$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,230 reviews
Best Hotel in San Juan

This was an excellent hotel!! My family loved this hotel. The food was great, the atmosphere was... See full review

  • JCMCAS
  • Jul 8, 2014
Great Hotel and location, Friendly staff

My Boyfriend and I arrived at the Marriott before check-in and the staff stored our luggage and... See full review

  • Kristin World Traveler
  • Jun 18, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1230)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
1230 out of 1230
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Mar 2, 2011

Nice hotel in a great location

We stayed there for 3 nights over a weekend. We had a great view of the ocean, from the 15th floor. Room was not very big, and bathroom was small, but everything we wanted was there in the room. Very clean, well kept. Nice balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. Small mini frige was helpful, and they gave complimentary 2 bottles of water each day. Also free wi-fi access. Concierge was very helpful, gave great ideas for restaurants. Pool area was nice, beach was also well kept. Good amt of security to make you feel safe (but not over bearing). Beach is perhaps not as nice as other parts of PR, but still good (better than what we saw in St. Thomas). Fitness center quite nice; not too big but has a lot of treadmills and exercise equipment, better than most hotel gyms I have seen (in this hotel range). 24 hour access is great. Locker room is small, but works ok. The couples massage we got was ok; they could be better about giving more pressure. Also the spa area was relatively loud, but massage room itself was very quiet. The price for a couples massage also was quite reasonable, and it included wine and cheese brought to your hotel room. Overall, an excellent hotel, and we got a great deal with buffet breakfast included. The location also was excellent; convenient to a lot of interesting restaurants, and easy taxi ride to Old San Juan. Would recommend it definitely, and would be willing to go back later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a good recommendation for dinner in Old San Juan. We really enjoyed Sophias (Italian restaurant).

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Mar 2, 2011

Nice hotel in a great location

We stayed there for 3 nights over a weekend. We had a great view of the ocean, from the 15th floor. Room was not very big, and bathroom was small, but everything we wanted was there in the room. Very clean, well kept. Nice balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. Small mini frige was helpful, and they gave complimentary 2 bottles of water each day. Also free wi-fi access. Concierge was very helpful, gave great ideas for restaurants. Pool area was nice, beach was also well kept. Good amt of security to make you feel safe (but not over bearing). Beach is perhaps not as nice as other parts of PR, but still good (better than what we saw in St. Thomas). Fitness center quite nice; not too big but has a lot of treadmills and exercise equipment, better than most hotel gyms I have seen (in this hotel range). 24 hour access is great. Locker room is small, but works ok. The couples massage we got was ok; they could be better about giving more pressure. Also the spa area was relatively loud, but massage room itself was very quiet. The price for a couples massage also was quite reasonable, and it included wine and cheese brought to your hotel room. Overall, an excellent hotel, and we got a great deal with buffet breakfast included. The location also was excellent; convenient to a lot of interesting restaurants, and easy taxi ride to Old San Juan. Would recommend it definitely, and would be willing to go back later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a good recommendation for dinner in Old San Juan. We really enjoyed Sophias (Italian restaurant).

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terry R.
Union, NJ
Feb 22, 2011

Escape from Winter

Our goal of escaping from the winter weather, to sit in the sun and relax, were more than realized. We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of the friendly and courteous staff of this beautiful resort. From check-in to departure, the staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was convenient, a short cab ride from the airport or to restaurants and shops in Old San Juan. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terry R.
Union, NJ
Feb 22, 2011

Escape from Winter

Our goal of escaping from the winter weather, to sit in the sun and relax, were more than realized. We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of the friendly and courteous staff of this beautiful resort. From check-in to departure, the staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was convenient, a short cab ride from the airport or to restaurants and shops in Old San Juan. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glen Bernie, MD
Feb 10, 2011

A Great Mid Winter Getaway

The hotel was very well apointed and easy to navigate. We made use of the restaurants, pools, pool bars, beach, and casino. We got exactly what we requested in accommodations- partial city/ocean view with a king. very nice with a balcony with chairs to sit and enjoy the views. The only negative was the table games in the casino did get into full swing until 8 PM- true everywhere in PR. Good access to shops and resturants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good choices for local dining all within a short walk.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glen Bernie, MD
Feb 10, 2011

A Great Mid Winter Getaway

The hotel was very well apointed and easy to navigate. We made use of the restaurants, pools, pool bars, beach, and casino. We got exactly what we requested in accommodations- partial city/ocean view with a king. very nice with a balcony with chairs to sit and enjoy the views. The only negative was the table games in the casino did get into full swing until 8 PM- true everywhere in PR. Good access to shops and resturants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good choices for local dining all within a short walk.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 17, 2011

Nice Vacation

Hotel is great, centrally located to many very good restaurants that you can walk to. Beach is very nice and there are plenty of chairs and umbrellas, didn't need to get up at sunrise to get a chair. Rooms were immaculate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 17, 2011

Nice Vacation

Hotel is great, centrally located to many very good restaurants that you can walk to. Beach is very nice and there are plenty of chairs and umbrellas, didn't need to get up at sunrise to get a chair. Rooms were immaculate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ssfmg
Ottawa, ON
Jan 13, 2011

Better than expected!

The hotel was excellent! When we disembarked from our cruise, they made 1 of our 2 rooms available immediately for us so that we could change and use the facilities. The pools are perfect for children since they include a shallow one for the little kids and a water slide into a large pool for the older ones. They also had a swim up bar for the adults while playing with the kids in the water! Everyone was happy! The beach was amazing. No rocks or stones. Perfect for everyone in the family. Beautiful place all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Always negotiate for your taxi in advance! Prices can vary...

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ssfmg
Ottawa, ON
Jan 13, 2011

Better than expected!

The hotel was excellent! When we disembarked from our cruise, they made 1 of our 2 rooms available immediately for us so that we could change and use the facilities. The pools are perfect for children since they include a shallow one for the little kids and a water slide into a large pool for the older ones. They also had a swim up bar for the adults while playing with the kids in the water! Everyone was happy! The beach was amazing. No rocks or stones. Perfect for everyone in the family. Beautiful place all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Always negotiate for your taxi in advance! Prices can vary...

Back to menu Return to top