$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
944 out of 944
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pavlas
Business
Mississauga, Ontario
Jan 16, 2013

The Best!

The stay at this hotel was awesome. Excellent location, their staff is the best! Lot of good restaurants around but expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vacation lovers
Business
metropolitan NY
Jan 10, 2011

Great vacation experience

This hotel was wonderful, clean and on a terrific beach. The people couldn't be nicer. We loved the neighborhood, very upscale, and had a choice of great resturants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate breakfast every morning at Pinky's, a small cafe that had the freshest food. For dinner, we went twice to Via Appia. Really friendly staff and terrific Italian food at a reasonable prince. The locals love this place.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vacation lovers
Business
metropolitan NY
Jan 10, 2011

Great vacation experience

This hotel was wonderful, clean and on a terrific beach. The people couldn't be nicer. We loved the neighborhood, very upscale, and had a choice of great resturants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate breakfast every morning at Pinky's, a small cafe that had the freshest food. For dinner, we went twice to Via Appia. Really friendly staff and terrific Italian food at a reasonable prince. The locals love this place.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovebeaches
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jan 1, 2011

A wonderful experience

The hotel was clean and beautifully decorated (Christmas holidays). What I really enjoyed was the quietness of the room. We stayed five nights and never heard noises from the hallway (we were in a corner room just off the elevators) nor from the room above us. To be able to walk right out on the beach the price was great - comparable to US prices without the great view. Alot of security on the beach and entrance so you felt safe at all times. My husband and daughter were winners in the casino!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan was a short cab ride ($13-$14) Lots of nice resturants and shopping in old San Juan. Within walking distances of the hotel was a variety of resturants and higher end shopping.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodlands, TX
Dec 29, 2010

Nice place before and after cruise

Hotel rooms were OK. Bellman staff was excellent and very helpful. Location good with a lot of surrounding restaurants. Beach front was great as we all enjoyed the waves. Hot tub was not working the one day we were there but overall great facilities and would definitely return. We stayed befeore and after a cruise with friends and would like to return just to stay at this hotel in San Juan as we didn't get a chance to do everything we wanted in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bklyn Traveler
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 24, 2010

Had a Great Stay

My partner and I went to San Juan for our annual trip away from the cold, to recharge and get ready for the relentless winter months. We usually stay at the Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino. And we usually stay in the Cabana wing because the rooms are a bit more generous and the views all face the pool and ocean. This year we got an upgrade to a corner room in the tower building and loved it. The room had two terraces, one facing the ocean and the other facing the pool. When both doors were opened the cross breeze was fantastic! The room is oddly shaped, but due to the two terraces, with basically two walls of windows, the room felt more spacious than it really was. Housekeeping services were great and service was prompt. When we arrived, the windows were dirty to the point that the views were obstructed and the bathtub drain was running slow. After I called "At Your Service", the issues were taken care of promptly. The only thing I had a concern about was the food in the Executive Lounge, to which we had access because I am a Gold Marriott Rewards member. The food was bland and relatively tasteless, considering how flavorful Puerto Rican food is in general. Marriott needs to step it up in this area. Other than that, the property seems to be well kept. It was apparently recently painted and the elevator interiors refinished. The blue accent lights on the exterior of the Cabana wing and in the lobby bar area add panache to the property at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The fitness center was clean and well furnished. I felt safe the entire time I was there and would definitely go back and recommend the property to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus to Old San Juan, it only costs 75 cents versus $10 to $12 for a taxi. But be prepared to wait for a long time if you just missed a bus. They sometimes take up to 40 minutes to arrive!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sadwest
Business
San Francisco
Dec 23, 2010

ok

The location was great and it was only a $15 cab ride to Old San Juan. Rooms were nice, spacious and clean. However I did find the staff rude, ESPECIALLY the Hertz rental car associate. Staff wasn't very welcoming but luckily there is plenty to see and do and you can avoid having to deal with them too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
halcyon
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 21, 2010

Nice hotel

very nice hotel. Great location, nice staff, very clean room. Nice food from Lavista. The reason for 4 stars is that the schedule of Lavista is kind of confusing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Woods, MI
Dec 20, 2010

Great hotel...no regrets!

Great beach location, very friendly staff and nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Meriden, CT
Dec 20, 2010

Weekend Getaway

Hotel is very clean, beds comfortable. Free in-room coffee and two small water bottles. Good location. We were there to relax so were happy to lay in the beach area or around the pool. Ocean was wild and attracted lots of local surf boarders. Also it's very windy but it's warm. Tuscany restaurant is very good. Menu is ala carte and entree's reasonable for that type restaurant. Thursday offered complete dinner with appetizer and dessert for $20. LaVista breakfast buffet was priced high for complete buffet and in addition if you wanted eggs prepared any way it was $2 additional. Restaurants are within walking distance from hotel and very good. Casino slots actually were paying if you were smart enough to quit while ahead! We've stayed there before so knew what to expect - not much changed in three years. Bar drinks are comparable to other bars/restaurants in the area We usually stay at all inclusive resorts and like that feature which is not available at the Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian, Mexican, Puerto Rican, Japanese dining, you can find it all.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison Wisconsin
Dec 16, 2010

Heaven

Very nice and has everything you need to enjoy within the resort Safe and attentive but make sure you have your incidental money had an extra charge of $200 [...].The beach was amazing and very clean make sure not to over book your excursions they can get to tire you out.Dancin and the bar at the hotel one of the classiest I saw while there.Great spot to take your honey and pamper yourselves 2 thumbs up going back in march.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

left out of the hotel and before subway (witch is a gr8 sandwich anywhere)local small grocery good prices beer liquor and groceries literally 3 min walk from the resort.

Back to menu Return to top