$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
943 out of 943
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pink Bikini
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Summer Ending Getaway

The hotel was great.. Front desk was nice.. Housekeeping came everyday.. downside was that they came into my room while i was changing into my bathing suit after i told her to come back in 5minutes! Its ok.. thank goodness it was a woman housekeeper that walked in on me.. cause the male housekeeper walked in 2 minutes after her! Housekeeping didnt specifically do what i asked on a notepad that i left her each day with the tip money on top of it.. I stayed their for 5days and 4nights so after the first 2nights i wanted my sheets changed because i felt the sand from the beach on my sheets! Location was okay.. it was a little far from everything where u had to take the cab each time which started to get costly.. DONT DEPEND ON PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION THERE! If ur staying there most likely u need to take the 53 to get around and the 53 bus doesnt come around until 2-3hrs later cause the government wants everyone to buy a car to buy a car there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

WALGREENS OPEN 24hrs a day!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CruiseMom
Business
Bellingham, WA
Dec 12, 2010

Good location, indifferent service

The room was nice enough and the pool area was well-maintained (except that the hot tub wasn't working while we were there). The proximity to the beach was the best part of this motel stay. The bad: no shuttle from the ferry terminal. no shuttle to the airport, not enough cups or coffee for all occupants of the room (even though I paid extra), had to be asked to bring cups, glasses, enough towels. Check out time was 11 a.m. and housekeeping arrived at our door at 10 asking to clean it. Parking is $20/night if you rent a car. To go anywhere from hotel is approximately $25. Rental of a car by the agency in hotel is about 3x as expensive as elsewhere and still you have to pay to park it there. We had a handicapped room on the 5th floor which makes no sense because if a fire broke out we couldn't use the elevator. Go figure. Staff was generally quite indifferent to our inquiries and needs. The music in the lobby area was so loud you couldn't hear well. The good: They held our bags on check-in because the room wasn't ready (we arrived about 2 and check-in time is 4), the place was clean and most of the housekeeping staff we ran into in the hallway was nice. The location ON THE BEACH and the proximity to shopping and dining in the Condado district are the only things that would bring me back to his hotel. And I'd look elsewhere first. If I did book this with my disabled mother again I would insist upon a room on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful service and food at a restaurant on Ashford avenue with two white awnings.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fambase group
Business
Boston, Massachusetts.
Aug 10, 2011

Relaxing getaway.

We did a lot of activities, most of them not provided by the hotel because those were too pricy and booking through independent tourists are much cheaper. We visited El Yunque rainforest, Luquillo beach, el Morro, old San Juan, the country side mountain villages, club lasers, club brava, club the noise, and the bacaradi factory. One thing that I wish the hotel had was an all inclusive package or at least one complimentary meal because that's where most of our money went. Compared to the vacations it wasn't the best but it wasn't the worse either, it was descent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book activities through independent tourists not the hotel because it's much cheaper. For example the rainforest/Luquillo beach tour is $95 per hour for a minimum of 4hours on a private tour through the hotel while through an independent tourist we found it was only $65 per person for the whole day!

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B31.3
Business
Katy, Texas
Apr 8, 2011

Average Hotel

1. Very small room that was engulfed by the King size bed. Bed was not comfortable & lumpy & why do you need six pillows!! 2. Very small bathroom, fit for ONLY one person at a time. 3. Room had a musty smell but was clean (rugs, walls, toilet, sinks, shower etc.) & housecleaning staff did a very good job each day. 3. Beach was yucky and very small. 4. Did not eat in the hotel restaurants but the surrounding places had poor to good food (none were stellar) but VERY, VERY expensive for what you got. The service at all the food places is marginal to poor. The staffs are indifferent to the patrons. 5. The shops & stores were VERY expensive (even the Walgreens - paid $3.75 for the Wall Street Journal). 6. The surrounding city area was old & dirty with abandoned buildings rife with gang graffiti and trash. Only saw two bums / beggars. 7. Lots of police presence (even at night) which was nice. 8. Razor wire around some residences & other buildings was a bit disconcerting. 9. $15.00 dollars + $1.00 per bag for the taxi to make a couple mile drive from the airport to the hotel was astounding!! 10. Hotel staff was attentive, as were the bartenders & casino folks but the lady continuously pushing the free rum punch as you check-in was annoying. 11. The old city is not a place to go after dark. I was not scared but a bit uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try "Ropa Vieja" about a kilometer west on Ashford Street. Try the Sushi place right next door to the hotel and order the pepper tuna. Be prapared to pay handsomely at both for the portion you get.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
May 4, 2011

Convenient and comfortable

The rooms were comfortable and upgraded recently. The Italian resturant was very good especially the wine selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Old San Juan - there is a nice walk/run along the ocean that's available at the front desk.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
raleigh,nc
May 25, 2010

PR

The hotel was nice. I realized right off the bat fromthe airport that the taxi system trys to get over on the tourist. I did everything I planned on doing but it would have been great to know some spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 7, 2010

Fine Hotel

Hotel was fine. Good gym. Hallways smelled a bit musty. Helpful to have stores like Walgreens nearby and to have a Starbucks across the Street. Pool very shaded but beach has sun most all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good deli a few blocks away to pick up a nice salad.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester NY
Aug 1, 2011

aging hotel

This was our second time at this hotel. We had such a wonderful experience the first time that we were excited to return. But a few things didnt seem the same. The pool and pool bar area looked dirty. The room looked old and not as clean either. breakfast is Super expensive. Great location and PR is an amazing place but I think we will be trying another hotel next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 14, 2009

Not bad for the money

Over all, it was a nice stay. We had an ocean view room for a reasonable price, and the view was fantastic. However, be aware that when you check in (especially several hours before the normal 4pm check in time), the front desk might try to sell you an upgrade under the pretense of you being able to get the room sooner. They tried that on us; we agreed to the upgrade, and it turned out that the upgrade room would not be ready for another three hours, and we could have got what we originally booked sooner (we cancelled the upgrade after waiting for more than 3 hours, and got the originally booked room right away). Also make sure that you tip the housekeeping more than $2 a day for a 2-person room. On the first day, we left a $2 tip (for two people, one room) partly because that was all the change we had. We discovered at night that the sheets had sand in them. That never happened again after we started leaving $4 tip per day. On the other hand, the conceiage staff was very friendly and knowledgeable during the day (but in our experience, not in the late afternoon). They recommended two restaurants in Old San Juan, and both were excellent. Speaking of food, try not to eat at the hotel, especially not the room service. The hotel food wasn't bad -- your typical hotel food. But the local restaurants were so much better. You'll find many great resaurants near the hotel. Puerto Rico is a great place for vacation. We'll definitely come back, but probably will stay at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Apr 22, 2011

think before you book it...

If you do not leave your room before 9 a.m . do not expect a room service at all. The cleaning ladies simply do not care. Our room was cleaned every other day (but still we would have to call the service to get some shampoo, body balm, etc) It would be delivered at 2 a.m. Food is OK. La Vista's employees at Marriott were really nice and all over you. Casino - small place with 5-6 black jack tables and two poker tables and other playing machines. Basically nothing to choose from. The Condado area itself was nice and safe to stay at. Remember that Isla Verde is a public beach. So if you want to stay away from the local crowd stay at Condado's areas. They also have nice stores around (Cartier, LV, Gucci, etc) Old San Juan - beautiful old city that you must see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top