$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 15, 2015 Check-out: Jun 18, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
938 out of 938
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric G
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 6, 2010

Paradise Found!

This hotel is in an excellent location. I loved that we could just walk right out from the pool area and we were instantly on the beach. We were here just before hurricane season started and during the weekdays, so the beach was practically empty most of the time. The hotel has their own beach chairs that you can bring wherever on the beach--they are a little cumbersome to move around, but they were great to lounge on in the sun for hours. They pool area is very nice too with a large jacuzzi, shallow kiddie pool (with no kids around at all!) and a larger pool with a fun slide. The poolside staff is very friendly, and there are plenty of happy hour deals too. All of the rooms have balconies on them, so it was nice to hang out on it in the mornings while planning the rest of the day. There is a bus that stops on the street outside the hotel that you can take all the way into Old San Juan (for only 75 cents). There are also plenty of taxis in the area. Also nearby (within walking distance) are plenty of delicious restaurants as well as a large grocery store for cheap snacks and beer to stock the in-room fridge! We didn't try room service or the restaurants in the hotel, but the menus did look good. We were looking more for a local flare at small restaurants all around the hotel and in Old San Juan. There are a couple other hotels nearby that are right on the beach, but a lot of the other ones were off of rocky beaches or no beach. I just loved that it was right on a beautiful and clean beach. I will definitely be back here when I'm back in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many great (local) choices within walking distance from the hotel. There is a place open 24 hours that is about a 5 minute walk to the west (I think... it's a left turn when you're walking out of the hotel). I cannot remember what it was called though! We went there twice. I think it was called Latin Star (get the mini mofongos!). Ajilli Mojilli is also very tasty! Bebo Cafe is a little bit further in the other direction, but very very good and super cheap!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shawver Family
Business
DFW, TX
Oct 7, 2010

Our Trip to Puerto Rico

We really enjoyed the our visit to Puerto Rico. We were impressed with our room and we loved the ocean side view. Great location -- right on the beach and minutes from the airport. The only negative was parking. Guest have to pay $16/a day for parking. Also, not many choices for breakfest in or around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you rent a car, be sure rent a GPS. Puerto drivers are very aggressive, so you might want to opt for the insurance as well. The roads need work, so becareful. Also, parking is limited in San Juan, so be prepared to pay for parking.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sha Sha
Business
Hampton, VA
Oct 9, 2010

Stay at Marriott San Juan Resort

The stay was very enjoyable. A wonderful view of the beautiful clear beach and walking distance to different shops. The hotel is minutes away from Old San Juan and what a beautiful part of Puerto Rico to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vacation lovers
Business
metropolitan NY
Jan 10, 2011

Great vacation experience

This hotel was wonderful, clean and on a terrific beach. The people couldn't be nicer. We loved the neighborhood, very upscale, and had a choice of great resturants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate breakfast every morning at Pinky's, a small cafe that had the freshest food. For dinner, we went twice to Via Appia. Really friendly staff and terrific Italian food at a reasonable prince. The locals love this place.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 3, 2011

Can't go wrong with Marriott!

You can't really go wrong with Marriotts. Everytime we use one of the hotels, we are very pleased for the most part, and this time is not an exception. We loved our stay! When we arrived, we were greeted with friendly customers service and the front desk Manager, [...], was wonderful! The landscape and view of the swimming pools and the beach are the best in the area. Resturants and a few souvenier shops are minutes from the hotel. Also there is a car rental place right inside the hotel and one just across the street. Two minor things that we would suggest to improve - 1) they were unable to fix our t.v., the channels were not very clear and static. We were hoping to watch the Oscars on a clearer screen :=) 2) the traveling agents for special outings and activities were not very friendly. We stopped by a few times with different agents and had similer experiences. They did not give us much time, attention, nor a friendly tone. We ended up using a private tour guide.As far as our stay at the hotel, we love it! and we would recommend anyone to Marriotts! Also special thanks to our Cheapticket agent, Donna, for booking us this special package! Her customer service was superb!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi to visit Old San Juan. Once you there, you can take a free Trolley that goes around the whole Old San Juan for sightseeing.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Psychologist
Business
Miami, Fl
Mar 7, 2011

