Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
769 out of 769
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve111983
New York, NY
Mar 18, 2013

Excellent Choice

I stayed at Marriot at Stellaris Casino in Puerto Rico for 4 nights in March 2013. The hotel was an excellent choice and could not have been any better. The amenities were great - multiple pools, room service, gym, 24-hr front desk. Staff was super-nice and very accommodating; they were always greeting you with a smile and trying to make your stay better. Hotel itself is right on the beach. Its located on a main strip with multiple dining and nightlife options. It felt safe to walk around at night. There was a bus that stopped right outside the hotel that could take you to Old San Juan. Hotel had a casino attached which was convenient. I've stayed at other Marriott hotels before and they never disappoint. This one was perfect for our trip in terms of amenities, service and location. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Sep 8, 2009

San Juan

The best part of San Juan Loaction Good beach with safe main road strip (comparable to Miami Collen drive).. Cant beat location for beach and nightlife/resturant/city mix

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Miro - Excellant resturant (outside)

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Junikx
Business
New York, NY
Sep 4, 2009

Puerto Rico Getaway

I liked the Rain Forest Tours they organized.I asked for an upgrade and although they told us that they had 3 rooms with ocean views they wouldn't allow us an upgrade unless we paid an additional 50 US$. I think that had they given us the upgrade I'd consider going back, but by asking us for an extra (200-250 $- we stayed 5 nights), they in fact lost thousands of dollars in the future- because I doubt it we will go back since they didn't give us the upgrade and their ocean view rooms anyways were empty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El Yunque Rain Forest Trip

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cip
Business
Illinois
Aug 31, 2009

Great Hotel!

The hotel was great. We upgraded our room for an ocean view for an additional $25 a night, and it was worth it. The beach was right off the pool area. The lounge was relaxed in the afternoon and always busy and music filled each night. The crowd varied, but definitely a lot of middle aged people having a good time. The pool bar was nice and there were a couple nice mid-price ranged restaurants,Café Del Angel and Yerbabuena Café, in the area, and someone had told me a small food market was somewhere by, but we never made it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant hotel was pricey. The place across the street is fine for a quick bite, there is a Walgreens about two blocks down. Café Del Angel and Yerbabuena Café are in walking distance. The Taxi's are always right at the hotel and Old San Juan is a $15 about 10 minute cab ride.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Aug 31, 2009

BEAUTIFUL & UNFORGETTABLE STAY

We Loved our stay that we did not want to leave. Because of this trip i got to see my aunt after 30yrs & see my grandmother in 5yrs so this was the icing on the cake. This was a memorable trip. We will be coming back here for sure next yr.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is pretty much near. We even learned to take the bus into Old San Juan. I truly missed my country & after 19yrs not visiting We are sure to come back next yr

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Aug 28, 2009

Great place, will stay here again.

I had a great time, will definitely stay here again. I loved the pool and the view of the beach. The staff is friendly, the rooms are very clean, and the gym was great as well. Also this hotel is surrounded by great restaurants that you just have to try. I really cant say anything negative about his hotel. FYI they charge $16 for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try these restaurants they were great. Yerba Buena & Ummo Argentinian Grill located in the same street as the hotel.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Aug 27, 2009

Great family getaway at a fantastic pric

clean, amiable great family atmosphere. Great ambience. Travelled with my 20 year old daughter who was very happy to be allowed in the casino as the legal age is 18 and danced every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If this hotel was located in Isla Verde it would be perfect most of the nightlife revolves around in Isla Verde.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yuppie Frequent Traveler
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 27, 2009

Resort/Business Hotel

The hotel is in a great location with plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. It is what you would expect from a Marriott in a major city, great staff, clean and well decorated rooms and a nice lobby. The hotel is not overly loud or crowded so it seems great for families. Having said that, I was traveling with my wife and friends so we were out to party and see the country. This hotel did not have the resort feel but it really did not bother us since we spent most of our time outside the hotel. The pool and bar were nice but don't expect something like a resort in Cancun. The beach was ok as well. The waves were about a meter high. There are many really nice public beaches in San Juan like Luquillo that you might want to visit instead. If you venture to Culebra, Flamenco beach is quite possibly the best beach in the world and generally make the top 10 lists in travel magazines. If you want clubs, a great bar and a crowd more "en la moda" you should check out the Marriott Renaissance La Concha right up the street or the Hotel San Juan. Both of those have great bars and the club in Hotel San Juan was the place to be at night. If you are looking for a very nice hotel to sleep in but not hang out in, this one is excellent. If you want more look around at those I listed above or perhaps the Hilton in Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel San Juan bar and night club

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plattsburgh, NY
Aug 24, 2009

Nice resort, great pool and gym

Stayed here mid August, and managed to avoid TS Ana and Hurricane Bill. Hotel is typical, large, upper-end Marriott, with a better-than-average gym, nice pool, and surprisingly happening bar scene (mostly from local San Juanitos). You're on a nice stretch of Condado beach, and right near several nice restaurants. This is a nice feature because the breakfast buffet isn't cheap, and the lunches by the pool are uninspired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good restaurants nearby: Danny's International for b'fast, pizza, subs, Tijuana's for surprisingly decent Tex-Mex, Latin Star for cheap b'fast, Via Appia for Italian. Supermax grocery is 7 minute walk to southeast for supplies, rum, room snacks, etc...

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple on Relaxing Long Weekend Vaca
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 24, 2009

Would Recommend

Nice attached beach, overall nice safe neighborhood/location. Use bus for easy cheap way to Old San Juan. Staff all helpful. Resturants and drinks expensive at hotel, but isn't that always the case. Lots of resturant/bar options all around hotel for better prices. Room very clean and nice...and quite, I never heard my neighbors or the loud music or band played nightly in lobby/bar area. Bed extremely comfortable and little balconey nice. Stayed here on a deal for about $90 a night and if I could get that price again, would stay again and would recommend to family/friends. Be aware - there is a resort fee not usually added to the price, but still well worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk either direction out the hotel and you will find many different types of resturants...from starbucks and wendy's to nicer sit down places. Also, take the bus, it is $0.75 one way (you need exact change) to Old San Juan instead of the $15 cab. Lastly, if you want to hang all day on the beach, bring your own beer/water/food and save a lot of $$!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 23, 2009

Awesome time

Loved the location, close to everything but still so quiet at night. Great pool, beach, and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Cherry Blossom Restaurant or the Green House Restaurant, both just a short walk and worth it.

Back to menu Return to top