$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,230 reviews
Best Hotel in San Juan

This was an excellent hotel!! My family loved this hotel. The food was great, the atmosphere was... See full review

  • JCMCAS
  • Jul 8, 2014
Great Hotel and location, Friendly staff

My Boyfriend and I arrived at the Marriott before check-in and the staff stored our luggage and... See full review

  • Kristin World Traveler
  • Jun 18, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1230)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
1230 out of 1230
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sheefra
Brooklyn, New York
Aug 17, 2013

great vacation with friends

Very enjoyable experience in this hotel. The location is great, right on the beach and the room was clean with a beautiful view from the balcony. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Excellent place to stay for vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chica
Las Cruces, NM, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Loved this Hotel!!

My husband and I enjoyed this hotel very much. Since this was our first trip to Puerto Rico, we found that it was the perfect location since it was right on the beach and also on an avenue that had many excellent restaurants within walking distance. We had an ocean view room and at check-in were given a corner ocean view room. This was a wonderful room that was big and had 2 balconys, one that ran along side the room and had a city and ocean view, and the front balcony that faced the ocean. The room was large, beautiful, quiet, and clean. The beach was great. We enjoyed the chaise lounges and umbrella at the beach. The pool was great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you do not plan to rent a car or use the bus system, we recommend the taxi service for transportation. It is reliable and the set fees (usually $15) allow you to know what you are going to pay, so you know you won't get taxi services that take the "long route" just to make more money with a running meter. We found the drivers to be very friendly and gave great information on the area. Most speak English too.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Aug 23, 2009

Awesome time

Loved the location, close to everything but still so quiet at night. Great pool, beach, and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Cherry Blossom Restaurant or the Green House Restaurant, both just a short walk and worth it.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Simi Valley, CA
Jul 28, 2009

Service with a smile

The service was stellar. The on-site restaurant was fabulous (Italian)! The beach was great. The location was central to the attractions we were interested in. The only minor detail was that my husband was disappointed that the main pool did not have a deep end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Woods, MI
Dec 20, 2010

Great hotel...no regrets!

Great beach location, very friendly staff and nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Jordan
Northeast, Texas
Jul 15, 2009

Fantasy Getaway

This was one os the best hotels that I have ever stayed in. The view was just as described, and the service was first-class! We will stay here again on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tayzan sushi just to the right of the hotel, and Tejana's just to the left. The food was reasonably priced and excellent!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
simplysaid
florida
Mar 13, 2012

wonderful trip

the staff at the hotel was wonderful, very accomodating. very convenient to great restaurants... the only thing i missed was a heated pool ...in march the pool water was a bit cool ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great italian, puertorican restaurants close by

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wareham
Dec 8, 2008

Great view, beach

We were very pleased with the service and the room. We were upgraded to a room with a better view for nothing. Our check in person was extremely nice. Everyone was very helpful. The beach looked great, with great waves. We were only there for less than 24 hours so didn't hang out locally but went to Old San Juan, which was FABULOUS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Addict
Miami, Florida
May 20, 2013

Phenomenal stay!

Just came back from this hotel and I am very pleased of my decision. Booked this hotel for a romantic weekend and couldn't be any happier with the service we received. Rooms and bathrooms are clean, spacious enough , the staff is super competent and accomodating, the hotel is conveniently located. They staff sets up your umbrellas and chairs at the beach for you, the server brings you food and drinks upon your request, there is a pool when you are tired of sea water. Yes, the drinks and food is a bit expansive, nothing too extreme ( I live in Miami, so to me it wasn't that much of a difference), however right across the street as well as within walking distance there are restaurants and bars at your disposal for a different choice of food and drinks. This is a great place to stay and you will not regret it. I am planning on coming back already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must say that across the street there is a little restaurant called " zuchero" - totally reccomend their passion fruit mimosas and breakfast menu

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 18, 2008

First but not last...

Though neither of us gamble and aren't inclined to frequent a casino, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino. Regarding the cleanliness, amenities and staff hospitality, it was exactly what I expected from a Marriott property. It's location was outstanding, according guests what felt like our own private beach area, while in close proximity to Old San Juan and several outstanding restaurants (including our favorite, Miro, which is directly across the street). We especially enjoyed the live music (salsa and merengue) and dancing in the hotel lobby-bar area, as well as the pool and whirlpool. Our only restaurant experiences at the hotel included a late-night snack at the bar (Chinese) and breakfast buffet in the main restaurant (outstanding). As for the former, I'd suggest offering something other than Chinese food from the casino restaurant in the bar area, including Caribbean fare. The only suggestion is to offer shuttle service to/from the airport and Old San Juan. Overall, it was a wonderful experience -- one we look forward to reliving in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top