$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
836 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (836)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
836 out of 836
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, ME
Oct 1, 2010

Great location for the price

We found the staff very friendly and very helpful. Many restaurants within walking distance. Must visit to Old San Juan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

An Argentinian restaurant called UMMO & across the street a great "Mexican" restaurant with more of a Puerto Rica fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
girls coach
Business
Woodstock, GA
Apr 22, 2009

Couples Vacation

The hotel was great! Very clean and enjoyable. I did, however, think everything was WAY overpriced. We could not eat or drink at the hotel because everything costed WAY too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go anywhere but the hotel to eat!!! VERY expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa barbara
Jun 24, 2009

Puerto Rico fun

We used the hotel mostly to sleep and get ready to go out. The rooms were very nice, and the pool was nice as well. The accessibility to the beach was a plus. The staff accommodated their schedule to clean the rooms to us and that was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A restaurant called Dannys had good food and it was very affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 8, 2011

Great time!

I traveled with my daughter to Puerto Rico and had a wonderfult time! The beach was beautiful, and spending a little extra money for a ocean view was worth ever cent. The hotel staff was very friendly, and assisted us with our rainforest hike excursion. They were also very helpful with directions. The restaurants around the hotel were good, not great. I would advise traveling to other neighboring hotels for more restaurant options. We both agreed that the area we were in was a lot of fun (casinos are scattered everywhere)and that we would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the block is a Wallgreens. Instead of buying sunblock, food, and souvenirs in the hotels gift shop, you will save money by getting the same exact things just down the block!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Sep 16, 2009

Well known spot, very good service!

Very good service and professional staff. Enjoyed the chaises and umbrellas on the beach, towels easily available. Room clean and even City View had view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Do try the Marmalade Restaurant in Old San Juan, an upscale and very memorable dining experience! 5-course tasting menu is a great deal for the amazing culinary experience of the chef and the ambiance of the place! Especially perfect for romantic celebrations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Apr 6, 2011

Lots of Fun!

The hotel looks exactly like the photo's on their website, which was a huge relief upon arrival. The beach was very clean and comfortable with complementary chairs and umbrella's. Great food and services everywhere you go. The poolbar and breakfast buffet were amazing as well. Overall, I really enjoyed this hotel "resort". Across the street there is an excellent restaurant for tappas and for those of you not on a budget I would also reccommend the restaurant Perla a few hotels down. They have an excellent surf and turf. Cons: the lobby can get a bit loud, which was not an issue for us on the 8th floor but I could see how light sleepers and people on lower floors would complain. Dining in the hotel can be pricey. Especially the breakfast buffet, its about $30 a person if you dont buy ahead. Other than that, we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would reccommend the tappas restaurant across the street (I don't recall the name, just ask the front desk). I would also recommend La Perla restaurant a couple hotels down for those not on a budget. It is themed as a big clam shell overlooking the ocean in a very trendy setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie- always party planning
Business
New Jersey
Jun 18, 2009

romantic 25th anniversary getaway

Ola!!! Had a wonderful stay. Beach was great. The Condado was excellent, walking, running and eating!!! Not enough lightlife in the immediate area, but we still enjoyed ourselves. The tours were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ashford Ave. had great resturants!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Mar 3, 2009

Glorious winter getaway!

The tour desk was very helpful in keeping us busy. Housekeeping staff was first class. Only problem is if you are single and traveling with children, an all-inclusive might be better. Otherwise, it was both, restful, and fun-filled. Be sure to take advantage of the many excursions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you don't want to take a taxi to Old San Juan, there is a bus that stops down the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 3, 2009

Good Service, courteous staff

We enjoyed our stay here, and I would book this hotel again, if I wanted to stay in the city of San Juan. Great location. We were 3 ladies and felt very safe there. There was a problem with our reservation but it was cleared up quickly and to our satisfaction. Apparently, a fire code prevented us from putting a roll-away in a double room. We ended up upgrading to a King jr suite with a sleeper sofa for only $25 more! Plus we got an ocean view that was superb! One more thing might have made it perfect: I would have liked the pool to have more sun in the afternoon; it was mostly shady. Also, don't book your tours through the tour company at the Marriott. It wasn't that great and it was more expensive than some of the other tour companies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We booked a tour to do the night kayaking, through the tour group in the hotel lobby. They were not that great because the man who drove the van was the worst guide I have ever had. But the trip itself is not to be missed! Also, Eco Tours is cheaper but they ended up leaving 3 of us at the beach and forgot to tell us the pick up time. So always carry your cell phone wherever you go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G. Brady
Business
Tyler, TX
Aug 10, 2009

"30th Anniversary-Get Away!"

We enjoyed this vacation more than any place we have been to date and we have traveled a lot! We loved the gracious and friendly service everywhere we went. It was wonderful to feel comfortable and safe to leave our hotel and walk to a nice restaurant for dinner, to shop and just tour. We have never enjoyed a beach as we did on this trip, usually choosing the pool for comfort, but your beach area was exceptional and we never went to the pool to sunbathe. It was so nice to have the wonderful lounge chairs, umbrella, cool drinks, etc. provided. We toured Old San Juan and one of the forts and very much enjoyed the trip. We thank all the hotel staff for the special anniversary card and the wonderful wine and cheese tray--what a treat that we so enjoyed! We want to send a special thanks to Jose at LaVista and to our bellman, Angel, for taking such good care of us. We look forward to visiting the Marriott Stellaris again! The Bradys'

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had fabulous meals at Mira and Umo's. We had a fair meal at Via Apia, however the service was poor and we were certainly not treated in a hospitable manner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top