$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,238 reviews
Bachelor's getaway

Close to everything .. Loved the ambiance .. Thanks for the executive suite was a nice experience See full review

  • African traveller
  • Jul 24, 2014
Perfect getaway for families and couples

Bar none the best hotel we have stayed in. Best service and the staff was wonderful. See full review

  • Big Fig
  • Jul 20, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1238)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
1238 out of 1238
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pavlas
Business
Mississauga, Ontario
Jan 16, 2013

The Best!

The stay at this hotel was awesome. Excellent location, their staff is the best! Lot of good restaurants around but expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiwi John
Houston, Texas
Apr 5, 2011

Great Stay in San Juan

Booked an [...]vacation package. It went seamlessly. Hotel check-in was quick, checkout was very efficient. Only real complaints were that the hotel parking was a little pricey, and the restaurants are expensive, but good. There are plently of restaurants just out the door of the hotel, so no problem. The beach was great, the staff were courteous and the weekend entertainment was a blast (live band playing salsa and other Latin dance music). My wife commented that there was really no need to leave the hotel/resort if you didn't want to. Thanks Marriot - it was a great weekend to celebrate our 30th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is conveniently located in the Condado district, close to restuarants. Old San Juan is a 10 minute drive away (shopping, night-life, sightseeing).

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AL/TN
Huntsville, AL
Apr 5, 2011

Great place to stay - Wonderful views

Easy ride from the airport - $15 cab ride. Very nice people at check-in, everyone is friendly and courteous, great pool and beach. Casino personnel friendly but slots and tables are tight. Housekeeping was very good. Our room overlooked the pool and the beach. View all the way to Old San Juan area along the coast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a two minute walk from the hotel were several restaurants of all types with inside and outside dining. Very nice change of pace even though the restaurants at the hotel were good also.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiwi John
Houston, Texas
Apr 5, 2011

Great Stay in San Juan

Booked an [...]vacation package. It went seamlessly. Hotel check-in was quick, checkout was very efficient. Only real complaints were that the hotel parking was a little pricey, and the restaurants are expensive, but good. There are plently of restaurants just out the door of the hotel, so no problem. The beach was great, the staff were courteous and the weekend entertainment was a blast (live band playing salsa and other Latin dance music). My wife commented that there was really no need to leave the hotel/resort if you didn't want to. Thanks Marriot - it was a great weekend to celebrate our 30th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is conveniently located in the Condado district, close to restuarants. Old San Juan is a 10 minute drive away (shopping, night-life, sightseeing).

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Delaware
Apr 4, 2011

Overall Decent Place

Overall the service was very good and everyone was very friendly. The beach and pool were beautiful. View from the room was excellent. The lobby area and room were ok. They are about to update the entire lobby starting in June, so I would expect it will get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Essexville, Michigan
Apr 4, 2011

Lovely beach and location

The Marriott Stellaris Casino is in a great location. We went to Old San Juan daily for breakfast at the LaBombleana (spelling) WONDERFUL everyone should go there at least once. Try the Spanish/Danish. We also went to dinner at the Aquaviva in Old San Juan. The food and service were great and the food was exceptional. The bottled water was a little expensive $8.00. Beer was cheaper... We went to the Barcardi Rum Factory - FREE tours and drinks. Very nice tour and gift shop. We d to spend the day on the East Wind Catamaran snorkeling. They also served lunch and drinks. The trip was probably from 10-3. Really not enough time out on the water for $89. The snorkels were being re-used, that made me a little bit uncomfortable. The Spread Eagle gives you your own new snorkel to keep. All in all I would recommend a snorkeling trip. We went to the bio-bay electric boat tour. Our tour of the lagoon was 9:30 at night. It was a little hard to find but was worth every penny of the trip. Very educational for me as well as children. The Bio-bay trips were all booked so we did the electric boat. I think we got the better trip after all - They had a bright light and we got to see the Iguana's sleeping in the trees as well as the foliage and the fish in the water. The trip was about two hours long and illumination of the fish and the water was amazing. This is a must see, there are only five lagoons in the world that do this. We would go back to Puerto Rico again. There is just so much to do and see that we could not do everything we wanted to do in seven days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Biobay, snorkeling, cave and rainforest were about an hour from our hotel. Tranportation was included in the price of the snorkeling however, the electric boat did not have transportation to the lagoon. The hotel did provide directions to the biobay but it was about an hour away and at 9:30 at night was a little bit hard to find. It was worth the trip. I actually talked with a gal that grew up in Puerto Rico and she had suggested going on the internet under Rachel Ray in Puerto Rico and that is where I got the names of the restaurants. If you read the blogs from travelers it gives you a feel of available things to do as well as what they experienced at there hotel. Depending on what you want to do is where you should stay. Some hotels are really nice however, they do not have a really nice beach. The Marriott was beautiful and had a beautiful beach but some of the activities we did were about an hour away. Once you explore the area they are easy to find and expressway all the way. We felt safe and never in any danger. Most of the people spoke English and were very nice. Be careful cause there is limited parking in Old San Juan and many other areas. Attached to our hotel there was parking but it was not free. I didn't see any free parking.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Essexville, Michigan
Apr 4, 2011

