members of the Marriott and they would not add the points to our account since we prepaid for our stay online? The upside was that most of the staff was welcoming and one gentleman by the name of Carlos invited us to VIP breakfast as we were on our Honeymoon which was beautiful beyond expectation. He was also the only one to take the time to show us the best places in town to eat and how to get around Old San Juan. Overall the location was great. Nice Bars within walking distance. The beach is rough in back of the hotel, you can however walk to the hotel next door and use their beach. Best advise stay weds-sun for more activities and walk a block or two for local food as the resort was way overpriced for the quality of food served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Patricks's! Great prices and an awesome pair of guys managing the bar :)

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fhpd357
Business
Weatherford, texas
Sep 25, 2013

It was okay

The hotel had a clean beach and provided chairs and umbrellas. The food and drinks were high. Parking is $100 for a week at the hotel. The air conditioner worked half the time in the room. The beds were rough and too firm. The sheets smelled like dirty feet. Best part was the beach and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't rent a car and do the activities from the hotel. They provide transportation. And it was cheap.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm Terra
Business
Miami
Oct 8, 2013

Get Away

The stay was a fairly good experience. The hotel rooms feel a bit worn. The location was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pink Bikini
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Summer Ending Getaway

The hotel was great.. Front desk was nice.. Housekeeping came everyday.. downside was that they came into my room while i was changing into my bathing suit after i told her to come back in 5minutes! Its ok.. thank goodness it was a woman housekeeper that walked in on me.. cause the male housekeeper walked in 2 minutes after her! Housekeeping didnt specifically do what i asked on a notepad that i left her each day with the tip money on top of it.. I stayed their for 5days and 4nights so after the first 2nights i wanted my sheets changed because i felt the sand from the beach on my sheets! Location was okay.. it was a little far from everything where u had to take the cab each time which started to get costly.. DONT DEPEND ON PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION THERE! If ur staying there most likely u need to take the 53 to get around and the 53 bus doesnt come around until 2-3hrs later cause the government wants everyone to buy a car to buy a car there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

WALGREENS OPEN 24hrs a day!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CruiseMom
Business
Bellingham, WA
Dec 12, 2010

Good location, indifferent service

The room was nice enough and the pool area was well-maintained (except that the hot tub wasn't working while we were there). The proximity to the beach was the best part of this motel stay. The bad: no shuttle from the ferry terminal. no shuttle to the airport, not enough cups or coffee for all occupants of the room (even though I paid extra), had to be asked to bring cups, glasses, enough towels. Check out time was 11 a.m. and housekeeping arrived at our door at 10 asking to clean it. Parking is $20/night if you rent a car. To go anywhere from hotel is approximately $25. Rental of a car by the agency in hotel is about 3x as expensive as elsewhere and still you have to pay to park it there. We had a handicapped room on the 5th floor which makes no sense because if a fire broke out we couldn't use the elevator. Go figure. Staff was generally quite indifferent to our inquiries and needs. The music in the lobby area was so loud you couldn't hear well. The good: They held our bags on check-in because the room wasn't ready (we arrived about 2 and check-in time is 4), the place was clean and most of the housekeeping staff we ran into in the hallway was nice. The location ON THE BEACH and the proximity to shopping and dining in the Condado district are the only things that would bring me back to his hotel. And I'd look elsewhere first. If I did book this with my disabled mother again I would insist upon a room on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful service and food at a restaurant on Ashford avenue with two white awnings.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fambase group
Business
Boston, Massachusetts.
Aug 10, 2011

Relaxing getaway.

We did a lot of activities, most of them not provided by the hotel because those were too pricy and booking through independent tourists are much cheaper. We visited El Yunque rainforest, Luquillo beach, el Morro, old San Juan, the country side mountain villages, club lasers, club brava, club the noise, and the bacaradi factory. One thing that I wish the hotel had was an all inclusive package or at least one complimentary meal because that's where most of our money went. Compared to the vacations it wasn't the best but it wasn't the worse either, it was descent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book activities through independent tourists not the hotel because it's much cheaper. For example the rainforest/Luquillo beach tour is $95 per hour for a minimum of 4hours on a private tour through the hotel while through an independent tourist we found it was only $65 per person for the whole day!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B31.3
Business
Katy, Texas
Apr 8, 2011

Average Hotel

1. Very small room that was engulfed by the King size bed. Bed was not comfortable & lumpy & why do you need six pillows!! 2. Very small bathroom, fit for ONLY one person at a time. 3. Room had a musty smell but was clean (rugs, walls, toilet, sinks, shower etc.) & housecleaning staff did a very good job each day. 3. Beach was yucky and very small. 4. Did not eat in the hotel restaurants but the surrounding places had poor to good food (none were stellar) but VERY, VERY expensive for what you got. The service at all the food places is marginal to poor. The staffs are indifferent to the patrons. 5. The shops & stores were VERY expensive (even the Walgreens - paid $3.75 for the Wall Street Journal). 6. The surrounding city area was old & dirty with abandoned buildings rife with gang graffiti and trash. Only saw two bums / beggars. 7. Lots of police presence (even at night) which was nice. 8. Razor wire around some residences & other buildings was a bit disconcerting. 9. $15.00 dollars + $1.00 per bag for the taxi to make a couple mile drive from the airport to the hotel was astounding!! 10. Hotel staff was attentive, as were the bartenders & casino folks but the lady continuously pushing the free rum punch as you check-in was annoying. 11. The old city is not a place to go after dark. I was not scared but a bit uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try "Ropa Vieja" about a kilometer west on Ashford Street. Try the Sushi place right next door to the hotel and order the pepper tuna. Be prapared to pay handsomely at both for the portion you get.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
May 4, 2011

Convenient and comfortable

The rooms were comfortable and upgraded recently. The Italian resturant was very good especially the wine selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Old San Juan - there is a nice walk/run along the ocean that's available at the front desk.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
raleigh,nc
May 25, 2010

PR

The hotel was nice. I realized right off the bat fromthe airport that the taxi system trys to get over on the tourist. I did everything I planned on doing but it would have been great to know some spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top