Best Hotel in San Juan

I am a SBF under 30 years old that stayed at this hotel with my friends for my B-day. This hotel is the best in San Juan. I researched other hotels before arriving in San Juan. I also took my research a step further and went to various 4 star hotels upon arriving in San Juan. I have to be 100% honest the Marriott Hotel and Stellaris Casino is the best. I have to warn you I am a Psychologist so I analyzed everything LOL. The hotel was in the center of all the action. This hotel has beach access. The hotel is in a very safe neighborhood. So if I felt like walking I was able to do so. It is in the center of great restaurants that we know and love (i.e. Starbucks, Chili's and Wendy's) and a short walk to Puerto Rico's great restaurants. Please make it a point to visit Danny's Restaurant. The customer service at the hotel was EXCELLENT. The hotel staff was very knowledgeable of night clubs, restaurants and sites. The hotel also assisted me in outside travel like tours of Rainforest and hotel spa. The hotel is a short cab drive from the mall, Old San Juan, Fort and nightclubs. If you don't want to leave the hotel you can eat downstairs in there reasonably priced buffet and Italian restaurant. The Casino was really fun too. The hotel is very family friendly as well. The kiddie pool is away from the adult pool. I saw children having a great time as well. This hotel made my first experience in Puerto Rico a very memorable one. I will definitely be back to Puerto Rico and the Marriott and Stellaris Casino hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Walgreens one block down from this hotel and a Starbucks directly across the street. So whatever you forgot don't go crazy the Walgreen is there. Oh and you cant check in the hotel until 4:00 p.m. but the hotel staff will hold your luggage and you can go sightseeing or to the beach. Besides who wants to be stuck in the room anyway LOL.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diana snowy ny
Business
oneonta ny
Mar 11, 2011

stress free vacation

my husband and i own a restaurant and this was the first time we had been away for 10 years! truly exceptional service, friendly staff, large, clean rooms with anything you need. the oceanview room couldn't have been better. lots of great restaurants and local shops steps away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

miro restaurant across the street from the hotel was superb caribbean dining, excellent service!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tup113
Business
Hampton Bays, NY
Apr 22, 2011

The Only Place To Stay!

One thing that we kept saying to each other was that everyone in this hotel from the front to the back was incredibly friendly! Rooms were clean,we had a partial ocean view that looked out to the pool area. When I go back again, I will definitely get an ocean view. The reason is that in the afternoon the sun is so strong, that you can't sit out on your balcony! My family recommends the breakfast downstairs! Buffet every morning, totally worth the money - 11.95 pp, 7.95 for kids. Staff in the restaurant is top notch friendly! The beach at this hotel is gorgeous! Walk right out of your hotel, ask for chairs and an umbrella for your family and you're set up for the day! We spent hours in this beautiful ocean! Pool area perfect for non-ocean families. Fun slide for all to enjoy. This hotel is located on one of the nicest streets in San Juan. Great restaurants in the area. We went to Cherry Blossom, which is very entertaining for the family - Hibatchi! An italian restaurant down the street called Via Appia, great pizza and fun location. The staff was great. Easy access to Old San Juan from the hotel. We recommend taking a cab to Old San Juan - $15.00, great restaurants and lots of history. We went back again the next night for dinner at El Asador. Excellent food, we loved the interior of this restaurant. Go to the website for pictures! I had the mahi-mahi with pureed sweet potatoes - excellent, my oldest daughter had the filet mignon - she love it! My husband had the the shrimp bruschetta, we were skeptical, 13 shrimp on a skewer! Delicious! My youngest daughter had the grilled chicken, perfect healthy meal for her! Rent a car across the street from the Marriot (I think it's called Charlies- it's a little booth where you can rent cars and plan trips) to go to the rain forest, it cost us $50., do it yourself and enjoy the day! It's easy to get to, about 45 minutes and safe to drive to. We were skeptical about driving at first, but have no fears, it's the best way to go. You are in charge of your day. We left at 1:00, got there by 2:00. Wear your sneakers for the hike to the waterfalls! Best vacation in a long Time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ST CROIX VI
May 2, 2011

NICE FOR CUOPLES AND SINGLES

UN SPEAKABLE NICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gerard aka Justin "Just in case"
Business
Jersey Shore . Neptune NJ.
Apr 4, 2011

highly recommended. great locals

The services were great! The staff was very accomadating. The bartender Lucy was the best at what she does.Old San Juan has alot to offer with it's shops and authentic foods.The locals are friendly and love good music and dancing.Keep up the good work Marriot!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

experience the local food. great taste and not too expensive.

Back to menu Return to top