$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
837 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.
Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (837)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
837 out of 837
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Icon1235
West Palm Beach, FL
Nov 19, 2012

Single getaway

Very good hotel. The location is perfect. Friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dmat01
Business
houston tx
Jan 29, 2013

GREAT LOCATION

The hotel overall was great , started a little rocky once I found out my reservation for a king bed was not kept and the valet damaged my rental car, but the good out weigh the bad , be careful of the casino, if you have no self control(lol). Staff was very freindly they understand customer statisfaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puertorican Food is the name of the place , a must go and try there famous milk cake , I made it a promise to end every night there with a slice or two..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neka Hall
Business
Indiana
Mar 2, 2013

MOLD MOLD in Room!! But Great location

Went for My 30yr Birthday with girlfriends Weekend Trip! We moved 3 different times and still ended up in a room that smelled. There was mold growing on the outer door entry to the two adjoining rooms and each room we were moved to either smelled of sewage or mold. It got to the Point we stayed in the Last room after talking with Managment the hotel was sold out they colud not move us again. they Took $400 off our Stay and a Free Excursion! :} Great! But still got sick from the Moldy room. Veiw was Beautiful from the Room. Great Location on the Condado not fair from Old San Juan {Must Go} Food wasnt that Great so we mostley ate at local places one place was awsome up the street walking distance serverd great pizza for got the Name of place?& Cheap Upon returning home all of my clothes… smell of mold... even those that I never wore. The people were great but beware this is a very poor country so some may be genuine and others may just be playing on your sympathy. I would not return and primarily due to the rooms... I think they have a serious mold problem! Puerto Rico People are Reserve Kinda up tight next time i go will stay on Isla Laverde more of a Carrebian Feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

That Area remind me of South Beach Miami! Fun Fun..Shops, Great Food,Beach is Nice alot of Hotels Around Will Stay at the La Concha Next time {PartyHotel} Also If u Like Clubbing Go to the Hotel El San Juan club {Brava} Awsome Club in side nice Casino Also!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K1200GT
Business
Massachusetts
May 18, 2013

Getaway Stay

The overall stay was fine. The restuarant was somewhat pricey for what you got. Room was standard but housekeeping could have been a little better (like vacuuming the floors. Staff was helpful and courteous. Great massage at the spa. I last stayed here 11 years ago and everything seems pretty much the same

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try Fefo's in Old Town for a great lunch at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RichNTacoma
Business
Tacoma
Aug 16, 2013

Great at appologies

This is a really nice place, that is very poorly run. What they are best at is trying to appease you with money off of services and free meals. The room we checked into was mildewy; yes, this is the tropics, but it is also a high end hotel. The maids scream across the hallways. There were workmen chancing locks; that was horribly coordinated. If the management learned to make things right instead of appease, this might have been a better stay. Good gym, nice pool, small but friendly casino are pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Tyme Visitor
Business
Texas
Sep 21, 2013

Honeymoon Experience

Not at all happy about the resort prices and we had to pay $25 extra to upgrade to a room I originally requested online. Also, when we got to the room there was a strong ammonia smell that we thought would eventually disappear since they had just cleaned the room before we entered but 3 days later it was still strong and sickening. We had to keep the windows open at night which was the perfect trade due to the sound of the waves from the ocean however the ac turns off as soon as the windows are open which we figured out the 2nd evening in the room. We are members of the Marriott and they would not add the points to our account since we prepaid for our stay online? The upside was that most of the staff was welcoming and one gentleman by the name of Carlos invited us to VIP breakfast as we were on our Honeymoon which was beautiful beyond expectation. He was also the only one to take the time to show us the best places in town to eat and how to get around Old San Juan. Overall the location was great. Nice Bars within walking distance. The beach is rough in back of the hotel, you can however walk to the hotel next door and use their beach. Best advise stay weds-sun for more activities and walk a block or two for local food as the resort was way overpriced for the quality of food served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Patricks's! Great prices and an awesome pair of guys managing the bar :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fhpd357
Business
Weatherford, texas
Sep 25, 2013

It was okay

The hotel had a clean beach and provided chairs and umbrellas. The food and drinks were high. Parking is $100 for a week at the hotel. The air conditioner worked half the time in the room. The beds were rough and too firm. The sheets smelled like dirty feet. Best part was the beach and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't rent a car and do the activities from the hotel. They provide transportation. And it was cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm Terra
Business
Miami
Oct 8, 2013

Get Away

The stay was a fairly good experience. The hotel rooms feel a bit worn. The location was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma
Aug 4, 2011

Marriott San Juan Resort 7/30- 8/4 stay

I am a frequent traveler and decided to stay at this hotel because of location and price. The hotel is situated on the beach which is nice. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the hotel, but the location is more central than the Ritz/Hilton. Although nice, the hotel is standard Marriott. The hotel is in a good area of San Juan which is surrounded by shops and restaurants. The two restaurants in the hotel can be a little pricey, it is great to have other local options. I've paid about $30-40 for dinner and paid $32 with tax and tip for LUNCH by the poolside bar.While in San Juan I did the El Yunque rainforest tour and the tour of Old San Juan, which were both great. Lots of great little shops both local mom and pops and upscale shops in Old San Juan.My most pressing concern I had with the hotel[...] is the "hidden" fees/resort fees that were additional outside of the original package cost. The purpose of prepaying a vacation is to eliminate these fees. I've never purchased a package where I had to pay additional charges upon checkout. I'm not sure if this is just the hotel policy or wha[...]. It's unfortunate that Puerto Rico does not have all-inclusive options like the other Carribean options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jun 13, 2011

family vacation

The hotel was too busy on that particular weekend due to senior proms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 11, 2009

2009 Vacation

Great beach access. My only disappointment with this hotel is that we had to change rooms three (3) times to get a decent room that didn't smell or have a terrible view of the rusted hotel building. I have never been so disappointed in a Marriott before this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were great restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. You can save some money, and do some of the tours on your own.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top