$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,230 reviews
Best Hotel in San Juan

This was an excellent hotel!! My family loved this hotel. The food was great, the atmosphere was... See full review

  • JCMCAS
  • Jul 8, 2014
Great Hotel and location, Friendly staff

My Boyfriend and I arrived at the Marriott before check-in and the staff stored our luggage and... See full review

  • Kristin World Traveler
  • Jun 18, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1230)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
1230 out of 1230
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, New York
Dec 15, 2010

Great, Relaxing Getaway

The hotel itself is lovely, on a beautiful stretch of beach. There are many great places to dine within walking distance to the hotel. A Walgreens & a mini mart to stock up on supplies, are within a block or 2 Hotel personel were courtious, and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. Balcony over looking the Ocean was great for morning coffee. People like to boogie board here, bring your own, as the hotel does not supply them. There are no real scheduled activities, which I think would be nice.. examples would be organized beach volley ball, horseshoes, bocci ball, darts, etc. We are used to having that, and it would be a great touch. Nice not having to go through customs...short $20.00 cab ride to the airport. All in all....a great trip for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

buy drinks ,snacks and breakfast foods at local mini marts and Walgreens. There is a small fridge and a coffee maker in the room. Eat out at outside local restaurants to save $$$. Many within walking distance.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D A Smith
tlanta, GA
Oct 9, 2013

Good R&R for couples....

The room was GREAT! Clean and fantastic view from the balcony. The robes, slippers and even a nice large unbrella (which we used twice) were great extras. Extra large bathroom with a fantastic shower head was soothing. The bar and restaraunts were entertaining. Location was in walking distance of many restaurants, bars and botiques. The staff were always available offering assistance if needed. Breakfast was only available with room service (redicoulously expensive) and the room price is not cheap but fair for what you get in comfort and style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't need to rent a car for many options for eating, boutique shopping, Walgreens and bars.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Klasmith86
Houston, TX
May 16, 2011

Hotel Nice, San Juan Not So Nice

We went to San Juan for our honeymoon. The town of San Juan/Condado, Puerto Rico was not all it was talked up to being. I think within the last year the recession has taken a toll on the city. I heard it was thriving and beautiful. We arrived to run down buildings, graffiti all over the place, bums begging for money, trash and a horrible stench throughout the city! The food was also not so great, much better in the states! We also found out we were being charged more than the locals for purchases. One time it was $3.50 more! There were also police and security guards at every corner. We were told there was 2 homicides behind the Marriott 2 weeks prior to our arrival so the beach was closed of after dark. But other than that we were able to enjoy each others company at the hotel casino, pool and beach during the day! The hotel was very nice and rooms were nice as well, room was kind of small and the sheets has a slight smell that seemed to fade. Although we enjoyed the hotel very much...it was home for the time being and felt safe! I would recommend the hotel but not San Juan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the local bus to Old San Juan it is $.75 per person! You can walk everywhere pretty much that you need! Taxi from airport to hotel is about $20.00 should not be more than that! There is a starbuck across the street and a ice cream shop, walgreens down the road....burger king and wendys close by and Chilis a little walk down the road.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GC Mom
New Vienna, Ohio
May 23, 2009

Excellent hotel, Excellent price

The hotel was amazing. The amenities were excellent and every staff member was friendly. They all went out of their way for us. The only bad experience was the parking garage. We were charged $16-$17 to park for 20 minutes when the sign said $4.75 for first hour! There was a small problem with little sand bugs on our desk every evening also. We killed them and then didn't have any problems until the next night so they weren't really a big deal. We would stay there again in a heart beat. Actually, we are planning a return trip with our children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The conceierge (spelling?) is a huge help when it comes to dining within walking distance. They were also helpful with any questions we had regarding all aspects (dining, shopping, entertainment).

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach hound
NYC
May 24, 2010

Perfect for a beach vacation, otherwise

We just wanted to chill on the beach, and the Mariott beach is perfect; great frozen Mojitos; our ocean view room was very fine. The neighborhood is boring, mostly bad fast food. Two block walk to La Concha Resort which has way cooler ambience, better casino and better food. It was exactly the vacation we wanted and the price was beyond excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out La Concha for tapas and frozen mojitos.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie S
Maryland, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Good short stay

The concierge lounge staff was extremely helpful and nice! The hotel lobby is under construction. This greatly takes away from the hotel experience. There is a wall as soon as you walk in. The check in desk is also under construction. There is no usual "causual environment" where you can meet others and get a feel for the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Went to Cielito Lindo for Mexcan food one night. The food was very good and the margaritas were awesome!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time to PR
Boston , Ma
Mar 20, 2012

Great location and staff was professional

We chose this hotel for it's location and reviews. Close to Old San Juan. The beach was nice and lots of shade by the pool. We paid for an upgraded room with a view, but it was not worth the change. Wished we kept the city view. Would return to the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mexican restaurant Tiajuana and Ropa Vierga within walking distance on Ashford.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nyce007
Business
Tortola, BVI
Sep 26, 2013

Shopping trip

hotel is in a great location. its close to many restaurants. I like that its near to the airport but you don't hear the noise from the planes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
phila
Feb 15, 2010

san juan

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything close

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandra loves to travel
Houston, Texas
Oct 18, 2013

family getaway

It was a very clean and friendly place to stay. Would love to do again. Food and drinks a little overpriced, but for the most part everything (kid games, beach, pool etc) was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Burger king and Subway.

Back to menu Return to top