$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 14, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
807 reviews
Great Location and Staff is Excellent

We loved our stay here. We had an Ocean Front Room. The view was great and the staff was very... See full review

  • Forneyian
  • Mar 23, 2014
AMAZING!

Wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and did everything they could... See full review

  • RGtravel
  • Mar 14, 2014
San Juan hotel offers comfort and class on Condado Beach
The sounds of relaxation at the Marriott San Juan Resort are the palm fronds rustling in a warm breeze and the gentle surf lapping the shore of Condado Beach. The resort's sprawling patio is lined with lounge chairs and shady trees and has a whirlpool and two spectacular pools with water-sprouting features and a slide. Inside, the hotel's marble floors, bold floral prints and plush green chairs invite guests to linger.
Highlights
  • The golden sands of Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Live music from Wednesday to Sunday at the newly renovated Red Coral Lounge
  • Fountains of fun in the swimming pool
  • The Coffee Merchant, serving mountain-grown Puerto Rican coffee
Rooms

Take in stunning ocean views, or the buzz of the glitzy Condado district, from one of 513 comfortable rooms and 12 suites tastefully designed in simple, calming tones. There is Wi-Fi in every guest room and throughout the public areas of the hotel.

Features

The Puerto Rico Tourism Company named the hotel "Best of the Best" for all-around quality and service. Self parking ($16/day) and valet parking ($20/day) are available.

Dining

There are several on-site dining options. Patrons can feast on sumptuous buffets amids picturesque ocean views at La Vista Latin Grill on site. Guests can also have refreshing tropical drinks and light snacks at La Isla Grill and Pool Bar or have fresh brews and delicious pastries and baked goods at Coffee Merchant and Bake Shop.

Entertainment

The action heats up in the spacious, chandelier-studded Stellaris Casino when the sun goes down. Test your luck at 20 gaming tables and more than 400 slot machines.

Recreation

In addition to the beach and the pool with waterslide, there is also tennis and volleyball on-site. The fitness center is open 24 hours and is free of charge to hotel guests.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Taxi and bus service available
Attractions
  • Condado Lagoon (.4 mi/ 6km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Museo de Arte Contemporáneo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
Business
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Messenger service
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 14 meeting rooms
  • High-speed Internet access in all meeting areas
Policies & fees

A 16 percent resort fee applies. This fee covers the following amenities and services: beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, bicycle rental for one hour; all based on availability and weather permitting, casino match play coupon for $20, wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas of the hotel, local telephone calls within the San Juan metropolitan area and toll-free number access, two 12-ounce bottle of water in guest room and use of the Internet for one hour in the business center based on availability.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Lobby Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Ristorante Tuscany
Winner of various awards as one of the best Italian Restaurants in Puerto Rico. Serves meals from the north of Italy, in an elegant ambient. Located on the ground floor next to the pool. Open Mon-Sat dinner only (6pm-11pm).
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (807)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
807 out of 807
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
Pavlas
Business
Mississauga, Ontario
Jan 16, 2013

The Best!

The stay at this hotel was awesome. Excellent location, their staff is the best! Lot of good restaurants around but expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
Jonathan S.
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 3, 2009

Great hotel. Was so worth the price.

Walked into the hotel room and was pleasantly surprised that I had an ocean view as well as a city view. Original room just said a city view. Was fantastic. Great room, great view. Had room service a couple of times and they were quick and food was good. Tried out the casino, but didn't win anything. They do provide $5 coupons that if you play the tables, you use the coupons. You bet $5 and the coupon/voucher doubles your bet to make it $10. Only for the tables though. They have a great fitness center too, which is also the spa. I had a massage. So relaxing. Pool is beautiful, but a little more family oriented so if you're not in that mood and want a quieter pool experience I suggest waiting til later at night or just go to the beach. The hotel provides lounge chairs for the beach for free. Overall very happy with my hotel choice. Location was great too...in the middle of everything and very convenient to just walk to restaurants, stores and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Harlingen Texas
Oct 28, 2009

Fantastic

I am very happy with the service at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Ormond Beach, FL
Oct 27, 2009

