$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
837 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.
Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (837)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
837 out of 837
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haverhill, MA
Jul 5, 2010

Great Stay!

We stayed at the Marriott in San Juan for a wedding and the wedding was absolutely gorgeous! The staff was professional and friendly from time of check in to check out. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan is only about 15 minutes away and its amazing!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 5, 2010

Great place for vacation!

Loved our rooms and the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We came with 2 teenagers. There are a lot of restaurants within easy walking distance. It was fun trying all the different places around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlos World Traveler
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jul 2, 2010

third time around and coming back soon!!

Beautiful and clean beach. First class weekend entertaiment, great casino!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Jun 30, 2010

PR

I went down for a wedding at the hotel. I feel the staff could have been more organized with the event but overall it turned out nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Killeen, Fort Hood, Texas
Jun 26, 2010

Great family or couples getaway

My wife and I at first got some deserved rest in a peaceful and clean room. After that we enjoy the pool and the jacucy. I went down few times to the GYM and had a good workout. We travel and shop almost every day through San Juan, Carolina, Rio Piedras, Guaynabo and Ponce. For us this trip was the best vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pacari
Business
warren, ohio
Jun 24, 2010

friendly, clean, nice beach.....

beach was very nice compared to what i saw at the other hotels. it was a little noisy at times at pool area. seemed like they had a program for the locals but thats ok they were funny and very nice people. staff was very friendly always asking if you needed something. we were on the 8th floor oceanview very nice. saw two weddings at the beach during our stay. room very well maintained and clean.. we have been to many hotels in different places in the caribe.This hotel was equal to most our stays. some of the things we did with during stay was the bio-luminescent adventure. a must do, amazing.. the mini boat with snorkeling also nice , beautiful coral reefs and colorful fishes... but small boat, big ocean, although we survived. also my husband and daughters did the caving adventure. they loved it but that all i heard about was bat [*] and giant spiders lurking about, not my cup of tea... I layed on the beach had a few drinks. that's what i am talking about as a good time. overall nice vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to tijuana's best mexican food and the price is right about 3 min walk from marriott...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidoffme
Business
Long Island, NY
Jun 23, 2010

Exceeded my expectations

Upon arriving in the Condado area of San Juan, where this resort is located, we were somewhat concerned. The neighborhood is questionable and the exterior of the buildings in the area definitely put doubts about our coming week in our mind. But as soon as you enter the hotel, things start too look up. The staff is super friendly and helpful, everything is very clean, and the mix of people staying there is very pleasant. The lobby/bar area becomes a nightly party. The breakfast buffet is excellent but as a couple, it cost almost $50 including tip. The fitness center is the best I have ever seen at a hotel. The pool area is very nice and was never over crowded. The hotel is right on the beach which is a huge plus. Staff will set you up with lounge chairs and an umbrella without a wait. As for the neighborhood. It is crawling with homeless people begging for money. However there are plenty of places to eat and get a drink within walking distance and a handy Walgreens across the street. I would venture too much farther though since the neighborhood beyond that is pretty run down. There are lots of tourists and locals walking up and down the local strip of about a mile or so. It seems safe enough and there is a huge police presence. Overall location was great. Old San Juan is a must see and is less than a 10 minute drive each way. Snorkeling, rain forest, and other natural attractions are also a short ride (45 mins or so). I recommend renting a car, although parking was pricey ($16/night at hotel). Hotel also has a decent casino, open all night, although we don't gamble so I don't have much to say about that. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens across the street for groceries and just about everything else. They provide an empty mini fridge in the room. I say use it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen2010
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 21, 2010

Amazing Hotel!!!

My friend and I went to get away, and this was a perfect place to go. It had the bar, casino, two huge pools, easy access to the beach, complementary chairs and umbrellas, at check in, the staff wanted to make sure the room was perfect and ready, so we were offered complimentary drinks at the bar. The concierge was fantasic and super helpful. She was able to give us directions and recommend places to eat and visit. Very useful. There is also a kiosk in the hotel to check in and print off your boarding passes for your airline. They have all the links, for all the airlines, and it was quick and easy. The bed were SO comfortable, and the balcony overlooked the beach and had an amazing view. We were able to sit on the balcony watching the sunrise. Very close to restaurants, and to a Walgreens (which we stocked up on snacks and put them in our mini-fridge in our room)Able to walked around at night and feel safe, very well lit. Only thing is if you are taking a taxi everywhere, like we did, it can get pricy. Range $15-$35. We went to Old San Juan(range $15-20 one way), and the Bacardi Rum Distillery ($35 by taxi one way)There is a hertz rental booth in the hotel, so the last day we rented a car to travel around and go to the El Yunque Rain Forest. Definitely would go back to visit, and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across from hotel, restaurant called Miro. AMAZING crab legs and Flan. Love this place. A dinner for two, with drinks and tip about $90.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Jun 21, 2010

Easy Getaway!

Very accommodating. Staff very pleasant and eager to help. Excellent drinks at beach bar with staff attending to all your needs right on the beach! Fun dancing with local Latino music on the weekends! Casino was fun, but you have to find the right BlackJack tables if you want to play Vegas rules. Restaurants and groceries all within walking distance. Airport is less than 15 min away so very easy when departing. We will probably make it an annual trip to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

2 for 1 drinks across the street - much cheaper than lobby bar. Get your bottled water and snacks at grocery store < 2 blocks to the left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto CA
Jun 17, 2010

Lot of good and some not so good

We were out most of the time. We arrived on a rainy afternoon but there were no in door activities (except casino) We had a car. The hotel staff suggested we take a taxi to Old san Juan though we found driving to Old San Juan was very simple. Should print clearer maps for guests

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid Bombay Thai restaurant . Budha Thai is a must eat atleat one meal there place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top