$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,230 reviews
Best Hotel in San Juan

This was an excellent hotel!! My family loved this hotel. The food was great, the atmosphere was... See full review

  • JCMCAS
  • Jul 8, 2014
Great Hotel and location, Friendly staff

My Boyfriend and I arrived at the Marriott before check-in and the staff stored our luggage and... See full review

  • Kristin World Traveler
  • Jun 18, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1230)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
1230 out of 1230
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BamaBob
Edmonds, WA, USA
Feb 15, 2012

10 day stay in Feb 2012

Problems: few and far between Red flag always out for beach. Many surfers taking advantage of this. I quess this is a good thing if you are a strong swimer. No vent fan in bathroom. As others have said; in hotel food is $$$. Good stuff: on bus line to old San Juan. Plenty of restaruants nearby. Excellent housekeepping every day. Lots of room at beah and pools. Would stay again and highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Accross street is Starbucks, cheaper than coffee in hotel and Walgreens one block away (good for cheap snacks and extended stay needs.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keel
Connecticut, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Last minute vacation

We all had a great experience at the hotel! the staff was great and our room was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try the local places! theres good food for good prices around the hotel

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jan 12, 2010

Great location, wonderful service

.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
May 27, 2009

Great Trip!!!

This was a trip with 6 girlfriends. There was a big event going on and a bunch of people from every state was there but mostly New York. The staff was the best and accommodated us with any and everything we needed. The pool was great and beautiful. The beach is in our backyard and is a beautiful calm beach. The location was the only thing that made this trip not perfect. You would always have to take a taxi to Isla Verde. This is where EVERYTHING IS, including the beach that has everything to do. Don't get me wrong, the hotel was the best, but I wish it was in Isla Verde. You must go visit the Bacardi Rum Factory. Can I say drunk?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are going to dine, please leave that area. It is expensive and only a couple places are good. In Isla Verde it is inexpensive and the food is great. Please try Mi casita. Something like that, it is great.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler from PA
Pennsylvania, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Nice hotel, busy location

Very nice, clean hotel, very friendly staff. Nice beach where you can always find shade. Lobby was just renovated, so it looks good, although music was a bit too loud for my taste. I wish there was more sitting space in the lobby to meet your companions, or just sit and talk. Recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a car from Charlies just across the street.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MadFaded25
Miami, FL, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Light weekend travel

Not gonna lie but I did find the staff quite helpful and courteous. The beds by far was the hotels greatest attribute. However, be aware and attentive to all fees during check out. Wasn't too much of a problem but a word of advise never hurts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, ME
Oct 1, 2010

Great location for the price

We found the staff very friendly and very helpful. Many restaurants within walking distance. Must visit to Old San Juan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

An Argentinian restaurant called UMMO & across the street a great "Mexican" restaurant with more of a Puerto Rica fare.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Juan, PR
May 25, 2009

Nice getaway

The hotel is really nice. The location is great too. However, the hotel lobby is very noisy. You can hardly hear the staff who check you in. The hot tub is not open 24 hours. The beach is not private. However, the rooms were really great. Very clean and comfortable. Overall, had a great time and would go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 28, 2009

Week in San Juan 7/17-7/25/09

We stayed at the Marriot Stallaris which overall was a very nice hotel. The staff were very pleasant and the ocean view from our room was beautiful. The nice part of the hotel was that it was within walking distance to many restaurants and pharmacies; stores if you need to buy munchies. The other hotels in the area were closed down and had some graffiti on them but it seems like the area is picking up. While in San Juan we rented a car for the week and did several excursions on our own which were much cheaper. We did the "SEGWAY TOUR" This is a MUST this is the most fun we've ever had. It was only $80 dollars per person and you toured 6 miles of old San Juan along with an inside tour of the fort. Worth every penny!! We also did some Horseback riding on the beach; The Cave tour and we went to see the observatory. All these tours we found on our own and paid almost nothing to see these beautiful places. An example was the Barcardi Factory tour we took a ferry ride for .50 cents located in Old San Juan to the Barcardi Factory and then paid 3.00 for a quick shuddle ride there. The actual factory tour is free plus 2 free drinks. The island had alot to offer, we tried several restaurants as well as some of the vendor carts which had REALLY GOOD FOOD. We even found the ice cream shop called "LARES" that has 1,000 flavors. We also ate at the hotel in the restaurant lounge along with the the downstairs buffet for breakfast. It was about $20.00 but SO WORTH IT. The Friday night seafood buffet was excellent as well with great choices such as crab legs, all kinds of seafood and Prime Rib..its worth every penny. The food was actually quite good and reasonable in regards to pricing of the nearby restaurants as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We drove to several parts of the island if your going to stay for a week be sure to rent a car its worth the cost because you will save alot on the excursions as well as you'll get to see alot more of the island.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Kids
Boston
Mar 29, 2013

Definitely worth it

This definitely felt like a vacation. Great location, great service, great fun. We rented a car so we weren't at the resort all the time, but for the time we spent there it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tijuana's for dinner. The quesadillas are amazing. Their margaritas are a little too strong, but that may be a good thing.

Back to menu Return to top