$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
830 reviews
Short Stay

Just stayed for one night. However the place was very nice. The staff was very helpful and... See full review

  • m1123
  • Jul 28, 2014
Bachelor's getaway

Close to everything .. Loved the ambiance .. Thanks for the executive suite was a nice experience See full review

  • African traveller
  • Jul 24, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (830)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
830 out of 830
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jcurran1
New York, NY, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Marriott San Juan

The hotel over all was better then avg. but service in the restaurants are very slow and there seems to be no management at all in the restaurants or Bar. The front desk was very good. Beach staff are very good and seem to care that you are taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants around the Hotel are better then the Hotels but way over priced. i am from NYC and people say NYC is over priced. lol

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feetfirst
Atlanta, GA
Oct 25, 2012

Fine overall, but......

I was checked in by Jenine, who was fabulous. The view from private balcony was excellent. Great food and drinks from Hotel's restaurant and bar. The downside of the stay was the atmosphere in the room itself. Damp and Humid to the point of being a bit "moldy" smelling. There was no ventilation system, not even an exhaust fan in the bathroom. No amount of Clorox or Lysol could vanquish the smell. Also, avoid elevators 1 and 2 which had a strong odor of urine each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Ossobuco and mango cheesecake!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cloud 10
Punta Gorda, Fl
May 12, 2012

Great getaway vacation in an excellent area

The hotel staff and facilities were reasonably good. The room was small and the bathroom made you feel like a sardine. No room at all in the bathroom. You could not move around with the bathroom door always in the way. Also, the rug made your feet feel wet and left dirt marks on the bottom of your feet. The pool was small and had no depth. The ocean and the way the empolyees treated you was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The rain forest, Ponce, and the National Observatory were excellent trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Tyme Visitor
Texas
Sep 21, 2013

Honeymoon Experience

Not at all happy about the resort prices and we had to pay $25 extra to upgrade to a room I originally requested online. Also, when we got to the room there was a strong ammonia smell that we thought would eventually disappear since they had just cleaned the room before we entered but 3 days later it was still strong and sickening. We had to keep the windows open at night which was the perfect trade due to the sound of the waves from the ocean however the ac turns off as soon as the windows are open which we figured out the 2nd evening in the room. We are members of the Marriott and they would not add the points to our account since we prepaid for our stay online? The upside was that most of the staff was welcoming and one gentleman by the name of Carlos invited us to VIP breakfast as we were on our Honeymoon which was beautiful beyond expectation. He was also the only one to take the time to show us the best places in town to eat and how to get around Old San Juan. Overall the location was great. Nice Bars within walking distance. The beach is rough in back of the hotel, you can however walk to the hotel next door and use their beach. Best advise stay weds-sun for more activities and walk a block or two for local food as the resort was way overpriced for the quality of food served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Patricks's! Great prices and an awesome pair of guys managing the bar :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tarpon Springs, FL
Dec 12, 2009

Good value,somewhat dated,cookie cutter

Somewaht dated, cookie cutter Marriott decor.......pales in comparsion to the new La Concha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice dining a short walk on Ashford Ave.,several different food types.....good food and values.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Noni9
Bloomfield, NJ, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Nice hotel but could be better

We stayed at the Marriott and Stellaris Casino for about 4 nights. The hotel was in a good location, the beach was in the back of the hotel, there are local restaurants and stores a block or two away. There were a few things that could have been better. The food in the buffet was not very good or diverse, the elevators were slow, the hall ways smelled a little musty. The hotel was about a 10-15 minute drive to Old San Juan, I would recommend going there but I would skip the El Yunque tour. The rainforest tour was average they take you to several stops ,watch a movie and a small hike. Overall, it was a good hotel, I would come back even with the little things that we did not find to appealing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely visit Old San Juan and visit the fort. I would skip the El Yunque tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wwong
New York, NY
May 15, 2012

Average Stay

I went with 2 other girlfriends and we chose Marriott knowing its 4 stars so it should be a well above average hotel but we were disappointed in their customer service. We arrived before 4pm and they said they dont have our room ready yet but if we upgrade to a pool view room then the room will be ready immediately, we decided not to upgrade and just waited at the beach. When we arrived at our room, we found that one of the sheets were dirty with some stains so we called to have them replaced, they said they will come immediately to change them. We waited over 1 hour and no one showed up yet so we called again. After another 30 minutes someone finally came to change the sheets. We also asked if there is complimentary breakfast that is included with our booking and whoever we spoke to said we do. The next morning we went down to get breakfast and they told us we dont have complimentary breakfast, so we went to front desk to check again and they said according to our booking, breakfast is not included. Their staff apparently dont know what they are talking about and what annoyed me was when they said they dont have a record of who took our call the previous night. We spoke to the manager and he said hes sorry but there's nothing he can do. Really now? Nothing? He could have at the very least do something to make our stay there a little more enjoyable after dealing with their incompetent staff for the first 2 days of our arrival. The manager definitely did not take us seriously because we look young, when we told him were never going to return he just said okay. I think its time for Marriott to reconsider the staff they hire and step up to their 4 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luigi and Mario Bros
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Great

The only BUT I have is that the room needed to be clean on a daily basis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stamford, CT
Apr 6, 2011

A wonderful vacation

We stayed a week for our spring vacation. Excellent service from the second we walked in. Everyone helped make great recommendations and helped us find cheap ways of seeing the islands. The room was small but had everything we needed and was very comfortable. BEAUTIFUL view (recommend the ocean front), with a peaceful balcony. Loved the FREE beach chairs and umbrellas, and the waiters who would bring food and drinks to you! We never hit the pools because the ocean was so beautiful, but they looked great! Great beach bar. The restaurants were delicious, although pricey but what hotel restaurants aren't? Had some fun in the casino as well. VERY easy check in and check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take public transportation. The bus stop is right next to the hotel and saved us a bundle. The staff helped out with any directions we needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston,MA
Sep 3, 2011

Mini Vacation

Right on the beach!! Great ameneties and service. Nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search