$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
829 reviews
Short Stay

Just stayed for one night. However the place was very nice. The staff was very helpful and... See full review

  • m1123
  • Jul 28, 2014
Bachelor's getaway

Close to everything .. Loved the ambiance .. Thanks for the executive suite was a nice experience See full review

  • African traveller
  • Jul 24, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (829)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
829 out of 829
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Concord, NC
Sep 18, 2009

Great place to stay!

Hotel was great and all the workers were so helpful! Rooms were just a little bit smaller than most Marriott rooms but that would not deter me from going there again! Great location and walking ditance to anything you would like to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale
Sep 16, 2009

Well known spot, very good service!

Very good service and professional staff. Enjoyed the chaises and umbrellas on the beach, towels easily available. Room clean and even City View had view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Do try the Marmalade Restaurant in Old San Juan, an upscale and very memorable dining experience! 5-course tasting menu is a great deal for the amazing culinary experience of the chef and the ambiance of the place! Especially perfect for romantic celebrations!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
juan sua
Business
bogota colombia
Sep 15, 2009

excellent

it was a good experience for us.. and I enjoyed everything, the service great, people excellent,the location is perfect near to san juan an d u can find wathever u want

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 14, 2009

Nice Vacation

Service was great... the staff ALWAYS helped my fiance and me with our baby's stroller. They were very helpful in getting us aquainted with local places to eat and tours. The restaurant in the hotel was pricey, but would you expect anything less from the Marriott? The rooms were clean, the beach was intimate, and the location is great. We're planning to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Queens, NY
Sep 13, 2009

great getaway

Hotel met expectations as Marriott brand. Enjoyed the live music in lobby lounge. Coffee bar in lobby great for quick breakfast. Staff helpful and friendly. Hotel location was accessible to great restaurants within walking distance. Nice beach area. Hotel in great location for shops. Walgreens's right across the street. Would have liked a well stocked gift shop limited items available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants within walking distance all price ranges.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Consumer Savvy
New England, Massachusetts
Sep 10, 2009

Very Disappointed!

We stayed at this Marriott ten years ago and enjoyed everything about it. Our recent stay was anything but like our first. The first hotel room was so musty that we had to be moved. The second room was not any better. The smell was on the bedding, etc. and we brought the smell home in our luggage. Our bathroom door did not close or lock. The carpeting and newspaper was soggy from the intense humidity level in the rooms, despite running the AC constantly at 65 degrees. The carpeting throughout is old and stained and the walls are in dire need of a paint job. The hotel lobby was constantly noisy and had too much commotion. This was not the comfortable, relaxing vacation we had planned and so much longed for. We spent little time at the hotel, except to shower and sleep, as we refused to spend any more time or money at the Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Sep 8, 2009

San Juan

The best part of San Juan Loaction Good beach with safe main road strip (comparable to Miami Collen drive).. Cant beat location for beach and nightlife/resturant/city mix

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Miro - Excellant resturant (outside)

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Junikx
New York, NY
Sep 4, 2009

Puerto Rico Getaway

I liked the Rain Forest Tours they organized.I asked for an upgrade and although they told us that they had 3 rooms with ocean views they wouldn't allow us an upgrade unless we paid an additional 50 US$. I think that had they given us the upgrade I'd consider going back, but by asking us for an extra (200-250 $- we stayed 5 nights), they in fact lost thousands of dollars in the future- because I doubt it we will go back since they didn't give us the upgrade and their ocean view rooms anyways were empty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El Yunque Rain Forest Trip

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cip
Illinois
Aug 31, 2009

Great Hotel!

The hotel was great. We upgraded our room for an ocean view for an additional $25 a night, and it was worth it. The beach was right off the pool area. The lounge was relaxed in the afternoon and always busy and music filled each night. The crowd varied, but definitely a lot of middle aged people having a good time. The pool bar was nice and there were a couple nice mid-price ranged restaurants,Café Del Angel and Yerbabuena Café, in the area, and someone had told me a small food market was somewhere by, but we never made it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant hotel was pricey. The place across the street is fine for a quick bite, there is a Walgreens about two blocks down. Café Del Angel and Yerbabuena Café are in walking distance. The Taxi's are always right at the hotel and Old San Juan is a $15 about 10 minute cab ride.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norwalk, CT
Aug 31, 2009

Great location for a great price

The beach and ocean were beautiful. The hotel and rooms were nice and clean. I love that they have balconies. We had chose a city view room. If you decide to choose that, when you get there ask for a nice city view. I did that and half of the view ended up being the beach. It was gorgeous! I loved everything about the hotel except for the overpriced food/drinks and that there were kids everywhere at the pool. One of the pools should be adult only. As far as food, there are restaurants in walking distance. Another problem was when I called someone to come up to my room to heat up food I had, they never came. And the bell boy had to be reminded twice to come get our bags at checkout. But other than that the whole trip and hotel stay was definitely worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat at the hotel! If you go to the consierge, they will give you a list of restaurants and the type of food within the area.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search