$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
837 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.
Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (837)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
837 out of 837
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Banco Popular
Business
New York, NY
Jun 9, 2010

Good location but a bit outdated

My stay at the Marriot Stellaris and Casino was actually quite enjoyable. I went with three friends of mine for a long weekend getaway, and I have few complaints. The hotel was literally right on the beach, with access to it from the ground floor. I personally liked that the entrance to the beach/pool area was seperate from the lobby, lounge, and dining areas, so you're not seeing people walk by in swimsuits when you're trying to eat or relax. The hotel provides beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels, for your convenience, and the pool bar makes great drinks without overpricing. The room was always cleaned in a timely fashion, but I would say I would've preferred certain things like an ipod-dock, dvd player, etc. though I wasnt lost without it. The staff was very helpful from the bellhop to the concierge, to the cleaning ladies, to those in the check out counter; you could literally ask anyone for information and get an answer, especially on great places to eat and party. Taxi cost may be an issue depending on where you are going, but you can take the bus many places also, and thats only 75 cents and stops right outside the hotel! But if you choose to rent a car, the best place to do so is a place called Charlies thats right across the street from the hotel...they're much cheaper than all the other rental places. Overall, it was a great trip, and I'd definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find alot of great puerto rican food right in the area. One of my favorite places to frequent was Orozco that's literally about 2 blocks away, and Cafe De Angel, which is about 4 blocks. But you can walk up down and all around to find good local food. There's also your asian, amaerican, and italian faire if you get tired of spanish food, but I didnt! If you're like me and addicted to starbucks, you'll love that there is one right across the street from the hotel. Warning: drinks are NOT watered down at all...anywhere...so consume with caution.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jun 8, 2010

Fantastic getaway

Supper location of the hotel with direct exit to the beach. Nice big room, with comfortable bed, br supper, TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Jun 8, 2010

Awesome resort with good service

The resort was very clean and the rooms were modern with great decor. Our room faced the pool and then the beach so we loved sitting in the balcony and enjoying the view. The casino is good entertainment also. The staff was helpful and was very accommodating of our early check-in and late check-out requests. We would stay at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rick & Jasmine
Business
Orlando, FL
Jun 8, 2010

Excelent for the weatlhy

WOW, everything is so expensive here. I guess that's why it's full of wealthy older crowds. The least expensive thing to do is hang out in the pool area. (You are paying for it whether you use it or not). It is awesome whether you like the white sandy private hotel clean beach or excelent hotel pool. The hotel claims to be a resort but it's not. It's best to eat outside of the hotel restaurants, there are plenty of restaurants on Ashford Ave. Good dance music every night in the lobby and very good casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to many of the local restaurants especially "The Latin Star". Good local food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Jun 8, 2010

Has it All

My young adult (19) son and I traveled to Puerto Rico for the first time. Our usual destination is Mexico (Cozumel or Cancun) so PR was totally new to us. Overall this was a wonderful trip and the Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino is a great place to stay when in San Juan (Condado area.) We had one of the basic rooms and it was fantastic - the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! My son put it aptly when he said he "melted" into his bed! The housekeeping staff is the best and the front desk staff is helpful as well. One in particular ([...]) went out of her way to offer us tips on places to go and how to get there. The ease of obtaining beach chairs and umbrellas is another plus. The beach staff is great! One negative is the customer service of some of the servers, but actually we noticed this in most of the food-service staff throughout Puerto Rico (totally opposite of our experiences in Mexico and USA.) Many of the restaurants add automatic gratuity and it is obvious in the lack of service and/or overall friendliness of most of the servers we came in contact with throughout the island, so this "negative" is not unique to the Marriott wait-staff. For transportation, the city bus service is the way to go if you are going from the hotel to Old San Juan. Even if you get on the wrong bus (as we did!) it is not difficult to get off and get back on the correct one. The cost ranges from .50 to .75 depending(I think) upon which bus route you use. Also, if you are waiting on the bus, oftentimes a cabbie will stop and offer everyone at the bus stop a ride together for about $2 each person. (The normal cab fee from the Mariott into Old San Juan is about $14 if you get it from the hotel, but we noticed that if you hail it from the the street, the price was usually $12.) The casino is nice and is just off the front lobby. We are not big gamblers, so we had fun just playing the penny slots!Overall, the Marriott is a great place to stay and I would DEFINITELY stay there again if we travel back to PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best restaurant for lunch we found to be Colombo which is about 3 blocks down on the opposite side of the street (Avenida Ashford) from the Marriott. They serve a HUGE variety of food and everything we ate was great. Food is very expensive in PR compared to our other travels but we found Colombo to be slightly more reasonable and the food to be fantastic! Sit on the balcony and enjoy the breeze. For breakfast, try the Latin Star (across the street and down about 1 block from the Mariott.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unique Monique
Business
Atlanta GA
Jun 7, 2010

Would stay again

The Hotel is in a great location with plenty of restaurants in walking distance. The beach was beautiul, but be careful the waves were king of rough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jun 7, 2010

Hotel review

Hotel staff was very helpful and nice. Beach with umbrellas and chairs are right out the back door as well as a pool. The location is perfect. Everything we asked for the staff delivered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you plan on touring the island daily rent a car. A cab ride to and from locations every day is more expensive, especially if you go out of San Juan/old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cosh
Business
Atlanta
Jun 6, 2010

DO NOT STAY IN JUNE

We did not know that June is high school prom month, the drinking age is 18.......... so you have a hotel full of drunken 18 year olds out for there school prom. According to the hotel there should be an adult in the room for them to stay, this was not the case. So we had to put up with parties in rooms,shouting in the corridors and doors slamming. They showed no respect to the dress code and the boys walked around in shorts around there buts and no shirts. I guess they were trying to look cool....... sadly they looked like jerks. The women were not much better. I wish the hotel would of stopped this. it is a nice hotel, just do not stay in June

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The fort is really cool

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 3, 2010

Excellent stay!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel staff was extremely friendly. Hotel has plenty of daily activities in the hotel or off the hotel, however if you rent a car the rain forest is totally free and a great experience, so no need to pay to go with hotel tour. Location is perfect. Directly on the beach. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There is a 2 island tour that the hotel offers to the island of cuelebra and viekes that you must do. It was one price and its an all day activity, you even get free unlimited drinks and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san juan
May 30, 2010

fun, but expensive

walked the beach drove down to Ponce visited the bacardi distillery went to the two forts

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top