$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
770 out of 770
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Icon1235
West Palm Beach, FL
Nov 19, 2012

Single getaway

Very good hotel. The location is perfect. Friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 7, 2010

Fine Hotel

Hotel was fine. Good gym. Hallways smelled a bit musty. Helpful to have stores like Walgreens nearby and to have a Starbucks across the Street. Pool very shaded but beach has sun most all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good deli a few blocks away to pick up a nice salad.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester NY
Aug 1, 2011

aging hotel

This was our second time at this hotel. We had such a wonderful experience the first time that we were excited to return. But a few things didnt seem the same. The pool and pool bar area looked dirty. The room looked old and not as clean either. breakfast is Super expensive. Great location and PR is an amazing place but I think we will be trying another hotel next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 14, 2009

Not bad for the money

Over all, it was a nice stay. We had an ocean view room for a reasonable price, and the view was fantastic. However, be aware that when you check in (especially several hours before the normal 4pm check in time), the front desk might try to sell you an upgrade under the pretense of you being able to get the room sooner. They tried that on us; we agreed to the upgrade, and it turned out that the upgrade room would not be ready for another three hours, and we could have got what we originally booked sooner (we cancelled the upgrade after waiting for more than 3 hours, and got the originally booked room right away). Also make sure that you tip the housekeeping more than $2 a day for a 2-person room. On the first day, we left a $2 tip (for two people, one room) partly because that was all the change we had. We discovered at night that the sheets had sand in them. That never happened again after we started leaving $4 tip per day. On the other hand, the conceiage staff was very friendly and knowledgeable during the day (but in our experience, not in the late afternoon). They recommended two restaurants in Old San Juan, and both were excellent. Speaking of food, try not to eat at the hotel, especially not the room service. The hotel food wasn't bad -- your typical hotel food. But the local restaurants were so much better. You'll find many great resaurants near the hotel. Puerto Rico is a great place for vacation. We'll definitely come back, but probably will stay at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Apr 22, 2011

think before you book it...

If you do not leave your room before 9 a.m . do not expect a room service at all. The cleaning ladies simply do not care. Our room was cleaned every other day (but still we would have to call the service to get some shampoo, body balm, etc) It would be delivered at 2 a.m. Food is OK. La Vista's employees at Marriott were really nice and all over you. Casino - small place with 5-6 black jack tables and two poker tables and other playing machines. Basically nothing to choose from. The Condado area itself was nice and safe to stay at. Remember that Isla Verde is a public beach. So if you want to stay away from the local crowd stay at Condado's areas. They also have nice stores around (Cartier, LV, Gucci, etc) Old San Juan - beautiful old city that you must see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Noni9
Business
Bloomfield, NJ, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Nice hotel but could be better

We stayed at the Marriott and Stellaris Casino for about 4 nights. The hotel was in a good location, the beach was in the back of the hotel, there are local restaurants and stores a block or two away. There were a few things that could have been better. The food in the buffet was not very good or diverse, the elevators were slow, the hall ways smelled a little musty. The hotel was about a 10-15 minute drive to Old San Juan, I would recommend going there but I would skip the El Yunque tour. The rainforest tour was average they take you to several stops ,watch a movie and a small hike. Overall, it was a good hotel, I would come back even with the little things that we did not find to appealing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely visit Old San Juan and visit the fort. I would skip the El Yunque tour

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tarpon Springs, FL
Dec 12, 2009

Good value,somewhat dated,cookie cutter

Somewaht dated, cookie cutter Marriott decor.......pales in comparsion to the new La Concha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice dining a short walk on Ashford Ave.,several different food types.....good food and values.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
4horsemen
Business
NJ
Jul 27, 2009

ok

hotel was ok, rooms were damp, had to put a dehumidifer in the room, good pool and beach fun, overall just average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northampton ,MA
Aug 6, 2011

Not so good

Its hard to beleive that marriot charge 18.95/day for internet while smaller motel offers free internet beside this everything else is money money money...... there are some other hotels offer better service for less money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

you can walk to most of good dinning places

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma
Aug 4, 2011

Marriott San Juan Resort 7/30- 8/4 stay

I am a frequent traveler and decided to stay at this hotel because of location and price. The hotel is situated on the beach which is nice. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the hotel, but the location is more central than the Ritz/Hilton. Although nice, the hotel is standard Marriott. The hotel is in a good area of San Juan which is surrounded by shops and restaurants. The two restaurants in the hotel can be a little pricey, it is great to have other local options. I've paid about $30-40 for dinner and paid $32 with tax and tip for LUNCH by the poolside bar.While in San Juan I did the El Yunque rainforest tour and the tour of Old San Juan, which were both great. Lots of great little shops both local mom and pops and upscale shops in Old San Juan.My most pressing concern I had with the hotel[...] is the "hidden" fees/resort fees that were additional outside of the original package cost. The purpose of prepaying a vacation is to eliminate these fees. I've never purchased a package where I had to pay additional charges upon checkout. I'm not sure if this is just the hotel policy or wha[...]. It's unfortunate that Puerto Rico does not have all-inclusive options like the other Carribean options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Official One
Business
virginia
Jul 9, 2011

The So So get away..

At the hotel we experienced all of the restaurants on premises.. The food was pretty good overall.. we went jet skiing, scuba diving, local tours, hit the clubs, pretty much everything.. as far as the hotel goes I wish that they offered more on site activities like jet sking, snorkelling.. room service was slow and pretty much the food was always Luke warm to cold side.. my check-in was slow my room was not ready for my arrival which was after 4pm. I waited over an hour for my room. They offered me one comp drink for my long wait.. other than that we had a nice room.. room cleaning service did a good job... They were honest I must say.. we had to upgrade after our first night.. the room was just a little small for our likings. But my fiance left her diamond earrings in the room.. we called 2 hours later they found them and they were returned the next day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top