Lovely beach and location

The Marriott Stellaris Casino is in a great location. We went to Old San Juan daily for breakfast at the LaBombleana (spelling) WONDERFUL everyone should go there at least once. Try the Spanish/Danish. We also went to dinner at the Aquaviva in Old San Juan. The food and service were great and the food was exceptional. The bottled water was a little expensive $8.00. Beer was cheaper... We went to the Barcardi Rum Factory - FREE tours and drinks. Very nice tour and gift shop. We d to spend the day on the East Wind Catamaran snorkeling. They also served lunch and drinks. The trip was probably from 10-3. Really not enough time out on the water for $89. The snorkels were being re-used, that made me a little bit uncomfortable. The Spread Eagle gives you your own new snorkel to keep. All in all I would recommend a snorkeling trip. We went to the bio-bay electric boat tour. Our tour of the lagoon was 9:30 at night. It was a little hard to find but was worth every penny of the trip. Very educational for me as well as children. The Bio-bay trips were all booked so we did the electric boat. I think we got the better trip after all - They had a bright light and we got to see the Iguana's sleeping in the trees as well as the foliage and the fish in the water. The trip was about two hours long and illumination of the fish and the water was amazing. This is a must see, there are only five lagoons in the world that do this. We would go back to Puerto Rico again. There is just so much to do and see that we could not do everything we wanted to do in seven days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Biobay, snorkeling, cave and rainforest were about an hour from our hotel. Tranportation was included in the price of the snorkeling however, the electric boat did not have transportation to the lagoon. The hotel did provide directions to the biobay but it was about an hour away and at 9:30 at night was a little bit hard to find. It was worth the trip. I actually talked with a gal that grew up in Puerto Rico and she had suggested going on the internet under Rachel Ray in Puerto Rico and that is where I got the names of the restaurants. If you read the blogs from travelers it gives you a feel of available things to do as well as what they experienced at there hotel. Depending on what you want to do is where you should stay. Some hotels are really nice however, they do not have a really nice beach. The Marriott was beautiful and had a beautiful beach but some of the activities we did were about an hour away. Once you explore the area they are easy to find and expressway all the way. We felt safe and never in any danger. Most of the people spoke English and were very nice. Be careful cause there is limited parking in Old San Juan and many other areas. Attached to our hotel there was parking but it was not free. I didn't see any free parking.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Delaware
Apr 4, 2011

Overall Decent Place

Overall the service was very good and everyone was very friendly. The beach and pool were beautiful. View from the room was excellent. The lobby area and room were ok. They are about to update the entire lobby starting in June, so I would expect it will get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gerard aka Justin "Just in case"
Jersey Shore . Neptune NJ.
Apr 4, 2011

highly recommended. great locals

The services were great! The staff was very accomadating. The bartender Lucy was the best at what she does.Old San Juan has alot to offer with it's shops and authentic foods.The locals are friendly and love good music and dancing.Keep up the good work Marriot!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

experience the local food. great taste and not too expensive.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Daytona Beach, Fl
Apr 1, 2011

Nice place to stay..good location

We enjoyed the ocean beach and the casino!!!! The food was very good in the La Vista restaurant and we would highly recommend it.. We really liked Puerto Rico and would definitely come back. The hotel was close to the airport and convenient to Old San Juan..a nice get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book some of the recreation attractions ahead of your trip... as they become booked up quickly. We were disappointed that some of the activities we wanted to do were already booked up before we arrived....

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Daytona Beach, Fl
Apr 1, 2011

Nice place to stay..good location

We enjoyed the ocean beach and the casino!!!! The food was very good in the La Vista restaurant and we would highly recommend it.. We really liked Puerto Rico and would definitely come back. The hotel was close to the airport and convenient to Old San Juan..a nice get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book some of the recreation attractions ahead of your trip... as they become booked up quickly. We were disappointed that some of the activities we wanted to do were already booked up before we arrived....

Back to menu Return to top