$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
831 reviews
Short Stay

Just stayed for one night. However the place was very nice. The staff was very helpful and... See full review

  • m1123
  • Jul 28, 2014
Bachelor's getaway

Close to everything .. Loved the ambiance .. Thanks for the executive suite was a nice experience See full review

  • African traveller
  • Jul 24, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (831)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
831 out of 831
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Icon1235
West Palm Beach, FL
Nov 19, 2012

Single getaway

Very good hotel. The location is perfect. Friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
new york
new york,ny
Jul 30, 2011

Great Hotel

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location...the staff was great and the service was amazing..we highly recomend this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alexanders
Houston, Texas
Sep 28, 2010

Marriott San Juan Resort

Very clean - everyone was courteous, friendly, helpful - just an enjoyable stay....rooms clean. The restaurant though was downstairs enclosed, no windows, very expensive and limited menu...we went down the street to another hotel that restaurant was facing the ocean and the menu was more normal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
njbelle
nj
Aug 18, 2010

Great Mother/Daughter Weekend

Had a wonderful trip! Location was great! Bus stop just outside to Old San Juan $.75 exact change for bus. Great food everywhere we went. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Went to Casino ($2.00) Roulette tables. Salsa lesson at night in bar. Very clean rooms! Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right out of hotel, many places to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Towsir
Chicago
Aug 16, 2012

Nice get away from home.

Relaxing & enjoyable! The entire staff were all great to help you enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Stay away from the gentleman on the beach that is offering a fix with a message/chiropractic work. Not worth the money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HLM2013
New Haven County, CT
Jun 9, 2013

Another wonderful stay in PR

This was my 2nd trip to PR, but first time staying at the Marriott and I will definitely be back to this hotel next year! The location was amazing with lots of restaurants within walking distance (breakfast at Pinky's and Ben & Jerry's were my favorite meals!) and a short bus ride (75 cents each way) to Old San Juan (do not pay for a cab, the bus was SO easy!). As for the hotel, the staff were all knowledgeable and friendly. I used the gym a few times and enjoyed that and even went to a yoga class across the street at Condado studio one morning. The hotel also offers yoga classes too, I just did not get the chance to try one out. The room was spacious and clean as well; we did not pay for an ocean view but ended up having a partial ocean view as our room was on the side of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Psychologist
Miami, Fl
Mar 7, 2011

Best Hotel in San Juan

I am a SBF under 30 years old that stayed at this hotel with my friends for my B-day. This hotel is the best in San Juan. I researched other hotels before arriving in San Juan. I also took my research a step further and went to various 4 star hotels upon arriving in San Juan. I have to be 100% honest the Marriott Hotel and Stellaris Casino is the best. I have to warn you I am a Psychologist so I analyzed everything LOL. The hotel was in the center of all the action. This hotel has beach access. The hotel is in a very safe neighborhood. So if I felt like walking I was able to do so. It is in the center of great restaurants that we know and love (i.e. Starbucks, Chili's and Wendy's) and a short walk to Puerto Rico's great restaurants. Please make it a point to visit Danny's Restaurant. The customer service at the hotel was EXCELLENT. The hotel staff was very knowledgeable of night clubs, restaurants and sites. The hotel also assisted me in outside travel like tours of Rainforest and hotel spa. The hotel is a short cab drive from the mall, Old San Juan, Fort and nightclubs. If you don't want to leave the hotel you can eat downstairs in there reasonably priced buffet and Italian restaurant. The Casino was really fun too. The hotel is very family friendly as well. The kiddie pool is away from the adult pool. I saw children having a great time as well. This hotel made my first experience in Puerto Rico a very memorable one. I will definitely be back to Puerto Rico and the Marriott and Stellaris Casino hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Walgreens one block down from this hotel and a Starbucks directly across the street. So whatever you forgot don't go crazy the Walgreen is there. Oh and you cant check in the hotel until 4:00 p.m. but the hotel staff will hold your luggage and you can go sightseeing or to the beach. Besides who wants to be stuck in the room anyway LOL.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ALe91
Milan, Italy
Aug 30, 2010

San juan, Puerto Rico

Great Time: We swam in The Sea with huge waves and had a lot of fun with The slide in The swimming pool. Amazing trip on catamaran

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chilly's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alabama
Mar 20, 2011

Very nice experience

This was our second stay at this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a broken curtain, and they had it fixed within minutes. Cleanliness was very good. Nice beach and swimming pool area. The work-out facility is pretty comprehensive for a hotel -- treadmills, elliptic trainers, and bikes, as well a a nice selection of weight machines and barbells. Again, well-maintained and very clean. There is also a spinning/zumba club across the street which was nice, and another fitness club a block or so down. We didn't go there, but it looked promising. The hotel restaurants were good. The Coffee Merchant had good coffee, pastries, and sandwiches for lunch. It closes mid-afternoon. But there is a Starbucks across the street. Additionally, there are a number of good restaurants very nearby. Miro (seafood), Mhan Chung (Indonesian), and Bodegas Compostela (Spanish, tapas) were stand outs. We went on the rainforest excursion, which was lots of fun. We did the longer tour which included a walk to a waterfalls. Old San Juan is not far away, but we didn't go on this trip. We did go to Plaza las Americas, a mall about $15 taxi fare away, which had a nice selection of stores. We didn't have a lot of luck in the casino on either visit, but we're not big gamblers. In summary, we enjoyed our stay as much the second time as the first. In terms of cleanliness, facilities, and location, it is an excellent place to get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diana snowy ny
oneonta ny
Mar 11, 2011

stress free vacation

my husband and i own a restaurant and this was the first time we had been away for 10 years! truly exceptional service, friendly staff, large, clean rooms with anything you need. the oceanview room couldn't have been better. lots of great restaurants and local shops steps away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

miro restaurant across the street from the hotel was superb caribbean dining, excellent service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Salonika
Los Altos, CA
Aug 16, 2010

"Fantastic family getaway"

This was definitely one of our better vacations. The hotel was clean, comfortable, with a very friendly staff. The beach was amazing with "beach boys" available to set up our beach umbrellas and chairs every morning. Food and drink service was available on the beach and at the pool area which was very convenient. The inside bar area was very sleek and cool. A great place to listen to music and dance. The casino was fun and our daughters learned how to play blackjack! The hotel was 100% occupied during our stay (there was a production crew staying at the Marriot as they are filming a movie on the island.) However, it never felt crowded due to the great layout. We met great people and would recommend this hotel for all age groups. It is close to many great restaurants, all within walking distance. Viva Puerto Rico!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I strongly recommend the 50 minute drive to Fajardo for a catamaran cruise on "The Salty Dog." The boat leaves at 10:00 a.m. and returns at 3:30 p.m., with several hours of snorkeling, lunch, rum drinks (try the "painkillers"), great music and fun people. The crew is amazingly fun and entertaining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top