$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 14, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
807 reviews
Great Location and Staff is Excellent

We loved our stay here. We had an Ocean Front Room. The view was great and the staff was very... See full review

  • Forneyian
  • Mar 23, 2014
AMAZING!

Wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and did everything they could... See full review

  • RGtravel
  • Mar 14, 2014
San Juan hotel offers comfort and class on Condado Beach
The sounds of relaxation at the Marriott San Juan Resort are the palm fronds rustling in a warm breeze and the gentle surf lapping the shore of Condado Beach. The resort's sprawling patio is lined with lounge chairs and shady trees and has a whirlpool and two spectacular pools with water-sprouting features and a slide. Inside, the hotel's marble floors, bold floral prints and plush green chairs invite guests to linger.
Highlights
  • The golden sands of Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Live music from Wednesday to Sunday at the newly renovated Red Coral Lounge
  • Fountains of fun in the swimming pool
  • The Coffee Merchant, serving mountain-grown Puerto Rican coffee
Rooms

Take in stunning ocean views, or the buzz of the glitzy Condado district, from one of 513 comfortable rooms and 12 suites tastefully designed in simple, calming tones. There is Wi-Fi in every guest room and throughout the public areas of the hotel.

Features

The Puerto Rico Tourism Company named the hotel "Best of the Best" for all-around quality and service. Self parking ($16/day) and valet parking ($20/day) are available.

Dining

There are several on-site dining options. Patrons can feast on sumptuous buffets amids picturesque ocean views at La Vista Latin Grill on site. Guests can also have refreshing tropical drinks and light snacks at La Isla Grill and Pool Bar or have fresh brews and delicious pastries and baked goods at Coffee Merchant and Bake Shop.

Entertainment

The action heats up in the spacious, chandelier-studded Stellaris Casino when the sun goes down. Test your luck at 20 gaming tables and more than 400 slot machines.

Recreation

In addition to the beach and the pool with waterslide, there is also tennis and volleyball on-site. The fitness center is open 24 hours and is free of charge to hotel guests.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Taxi and bus service available
Attractions
  • Condado Lagoon (.4 mi/ 6km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Museo de Arte Contemporáneo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
Business
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Messenger service
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 14 meeting rooms
  • High-speed Internet access in all meeting areas
Policies & fees

A 16 percent resort fee applies. This fee covers the following amenities and services: beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, bicycle rental for one hour; all based on availability and weather permitting, casino match play coupon for $20, wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas of the hotel, local telephone calls within the San Juan metropolitan area and toll-free number access, two 12-ounce bottle of water in guest room and use of the Internet for one hour in the business center based on availability.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Lobby Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Ristorante Tuscany
Winner of various awards as one of the best Italian Restaurants in Puerto Rico. Serves meals from the north of Italy, in an elegant ambient. Located on the ground floor next to the pool. Open Mon-Sat dinner only (6pm-11pm).
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (807)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
807 out of 807
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Bermuda
Sep 21, 2012

Very nice hotel

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino is one of the best hotels in San Juan and I highly recommend it. The staff are very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Lima Restaurant at Ave. Ponce de León 667, is close by and one of the best Peruvian Restaurants I have ever eaten. For those who don't know it, Peru has some of the best food in the world. It's always busy, but worth it.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

1
Mn tourist
Minneapolis
Feb 16, 2014

Not worthy of the Marriott brand

While the hotel has a nice location and beach, my wife and I were disappointed with the poor level of service we received from the front desk staff and the cleanliness of the public areas (the elevators in the hotel smelled strongly of urine). While we had a nice trip, I would not stay at this property again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The old historic part of San Juan is a short cab ride from most of the city's beach resorts but is definitely worth the effort. Visitors could easily spend a day taking in the history, shops and restaurants.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

