$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
769 out of 769
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Jun 11, 2008

A Family Friendly Resort

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino, San Juan, PR is very comfortable, clean and a nice resort to stay at. The pools are good for young and old for frolicking in, they are not lap pools but oversized play pools ranging a depth of 1.5? to 3.5?. The water slide can handle even the hardiness adults. The beach was very clean, safe and spacious. The ocean was similar to southern California in wave action however much warmer average temp in the 80?s. The beach is patrolled by the police, which seem to keep the beach vendors off the resorts beach area despite being next to public beaches. The beach entrance it secured by the hotels security guards who are pleasant but to stop people who do not belong at the resort from entering from the beach side. The resort is located in San Juan with several places to dine outside the resort. Dining in the resort was good however we did not visit all the dining facilities. The service at the resort was superior to most other resorts we have been to. Everyone was very friendly, willing to help, smiling and a pleasure to be around. The rooms are very clean with modern conveniences such as flat screen TV, media hook-ups for a variety of electronic devices. The bathrooms are large with granite counter tops. Our room was on the eleventh floor with a pool/ocean view. Note: We went out to get ice, using the security latch to prop the door open, when we return we forgot to close the latch so the door was left ajar, shortly afterward a knock on door was security making there rounds let us know that our door was open. Very impressive, not sure how frequent they make their rounds but this seemed to be only about a half hour after we got from getting ice. The casino is smaller than your average one and does not seem to get much use, at least early on into the evening during the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Local food is good but shop it, sometimes the pricing is attractive put the portions are little on the light side.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Acme
Jun 10, 2008

family friendly

The Marriott San Juan resort was very hospitable and extremely clean. The staff were very alert and attentive to our needs. I traveled to San Juan with my eleven year old daughter and felt very safe during my whole stay. We often would walk the beach after eleven p.m. and were never bothered. Several of the tours offered through the hotel were well worth the money. The two pools were kept clean and the game room was a hit with my daughter. The only negative feedback that I have to share are the outrageous prices on the menu at the hotel restaurants. It seemed way to pricey for what they had to offer. But I also noticed that this seemed to be the case in several of the near by restaurants and also the ones in old San Juan. I was also not impressed by the quality of the food nor the selections. You should also anticipate very slow service. Overall I must say that my stay at the San Juan resort was very good.I had a very nice clean room surrounded by very pleasant local people who are very proud of their island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend Dannys it is a block from the hotel and has excellent pizza. Also there is a Starbucks across the street that provide excellent service.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mableton, GA
Jun 9, 2008

Beach hotel in the City

The Mariott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino has all the amenities one might look for in a hotel. Most people come to Puerto Rico for the beach. Well, this hotel is located right on the beach, with beach bar, umbrellas, chairs, etc. It has a nice pool with swim up bar, tropical landscaping, and fun activities for kids and families. The rooms were average. Service was excellent. There is a casino on the bottom floor. There are many restaurant options just outside the hotel. A Walgreens is one block away in case you forgot a toothbrush or just need some snacks for your room. Old San Juan is a 5 min taxi ride ($14). The airport is less than 10 min away ($15). Overall, I would recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Hertz desk in the lobby. However, I found it cheaper to rent a car from the Hertz office 2 blocks away. I saved $15/day!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland Hills
Jun 9, 2008

friendly staff

The Marriott Stellaris location was great since it was a couple steps away from the beach. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants nearby hotel

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando
Jun 6, 2008

A Great Hotel

We were very pleased with this Marriott San Juan Resort due to its comfort and great sea view. The beach is nice (albeit, not the best) and the staff do a wonderful job of making you feel at home and well pampered. The daily restaurant could use a little upgrading with its menu but the high-end restaurant in the hotel is very good. There is dancing on site and even Chinese food late into the night (in the casino) for a late snack when you come back from dancing. We did not try the casino but we saw lots of people having a good time. It is a great deal for the price and highly recommended; we are definitely going back for more fun and action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The best (i.e., the finest) shopping in all of PR but expensive. There are fabulous restaurants near the hotel featuring all varieties of cuisine that one could imagine. The only item missing from the neighborhood are the great Salsa dancing small locals that are a short taxi ride to Isla Verde and Old San Juan.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
May 5, 2008

Very clean

I thought everyone was nice and pleasant. The hotel was constantly being clean which i loved the most. The lounge at night was great. There was a band playing every night. I cant wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were spanish,italian, japanesse restaurants. Donkin Donuts and Wendy's

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 21, 2008

Nice for Puerto Rico!

Staff is very friendly and bed is comfortable. I prefer all-inclusive though. The drinks were very expensive and there is only two bars outside, so it is very slow getting a drink. Really, really slow!!! That might be a puerto rican thing rather than the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks across the street, walgreens and dunkin donuts right down the block which is safe to walk.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 20, 2008

Great Hotel and Great Location

Just returned from a trip at the Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino, i stayed there for four days three nights April 17th-April 20th and me and my girlfriends loved it. The hotel was everything we expected, it's located in a great location and the staff was very friendly. The pool and beach are very beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is within short distance of great local restaurants and shopping areas.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hilarious
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 15, 2008

Will be back

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino was wonderful! It was one of the few hotels with access to the beach - with waves. The grounds were also nice (pool, whirlpool, ping pong) with a bar poolside and one next to the beach. I guess the only downside was that the shallow pool (with a water slide)was geared toward children, but it didnt bother me. Our room had a great view of the pool/ocean (get a room above the 5th floor). Room service was fine. Overall a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Friday nights are big at the mercado de santurce - a ten min walk from the hotel - where the locals get together for drinks and music.

Back to menu Return to top