$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,233 reviews
Perfect getaway for families and couples

Bar none the best hotel we have stayed in. Best service and the staff was wonderful. See full review

  • Big Fig
  • Jul 20, 2014
Awesome Trip!!

I loved this hotel!! Couldn't have picked a better place for me and my boyfriend for nice... See full review

  • Madai
  • Jul 16, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1233)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
1233 out of 1233
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigsexy05
Atlanta
Aug 21, 2013

It was a great location

It was a great location everything was just great! No complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarKayMan
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Aug 19, 2013

Beautiful Resort

The resort was beautiful. The view from our room was awsone. All of the employees were very nice and helpful. Food and drink was pricey but there was a Walgreens a block away to buy snacks and beverages. There was a small refrigerator in each room. There were several eating establishments walking distance from the hotel. In the casino, many of the machines were dated and didn't pay well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Rican, Japanese, American cusine.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrsXiong
Wisconsin
Aug 18, 2013

Wonderful Location

We arrived at the hotel around 3:15 P.M. We checked in right away, however our room was not ready. The representative advised us that we would receive a call once the room was ready, So my husband and I decided to eat and drink at the hotel. The food and drinks were way over priced. $15.00 for a burger ( not cooked correctly still pink) $8.00 for a 10 ounce beer. We were unable to pay with cash, we had to either charge it to the room or pay way a credit card. after sitting for 2 hours for the phone call they promised, so we decided to go check if our room was ready. Once we got to our room ( beach from view) we noticed our room was small, bathroom was even smaller. The balcony was very nice we had a perfect view, the bed was comfy, but again the room was super small. The hotel is located in the perfect area, its about a 5 minute commute from Old San Juan, 10-15 minutes from the air port. We walked the whole Ashford strip with out any problems, there were police officers out throughout the night, which made us feel safe. I was surprised to see homeless people sleeping on the side walk in front of the hotel, and the management of the hotel did not say anything to them. The homeless men never bothered us, but you would think that a four star hotel would not allow that. Needless to say we made our vacation worth wild. The staff was helpful, beside the minor things i mentioned above, we would for sure return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to buy your beer or food outside of your hotel. Walgreens for beer and snacks!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sheefra
Brooklyn, New York
Aug 17, 2013

great vacation with friends

Very enjoyable experience in this hotel. The location is great, right on the beach and the room was clean with a beautiful view from the balcony. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Excellent place to stay for vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RichNTacoma
Tacoma
Aug 16, 2013

Great at appologies

This is a really nice place, that is very poorly run. What they are best at is trying to appease you with money off of services and free meals. The room we checked into was mildewy; yes, this is the tropics, but it is also a high end hotel. The maids scream across the hallways. There were workmen chancing locks; that was horribly coordinated. If the management learned to make things right instead of appease, this might have been a better stay. Good gym, nice pool, small but friendly casino are pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Milliemia
Miami, FL
Aug 14, 2013

Beautiful place to relax!

My husband and I had a fantastic time in Puerto Rico. The hotel was great, location is perfect and the service is an A+. We are definitely coming back to this hotel. Millieb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Resort Queen
San Juan, PR
Aug 10, 2013

Wonderful Resort Experience

This was my first time staying in a resort. I read many reviews on this hotel and everyone one of them was exactly on the mark. The hotel staff were so nice and helpful. They truly went out of there way for you. The view from our room was incredible and having the beach close by was just great! I loved my stay there and would probably look into going to another Marriott Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KellyandBeth
NJ
Aug 10, 2013

Vacation

Great experience at the marriot! Everyone was very nice and super accommodating! Evenwelcome cocktails when you arrive! Right on the beach and has two nice pools with a swim up bar and water slide. Clean rooms and nice sized balcony. Great lobby and atmosphere. The hotel is close to everything and can take public bus to old san juan for 0.75$... Only complaint I have is that hotel bar seemed to close early. Over all we had a great experience!! I high ly recommend :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian deli restaurant to the left of hotel

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wonder Woman 43
Dallas, Texas
Aug 6, 2013

Lost in Paradise!

Our hotel balcony was amazing!!!!....The staff was very helpful and courteous! The tour desk answered all of our questions. Old San Juan was one of our first destinations. Its beautiful walking thru the streets. The weather was just perfect. Be prepared to walk a lot, so wear comfy shoes. We went to the Yunque Rainforest, which offers an amazing waterfall view. Right after we went to the Yokahu Tower and I was in awe of how amazing the island really is. We decided to go to the island of Culebra, which you have to drive to Fajardo (an hour away- we took a taxi at $75), and wait in line for the ferry to take you to the island. I suggest you get to Fajardo at 4am. You will wait in line at least 3-4hours! We arrived to Culebra and headed to Flamenco Beach. This is a must!!!! You will see why once you arrive-its worth the wait. The water is gorgeous ! Everything is walking distance from the hotel,and the area felt very safe! The beach was literally right infront of the hotel, and I felt Lost in Paradise! Definitely loved our experience and would come back to the Marriott without question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Orozco's ...its right next to a souvenir shop. the Mofongo there is amazing!!!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sammy J
Yonkers NY
Aug 4, 2013

will go back

I love this hotel from the staff to the location everything was on point if I go back to San Juan I will stay at the Marriott again, I really had no problems with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Every Friday about two or three blocks from the hotel the locals have a block party which is so good to go to food, drinks, and music cant beat it must go.

Back to menu Return to top