$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,233 reviews
Perfect getaway for families and couples

Bar none the best hotel we have stayed in. Best service and the staff was wonderful. See full review

  • Big Fig
  • Jul 20, 2014
Awesome Trip!!

I loved this hotel!! Couldn't have picked a better place for me and my boyfriend for nice... See full review

  • Madai
  • Jul 16, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1233)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
1233 out of 1233
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Older New Yorker
New York, NY
Feb 2, 2013

great mini vacation

I arrived on a Saturday afternoon around 2PM and had a soda at the bar while waiting for my room. They had my room ready for me only about a half hour later, which was nice since check-in isn't until 4PM. The hotel lobby bar is great, I used the small gym and sauna, and had a very good late night room service hamburger one night. It's great being right on the beach and my "partial view" room was really a great sideways view of the ocean. Close to a lot of eating places too. There was a sound outside my room every 20 minutes or so sounding like an ice machine dropping ice, but I use ear plugs every night always, and didn't hear it when I slept. My second stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't expect great Italian food at the Italian restaurant that is adjacent to the (good) Mexican restaurant down the street.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 29, 2011

Beautiful beach vacation

The room also had a balcony and overlooked the ocean. First thing in the morning I would throw open the curtains and open the slider so I could hear the crashing waves. The beach at the hotel is perfect for sunning and the staff set up umbrellas and chairs for comfortable lounging. The buffet breakfast, offered everyday, had a variety of choices including lots of fresh fruit and the coffee was delicious. A tour of the rain forest could be arranged from a desk in the hotel and the bus stop for the bus to Old San Juan was a very short walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 29, 2011

Beautiful beach vacation

The room also had a balcony and overlooked the ocean. First thing in the morning I would throw open the curtains and open the slider so I could hear the crashing waves. The beach at the hotel is perfect for sunning and the staff set up umbrellas and chairs for comfortable lounging. The buffet breakfast, offered everyday, had a variety of choices including lots of fresh fruit and the coffee was delicious. A tour of the rain forest could be arranged from a desk in the hotel and the bus stop for the bus to Old San Juan was a very short walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Mar 27, 2011

Good Getaway

A getaway to enjoy the sun and beach and funny little umbrella drinks !!! Resort was very nice...staff was helpful amd facilities were as advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Pamela's Caribbean....Dining on the Beach

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, Maryland
Mar 27, 2011

The Marriott was the Best!

I went to Puerto Rico to relax, and the Marriott was the perfect place. It was centrally located, had many amenities, the room was wonderful, and the staff was very accomodating. I could not have asked for a better place to stay. The hotel had many activities to choose from and also provided a quiet, very comfortable environment for those who chose just to relax. The environment is beautiful and evey spot I visited in the hotel was tastefully decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel had great entertainment, was close to many restaurants but had good restaurants in the hotel, and there was lots of shopping nearby. The pools and beach on the premises were excellent and it was easy to book tours. The Marriott is the place to stay in Puerto Rico.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, Maryland
Mar 27, 2011

The Marriott was the Best!

I went to Puerto Rico to relax, and the Marriott was the perfect place. It was centrally located, had many amenities, the room was wonderful, and the staff was very accomodating. I could not have asked for a better place to stay. The hotel had many activities to choose from and also provided a quiet, very comfortable environment for those who chose just to relax. The environment is beautiful and evey spot I visited in the hotel was tastefully decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel had great entertainment, was close to many restaurants but had good restaurants in the hotel, and there was lots of shopping nearby. The pools and beach on the premises were excellent and it was easy to book tours. The Marriott is the place to stay in Puerto Rico.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Mar 27, 2011

Good Getaway

A getaway to enjoy the sun and beach and funny little umbrella drinks !!! Resort was very nice...staff was helpful amd facilities were as advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Pamela's Caribbean....Dining on the Beach

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Mar 26, 2011

good hotel and location

Great hotel, we were upgraded to ocean view room for free. Free breakfast was great but nothing special. Beach right at the back of the hotel with free umbrella and seating. Awesome location in Condado, easy to walk anywhere. Wish parking was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Mar 26, 2011

good hotel and location

Great hotel, we were upgraded to ocean view room for free. Free breakfast was great but nothing special. Beach right at the back of the hotel with free umbrella and seating. Awesome location in Condado, easy to walk anywhere. Wish parking was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alabama
Mar 20, 2011

Very nice experience

This was our second stay at this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a broken curtain, and they had it fixed within minutes. Cleanliness was very good. Nice beach and swimming pool area. The work-out facility is pretty comprehensive for a hotel -- treadmills, elliptic trainers, and bikes, as well a a nice selection of weight machines and barbells. Again, well-maintained and very clean. There is also a spinning/zumba club across the street which was nice, and another fitness club a block or so down. We didn't go there, but it looked promising. The hotel restaurants were good. The Coffee Merchant had good coffee, pastries, and sandwiches for lunch. It closes mid-afternoon. But there is a Starbucks across the street. Additionally, there are a number of good restaurants very nearby. Miro (seafood), Mhan Chung (Indonesian), and Bodegas Compostela (Spanish, tapas) were stand outs. We went on the rainforest excursion, which was lots of fun. We did the longer tour which included a walk to a waterfalls. Old San Juan is not far away, but we didn't go on this trip. We did go to Plaza las Americas, a mall about $15 taxi fare away, which had a nice selection of stores. We didn't have a lot of luck in the casino on either visit, but we're not big gamblers. In summary, we enjoyed our stay as much the second time as the first. In terms of cleanliness, facilities, and location, it is an excellent place to get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alabama
Mar 20, 2011

Very nice experience

This was our second stay at this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a broken curtain, and they had it fixed within minutes. Cleanliness was very good. Nice beach and swimming pool area. The work-out facility is pretty comprehensive for a hotel -- treadmills, elliptic trainers, and bikes, as well a a nice selection of weight machines and barbells. Again, well-maintained and very clean. There is also a spinning/zumba club across the street which was nice, and another fitness club a block or so down. We didn't go there, but it looked promising. The hotel restaurants were good. The Coffee Merchant had good coffee, pastries, and sandwiches for lunch. It closes mid-afternoon. But there is a Starbucks across the street. Additionally, there are a number of good restaurants very nearby. Miro (seafood), Mhan Chung (Indonesian), and Bodegas Compostela (Spanish, tapas) were stand outs. We went on the rainforest excursion, which was lots of fun. We did the longer tour which included a walk to a waterfalls. Old San Juan is not far away, but we didn't go on this trip. We did go to Plaza las Americas, a mall about $15 taxi fare away, which had a nice selection of stores. We didn't have a lot of luck in the casino on either visit, but we're not big gamblers. In summary, we enjoyed our stay as much the second time as the first. In terms of cleanliness, facilities, and location, it is an excellent place to get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top