Wonderful Resort Hotel

This was a beautiful resort hotel that was exactly like all the online descriptions. The rooms were beautiful, clean and well appointed. Rooms came with small coffee pot, small refrigerator, balcony (two chairs and a table), safe and bathrobes. Beautiful pool deck with plenty of chaises and two pool bars. Beach is lovely and well staffed with servers and attendants to set up your lounge chair and umbrella. Pool was a lot of fun for my two kids and has fountains, water slide and activity center with various things going on throughout the day. Only drawback is both pools are shallow, but that didn't really seem to be a problem for my 8 and 11 year olds. Hotel was in a great location to lots of local restaurants, many are mentioned in other reviews. We did not eat at any of the hotel restaurants because we were warned they were pricey. Starbucks, Hagaan Daz across the street, and Walgreens is just down the block to the right. Very convenient to bring snacks, drinks and breakfast items back to the room. Several American fast food restaurants within walking distance (important with kids). Easy to take the bus into Old San Juan. Kiosk off the lobby where you can print your boarding passes for your return flight and avoid the hassle at the airport. Did not visit the casino, or partake in the live music in the lobby, but it looked nice. Seems like we visited during the off season, because the hotel was not very crowded. With the exception of Saturday afternoon, many times there were only a handful of people around the pool area. Several reviews we read said the rooms were thin and guests could hear a lot of noise. This was not a problem we encountered at all. I would definately return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of local restaurants within walking distance. With young kids we were looking for casual and inexpensive.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Brockton
Oct 22, 2009

Clean, Comfortable,Quiet rooms.

Used as a lay over for a cruise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
Sister Sheryl
Cambria Heights, New York
Oct 14, 2009

Fantastic girls weekend getaway!!

Great central location. Near local resturants for inexpensive Spanish Food. Able to take the local bus to Old San Juan. The Casino was great everyone was so nice friendly at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
New York
Oct 6, 2009

Fantastic Hotel!

This was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. We switched from the Intercontinental because their pool was closed and I'm so glad we did. We went with another couple for my 30th birthday and I really can't say enough about how friendly and accomodating the staff was! They even sent up a gift basket of wine and cheese for my birthday (Thank you [...]!)! And they upgraded us (for a minimal fee) to the most fabulous ocean view room! The view from the room was spectacular, the beds are super comfy and the balcony was great too. The pool was worth the extra expense for this hotel over the Intercontinetal- great hot tub and a pool bar too! The beach was clean and not very crowded and the staff serve you drinks while you sunbathe. By far the best choice for a hotel in PR and I highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try out Danny's Pizza and Yerba Buena across the street. Also, don't forget the happy hour at the pool and the beach.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
NH
Oct 6, 2009

honeymoon holiday

We spent a few days here before we left on a cruise. The hotel was clean, the food was good, the casino was fun. Beach attendants got our chairs and set up an umbrella for my easily burned husband. Area was decent. Could walk to surrounding hotels, restaurants and bars. About a 10-15 min cab ride to Old San Jaun. Would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
C/J
Dallas, Texas
Oct 3, 2009

September 2009 Trip to Puerto Rico

Prior to our trip at the end of September,we researched Puerto Rico and the reviews of other fellow travelers. We found the recommendation for the Marriott Stellaris Casino Resort to be accurate and a wonderful place to stay. The staff was helpful, friendly, receptive and even helped us find more economical ways to enjoy their city. Our Pool/ Ocean View room was absolutely wondeful and the service was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
Hecanaya
Chicago, il
Sep 30, 2009

Best hotel ever!!!

Great hotel. Great location. Great staff. Great pool. Great ocean view. Great beach. This is my 2nd time at this hotel. The casino is great. I didn't win much but it was a great time. Don't think twice about it. Come here !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to walgreens and buy your self some snacks and drinks. Also don't cab it to old San Juan take the bus. The cab costs 15 bucks plus tip and the bus is a 75 cents.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
North Alabama
Sep 29, 2009

"Fall Getaway"

This was our first time to San Juan and the resort was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the location was great, additional eating places were within walking distance. We rented a car and the help that we received from the staff helped with navigating around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top