$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
777 out of 777
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlos World Traveler
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jul 2, 2010

third time around and coming back soon!!

Beautiful and clean beach. First class weekend entertaiment, great casino!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
PA
Jun 30, 2010

PR

I went down for a wedding at the hotel. I feel the staff could have been more organized with the event but overall it turned out nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Killeen, Fort Hood, Texas
Jun 26, 2010

Great family or couples getaway

My wife and I at first got some deserved rest in a peaceful and clean room. After that we enjoy the pool and the jacucy. I went down few times to the GYM and had a good workout. We travel and shop almost every day through San Juan, Carolina, Rio Piedras, Guaynabo and Ponce. For us this trip was the best vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pacari
Family
warren, ohio
Jun 24, 2010

friendly, clean, nice beach.....

beach was very nice compared to what i saw at the other hotels. it was a little noisy at times at pool area. seemed like they had a program for the locals but thats ok they were funny and very nice people. staff was very friendly always asking if you needed something. we were on the 8th floor oceanview very nice. saw two weddings at the beach during our stay. room very well maintained and clean.. we have been to many hotels in different places in the caribe.This hotel was equal to most our stays. some of the things we did with during stay was the bio-luminescent adventure. a must do, amazing.. the mini boat with snorkeling also nice , beautiful coral reefs and colorful fishes... but small boat, big ocean, although we survived. also my husband and daughters did the caving adventure. they loved it but that all i heard about was bat [*] and giant spiders lurking about, not my cup of tea... I layed on the beach had a few drinks. that's what i am talking about as a good time. overall nice vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to tijuana's best mexican food and the price is right about 3 min walk from marriott...

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidoffme
Couples
Long Island, NY
Jun 23, 2010

Exceeded my expectations

Upon arriving in the Condado area of San Juan, where this resort is located, we were somewhat concerned. The neighborhood is questionable and the exterior of the buildings in the area definitely put doubts about our coming week in our mind. But as soon as you enter the hotel, things start too look up. The staff is super friendly and helpful, everything is very clean, and the mix of people staying there is very pleasant. The lobby/bar area becomes a nightly party. The breakfast buffet is excellent but as a couple, it cost almost $50 including tip. The fitness center is the best I have ever seen at a hotel. The pool area is very nice and was never over crowded. The hotel is right on the beach which is a huge plus. Staff will set you up with lounge chairs and an umbrella without a wait. As for the neighborhood. It is crawling with homeless people begging for money. However there are plenty of places to eat and get a drink within walking distance and a handy Walgreens across the street. I would venture too much farther though since the neighborhood beyond that is pretty run down. There are lots of tourists and locals walking up and down the local strip of about a mile or so. It seems safe enough and there is a huge police presence. Overall location was great. Old San Juan is a must see and is less than a 10 minute drive each way. Snorkeling, rain forest, and other natural attractions are also a short ride (45 mins or so). I recommend renting a car, although parking was pricey ($16/night at hotel). Hotel also has a decent casino, open all night, although we don't gamble so I don't have much to say about that. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens across the street for groceries and just about everything else. They provide an empty mini fridge in the room. I say use it.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen2010
Couples
Columbus, OH
Jun 21, 2010

Amazing Hotel!!!

My friend and I went to get away, and this was a perfect place to go. It had the bar, casino, two huge pools, easy access to the beach, complementary chairs and umbrellas, at check in, the staff wanted to make sure the room was perfect and ready, so we were offered complimentary drinks at the bar. The concierge was fantasic and super helpful. She was able to give us directions and recommend places to eat and visit. Very useful. There is also a kiosk in the hotel to check in and print off your boarding passes for your airline. They have all the links, for all the airlines, and it was quick and easy. The bed were SO comfortable, and the balcony overlooked the beach and had an amazing view. We were able to sit on the balcony watching the sunrise. Very close to restaurants, and to a Walgreens (which we stocked up on snacks and put them in our mini-fridge in our room)Able to walked around at night and feel safe, very well lit. Only thing is if you are taking a taxi everywhere, like we did, it can get pricy. Range $15-$35. We went to Old San Juan(range $15-20 one way), and the Bacardi Rum Distillery ($35 by taxi one way)There is a hertz rental booth in the hotel, so the last day we rented a car to travel around and go to the El Yunque Rain Forest. Definitely would go back to visit, and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across from hotel, restaurant called Miro. AMAZING crab legs and Flan. Love this place. A dinner for two, with drinks and tip about $90.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Atlanta
Jun 21, 2010

Easy Getaway!

Very accommodating. Staff very pleasant and eager to help. Excellent drinks at beach bar with staff attending to all your needs right on the beach! Fun dancing with local Latino music on the weekends! Casino was fun, but you have to find the right BlackJack tables if you want to play Vegas rules. Restaurants and groceries all within walking distance. Airport is less than 15 min away so very easy when departing. We will probably make it an annual trip to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

2 for 1 drinks across the street - much cheaper than lobby bar. Get your bottled water and snacks at grocery store < 2 blocks to the left.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Palo Alto CA
Jun 17, 2010

Lot of good and some not so good

We were out most of the time. We arrived on a rainy afternoon but there were no in door activities (except casino) We had a car. The hotel staff suggested we take a taxi to Old san Juan though we found driving to Old San Juan was very simple. Should print clearer maps for guests

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid Bombay Thai restaurant . Budha Thai is a must eat atleat one meal there place

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CynthsG
Couples
Newark, DE
Jun 16, 2010

Our Five Day Stay

We went here for vacation. The staff was very amenable to all of our needs. They helped us tremendously on finding great locations to tour and places to eat. The rooms were very clean. The food was excellent. Location very central to everything you need. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom's 82
Family
Texas
Jun 15, 2010

Relaxing Getaway

Relaxing; discounted rates on spa and maybe, one buffet discounted for senior citizens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top