$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
837 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.
Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (837)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
837 out of 837
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Icon1235
West Palm Beach, FL
Nov 19, 2012

Single getaway

Very good hotel. The location is perfect. Friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Gallatin, TN
Dec 21, 2008

My review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

This hotel was very clean and the employees were polite. The rooms where clean and well decorated. Pool area was also nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Several High End Retail Shop's are right down the street from the Hotel with Outdoor Ocean View Resturants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dj lcue
Business
ft laudardale
Jun 15, 2009

MY TRIP TO P.R.

Enjoyable...very friendly staff, day and night activities very spread by each day were everyone can enjoy.. Great job guys. Keep it up. I will be back soon..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Got several location to enjoy yourself in or out of the hotel, on a walking distance or short ride...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ellenwood, GA
Jun 23, 2009

Fantastic getaway

Toured Old San Juan and the Bacardi Rum Distillery. The hotel is accessible to many restaurants including a 24 hour pharmacy store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sameollove
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 14, 2009

Wonderfull time

We had a great time, pay the extra money for the oceanview room trust me its worth it!!! Nothing better than leaving the balcony door open listening to the waves crashing on the shore at night puts you right to sleep. Great staff cute little casino and strong drinks lol....Their beach is nice with free umbrellas, chairs and towels. The only two bad things is the dining selection around the hotel is not that great and the elevators were always crowded but they are fast. Despite the dinning i will be returning I will just rent a car and drive down ashford to better food....BOOK IT NOW! P.S. call before hand to request a room on a high floor the view is amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Walgreens about 1/2 block up the street great for water and snacks for the beach dont buy the hotel food its to expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 6, 2009

Fantastic Hotel!

This was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. We switched from the Intercontinental because their pool was closed and I'm so glad we did. We went with another couple for my 30th birthday and I really can't say enough about how friendly and accomodating the staff was! They even sent up a gift basket of wine and cheese for my birthday (Thank you [...]!)! And they upgraded us (for a minimal fee) to the most fabulous ocean view room! The view from the room was spectacular, the beds are super comfy and the balcony was great too. The pool was worth the extra expense for this hotel over the Intercontinetal- great hot tub and a pool bar too! The beach was clean and not very crowded and the staff serve you drinks while you sunbathe. By far the best choice for a hotel in PR and I highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try out Danny's Pizza and Yerba Buena across the street. Also, don't forget the happy hour at the pool and the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SenoritaTravel
Business
Queens, NY
May 17, 2010

A Beautiful Getaway

This is absolutely a beautiful hotel. It is definitely 5 star quality. The rooms are neat and clean. The location is ideal with plenty of restaurants and boutiques on the strip. The hotel is literally right off the beach with a huge pool and hot jacuzzi. We dined at the hotel restaurant La Vista, which was certainly over-priced for the quality of food they served but it was sort of expected as most hotel restaurants overprice. It was decent food, just overpriced. I would recommend eating at the restaurants along Ashford Avenue. They're easier on your wallet and definitely better tasting food. The staff in general were unfriendly. There were few exceptions, of course, but it wasn't so bad to point of ruining our trip. I just expected friendlier. Overall, it's a great place to stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jun 8, 2010

Fantastic getaway

Supper location of the hotel with direct exit to the beach. Nice big room, with comfortable bed, br supper, TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 13, 2010

Great Stay in The Marriot PR

Great point to start your trip from to all the points of interest in PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old San Juan had many places to dine if you enjoy walking and enjoying the sights. El Mojito, El Jibarito, Red Parrot, and Raices. Best Puerto Rican food for your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackie & Inez vacation friends
Business
Sicklerville, NJ
Aug 17, 2010

fantastic trip

The hotel was very friendly and in the midst of good restaurants, It was great I would recommend this trip to friends and family, the only problem was there were daily activites and they refused to post what was for the next day until the next day. If they had posted the activities maybe the night before or given out a sheet the people in the hotel would have been prepared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great, "GLAM" boutique, 70% off........Wow

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric G
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 6, 2010

Paradise Found!

This hotel is in an excellent location. I loved that we could just walk right out from the pool area and we were instantly on the beach. We were here just before hurricane season started and during the weekdays, so the beach was practically empty most of the time. The hotel has their own beach chairs that you can bring wherever on the beach--they are a little cumbersome to move around, but they were great to lounge on in the sun for hours. They pool area is very nice too with a large jacuzzi, shallow kiddie pool (with no kids around at all!) and a larger pool with a fun slide. The poolside staff is very friendly, and there are plenty of happy hour deals too. All of the rooms have balconies on them, so it was nice to hang out on it in the mornings while planning the rest of the day. There is a bus that stops on the street outside the hotel that you can take all the way into Old San Juan (for only 75 cents). There are also plenty of taxis in the area. Also nearby (within walking distance) are plenty of delicious restaurants as well as a large grocery store for cheap snacks and beer to stock the in-room fridge! We didn't try room service or the restaurants in the hotel, but the menus did look good. We were looking more for a local flare at small restaurants all around the hotel and in Old San Juan. There are a couple other hotels nearby that are right on the beach, but a lot of the other ones were off of rocky beaches or no beach. I just loved that it was right on a beautiful and clean beach. I will definitely be back here when I'm back in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many great (local) choices within walking distance from the hotel. There is a place open 24 hours that is about a 5 minute walk to the west (I think... it's a left turn when you're walking out of the hotel). I cannot remember what it was called though! We went there twice. I think it was called Latin Star (get the mini mofongos!). Ajilli Mojilli is also very tasty! Bebo Cafe is a little bit further in the other direction, but very very good and super cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top