$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,230 reviews
Best Hotel in San Juan

This was an excellent hotel!! My family loved this hotel. The food was great, the atmosphere was... See full review

  • JCMCAS
  • Jul 8, 2014
Great Hotel and location, Friendly staff

My Boyfriend and I arrived at the Marriott before check-in and the staff stored our luggage and... See full review

  • Kristin World Traveler
  • Jun 18, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1230)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
1230 out of 1230
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vacation lovers
metropolitan NY
Jan 10, 2011

Great vacation experience

This hotel was wonderful, clean and on a terrific beach. The people couldn't be nicer. We loved the neighborhood, very upscale, and had a choice of great resturants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate breakfast every morning at Pinky's, a small cafe that had the freshest food. For dinner, we went twice to Via Appia. Really friendly staff and terrific Italian food at a reasonable prince. The locals love this place.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovebeaches
Kansas City, MO
Jan 1, 2011

A wonderful experience

The hotel was clean and beautifully decorated (Christmas holidays). What I really enjoyed was the quietness of the room. We stayed five nights and never heard noises from the hallway (we were in a corner room just off the elevators) nor from the room above us. To be able to walk right out on the beach the price was great - comparable to US prices without the great view. Alot of security on the beach and entrance so you felt safe at all times. My husband and daughter were winners in the casino!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan was a short cab ride ($13-$14) Lots of nice resturants and shopping in old San Juan. Within walking distances of the hotel was a variety of resturants and higher end shopping.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovebeaches
Kansas City, MO
Jan 1, 2011

A wonderful experience

The hotel was clean and beautifully decorated (Christmas holidays). What I really enjoyed was the quietness of the room. We stayed five nights and never heard noises from the hallway (we were in a corner room just off the elevators) nor from the room above us. To be able to walk right out on the beach the price was great - comparable to US prices without the great view. Alot of security on the beach and entrance so you felt safe at all times. My husband and daughter were winners in the casino!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan was a short cab ride ($13-$14) Lots of nice resturants and shopping in old San Juan. Within walking distances of the hotel was a variety of resturants and higher end shopping.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodlands, TX
Dec 29, 2010

Nice place before and after cruise

Hotel rooms were OK. Bellman staff was excellent and very helpful. Location good with a lot of surrounding restaurants. Beach front was great as we all enjoyed the waves. Hot tub was not working the one day we were there but overall great facilities and would definitely return. We stayed befeore and after a cruise with friends and would like to return just to stay at this hotel in San Juan as we didn't get a chance to do everything we wanted in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodlands, TX
Dec 29, 2010

Nice place before and after cruise

Hotel rooms were OK. Bellman staff was excellent and very helpful. Location good with a lot of surrounding restaurants. Beach front was great as we all enjoyed the waves. Hot tub was not working the one day we were there but overall great facilities and would definitely return. We stayed befeore and after a cruise with friends and would like to return just to stay at this hotel in San Juan as we didn't get a chance to do everything we wanted in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bklyn Traveler
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 24, 2010

Had a Great Stay

My partner and I went to San Juan for our annual trip away from the cold, to recharge and get ready for the relentless winter months. We usually stay at the Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino. And we usually stay in the Cabana wing because the rooms are a bit more generous and the views all face the pool and ocean. This year we got an upgrade to a corner room in the tower building and loved it. The room had two terraces, one facing the ocean and the other facing the pool. When both doors were opened the cross breeze was fantastic! The room is oddly shaped, but due to the two terraces, with basically two walls of windows, the room felt more spacious than it really was. Housekeeping services were great and service was prompt. When we arrived, the windows were dirty to the point that the views were obstructed and the bathtub drain was running slow. After I called "At Your Service", the issues were taken care of promptly. The only thing I had a concern about was the food in the Executive Lounge, to which we had access because I am a Gold Marriott Rewards member. The food was bland and relatively tasteless, considering how flavorful Puerto Rican food is in general. Marriott needs to step it up in this area. Other than that, the property seems to be well kept. It was apparently recently painted and the elevator interiors refinished. The blue accent lights on the exterior of the Cabana wing and in the lobby bar area add panache to the property at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The fitness center was clean and well furnished. I felt safe the entire time I was there and would definitely go back and recommend the property to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus to Old San Juan, it only costs 75 cents versus $10 to $12 for a taxi. But be prepared to wait for a long time if you just missed a bus. They sometimes take up to 40 minutes to arrive!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bklyn Traveler
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 24, 2010

Had a Great Stay

My partner and I went to San Juan for our annual trip away from the cold, to recharge and get ready for the relentless winter months. We usually stay at the Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino. And we usually stay in the Cabana wing because the rooms are a bit more generous and the views all face the pool and ocean. This year we got an upgrade to a corner room in the tower building and loved it. The room had two terraces, one facing the ocean and the other facing the pool. When both doors were opened the cross breeze was fantastic! The room is oddly shaped, but due to the two terraces, with basically two walls of windows, the room felt more spacious than it really was. Housekeeping services were great and service was prompt. When we arrived, the windows were dirty to the point that the views were obstructed and the bathtub drain was running slow. After I called "At Your Service", the issues were taken care of promptly. The only thing I had a concern about was the food in the Executive Lounge, to which we had access because I am a Gold Marriott Rewards member. The food was bland and relatively tasteless, considering how flavorful Puerto Rican food is in general. Marriott needs to step it up in this area. Other than that, the property seems to be well kept. It was apparently recently painted and the elevator interiors refinished. The blue accent lights on the exterior of the Cabana wing and in the lobby bar area add panache to the property at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The fitness center was clean and well furnished. I felt safe the entire time I was there and would definitely go back and recommend the property to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus to Old San Juan, it only costs 75 cents versus $10 to $12 for a taxi. But be prepared to wait for a long time if you just missed a bus. They sometimes take up to 40 minutes to arrive!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sadwest
San Francisco
Dec 23, 2010

ok

The location was great and it was only a $15 cab ride to Old San Juan. Rooms were nice, spacious and clean. However I did find the staff rude, ESPECIALLY the Hertz rental car associate. Staff wasn't very welcoming but luckily there is plenty to see and do and you can avoid having to deal with them too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sadwest
San Francisco
Dec 23, 2010

ok

The location was great and it was only a $15 cab ride to Old San Juan. Rooms were nice, spacious and clean. However I did find the staff rude, ESPECIALLY the Hertz rental car associate. Staff wasn't very welcoming but luckily there is plenty to see and do and you can avoid having to deal with them too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
halcyon
Boston, MA
Dec 21, 2010

Nice hotel

very nice hotel. Great location, nice staff, very clean room. Nice food from Lavista. The reason for 4 stars is that the schedule of Lavista is kind of confusing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top