1
Myriam
Bronx, NY
Jul 21, 2010

DISASTER TRIP

Very unsatify upon our arrival after we have call to confirm our room and what was needed from them. I am a disable individual and was their to celebrate my birthday and go and check on my dad which he's been ill since the loss of my mom recently. Me and my cousin arrive at the hotel to be inform that their was no disable room available and that due that we did not went directly to them that we went through you that their was nothing guarantee. I said but when you got pay for this in March everything was guarantee and why could you give us this information when we call you to confirm. We arrive exhausted stay in one room and then the next day we have to move again to another room. I had to be in Aguadilla, PR which its 2.5 hrs driving and when we arrive our luggage were not in our room. I had to call them and ask them where were our luggage. Then when we arrive we were told we had to pay an additional $400 more in case we broke something and I lost it. I told them, you don't have our room and now you also want more money. I feel at that time we should have received an upgrade room with no extra charge. I was able for them to go half way and just charge me $200. Also the parking was another adventure. We had valet parking and pay daily for 3 days which was $20 a night and had pay $60. Our last day they said I owe $160 for parking and I said no I already pay $60, and they say no receipt your problem not mines. I spoke to managers, supervisors and no one could help me. Also on our second night our refrigerator broke as well, the rooms only have a refrigerator and coffee maker no mircrowave. They said they don't have microwave because children play with them, but if you are handicap you must have other needs especially for my understanding I have a back brace that I put in the microwave to provide heat at night and I could not do this. When we arrive the people at the desk they all had attitudes and it was like I did not do my homework regarding this hotel. So at this time I want to be compensated I pay top dollars for a trip that was not worth and if I don't get any compensation on your behalf I won't ever use you and you won't be recommended to anyone. I will take my business elsewhere and unfortunately I have to do alot of traveling up their because my dad is very ill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The music was great, but the casino was horrible its so small that for such a famous hotel everything is not worth the money. The pools are small also, they have a pool bar but it closes at 5pm, but the pool is open until 11pm every night.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

1
Vladimir Vasilev
New York
Mar 5, 2014

Terrible

I will never go back there! Before I was thinking that I had a terrible vacation on Hawaii but now I know that this is most bad vacation in my life, no explanation, no recommendation, no advices! I am going to recommend everyone to stay away from that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Houston, tx
Jul 13, 2011

A/c didn't work

Went for 2 brays in my family, was there 4 total nights.. 3 nights our ac in our room didn't not work. Had to change my room 3 times!! They gave me a $200 "hotel only" credit-only for food and drinks, but no money back. Bfast was way too pricy, craps table at the casino was always closed. It just sucked all around. Beach and the ocean was the only good thing this hotel had going. Stay away!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

1
Ron and Ed
Boca Raton, Fl.
Aug 10, 2011

What is all the hype about?

The once glam hotel has now faded into the dust. Its age is showing badly. Dated decor and the rooms are very small. Also very with aging decor. The in hotel restraunt Tuscany was very expensive and horrible food. The only saving grace was the breakfast buffet. Upon entering the hotel you walk into lobby filled bar area.The pools were unimpressive. We would not stay at this hotel again. It does not look like the hotel on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
Pooza Lover....
Fremlont, CA
Nov 27, 2010

About the trip to San Juan, PR

the fitness and sauna rooom were excellent... but the location of the hotel was not what we were expecting and a little bit, disappointed with. the room itself was very clean and we loved the bigger bed and lot of pillows. that's all about it....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 25, 2011

Seen Better

The staff was friendly. However the nightly entertainment was dismal. The pool area was decent and the beach was OK...the ocean waves were very rough to enjoy a good swim. The restaurants nearby were expensive and and not very authentic. If you want value for your money, go where all inclusive is offered - islands like Jamaica (negil) or Aruba...you won't go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
vincethe boss
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Mar 5, 2012

getaway

way over price. not worth the cost drings and the food high cost...........average at best.............will never stay at this hotel again...........we rate this hotel poor for bthe money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
sadwest
San Francisco
Dec 23, 2010

ok

The location was great and it was only a $15 cab ride to Old San Juan. Rooms were nice, spacious and clean. However I did find the staff rude, ESPECIALLY the Hertz rental car associate. Staff wasn't very welcoming but luckily there is plenty to see and do and you can avoid having to deal with them too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Debary
Dec 19, 2008

porr location

Old hotel with minimum facilities, poor restaurant, rooms bare minimun, location noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

many touist stores for the cruise visitors

Back to menu Return to top