$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
930 out of 930
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Icon1235
West Palm Beach, FL
Nov 19, 2012

Single getaway

Very good hotel. The location is perfect. Friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dmat01
Business
houston tx
Jan 29, 2013

GREAT LOCATION

The hotel overall was great , started a little rocky once I found out my reservation for a king bed was not kept and the valet damaged my rental car, but the good out weigh the bad , be careful of the casino, if you have no self control(lol). Staff was very freindly they understand customer statisfaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puertorican Food is the name of the place , a must go and try there famous milk cake , I made it a promise to end every night there with a slice or two..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neka Hall
Business
Indiana
Mar 2, 2013

MOLD MOLD in Room!! But Great location

Went for My 30yr Birthday with girlfriends Weekend Trip! We moved 3 different times and still ended up in a room that smelled. There was mold growing on the outer door entry to the two adjoining rooms and each room we were moved to either smelled of sewage or mold. It got to the Point we stayed in the Last room after talking with Managment the hotel was sold out they colud not move us again. they Took $400 off our Stay and a Free Excursion! :} Great! But still got sick from the Moldy room. Veiw was Beautiful from the Room. Great Location on the Condado not fair from Old San Juan {Must Go} Food wasnt that Great so we mostley ate at local places one place was awsome up the street walking distance serverd great pizza for got the Name of place?& Cheap Upon returning home all of my clothes… smell of mold... even those that I never wore. The people were great but beware this is a very poor country so some may be genuine and others may just be playing on your sympathy. I would not return and primarily due to the rooms... I think they have a serious mold problem! Puerto Rico People are Reserve Kinda up tight next time i go will stay on Isla Laverde more of a Carrebian Feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

That Area remind me of South Beach Miami! Fun Fun..Shops, Great Food,Beach is Nice alot of Hotels Around Will Stay at the La Concha Next time {PartyHotel} Also If u Like Clubbing Go to the Hotel El San Juan club {Brava} Awsome Club in side nice Casino Also!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K1200GT
Business
Massachusetts
May 18, 2013

Getaway Stay

The overall stay was fine. The restuarant was somewhat pricey for what you got. Room was standard but housekeeping could have been a little better (like vacuuming the floors. Staff was helpful and courteous. Great massage at the spa. I last stayed here 11 years ago and everything seems pretty much the same

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try Fefo's in Old Town for a great lunch at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RichNTacoma
Business
Tacoma
Aug 16, 2013

Great at appologies

This is a really nice place, that is very poorly run. What they are best at is trying to appease you with money off of services and free meals. The room we checked into was mildewy; yes, this is the tropics, but it is also a high end hotel. The maids scream across the hallways. There were workmen chancing locks; that was horribly coordinated. If the management learned to make things right instead of appease, this might have been a better stay. Good gym, nice pool, small but friendly casino are pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Tyme Visitor
Business
Texas
Sep 21, 2013

Honeymoon Experience

Not at all happy about the resort prices and we had to pay $25 extra to upgrade to a room I originally requested online. Also, when we got to the room there was a strong ammonia smell that we thought would eventually disappear since they had just cleaned the room before we entered but 3 days later it was still strong and sickening. We had to keep the windows open at night which was the perfect trade due to the sound of the waves from the ocean however the ac turns off as soon as the windows are open which we figured out the 2nd evening in the room. We are members of the Marriott and they would not add the points to our account since we prepaid for our stay online? The upside was that most of the staff was welcoming and one gentleman by the name of Carlos invited us to VIP breakfast as we were on our Honeymoon which was beautiful beyond expectation. He was also the only one to take the time to show us the best places in town to eat and how to get around Old San Juan. Overall the location was great. Nice Bars within walking distance. The beach is rough in back of the hotel, you can however walk to the hotel next door and use their beach. Best advise stay weds-sun for more activities and walk a block or two for local food as the resort was way overpriced for the quality of food served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Patricks's! Great prices and an awesome pair of guys managing the bar :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fhpd357
Business
Weatherford, texas
Sep 25, 2013

It was okay

The hotel had a clean beach and provided chairs and umbrellas. The food and drinks were high. Parking is $100 for a week at the hotel. The air conditioner worked half the time in the room. The beds were rough and too firm. The sheets smelled like dirty feet. Best part was the beach and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't rent a car and do the activities from the hotel. They provide transportation. And it was cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm Terra
Business
Miami
Oct 8, 2013

Get Away

The stay was a fairly good experience. The hotel rooms feel a bit worn. The location was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pink Bikini
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Summer Ending Getaway

The hotel was great.. Front desk was nice.. Housekeeping came everyday.. downside was that they came into my room while i was changing into my bathing suit after i told her to come back in 5minutes! Its ok.. thank goodness it was a woman housekeeper that walked in on me.. cause the male housekeeper walked in 2 minutes after her! Housekeeping didnt specifically do what i asked on a notepad that i left her each day with the tip money on top of it.. I stayed their for 5days and 4nights so after the first 2nights i wanted my sheets changed because i felt the sand from the beach on my sheets! Location was okay.. it was a little far from everything where u had to take the cab each time which started to get costly.. DONT DEPEND ON PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION THERE! If ur staying there most likely u need to take the 53 to get around and the 53 bus doesnt come around until 2-3hrs later cause the government wants everyone to buy a car to buy a car there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

WALGREENS OPEN 24hrs a day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CruiseMom
Business
Bellingham, WA
Dec 12, 2010

Good location, indifferent service

The room was nice enough and the pool area was well-maintained (except that the hot tub wasn't working while we were there). The proximity to the beach was the best part of this motel stay. The bad: no shuttle from the ferry terminal. no shuttle to the airport, not enough cups or coffee for all occupants of the room (even though I paid extra), had to be asked to bring cups, glasses, enough towels. Check out time was 11 a.m. and housekeeping arrived at our door at 10 asking to clean it. Parking is $20/night if you rent a car. To go anywhere from hotel is approximately $25. Rental of a car by the agency in hotel is about 3x as expensive as elsewhere and still you have to pay to park it there. We had a handicapped room on the 5th floor which makes no sense because if a fire broke out we couldn't use the elevator. Go figure. Staff was generally quite indifferent to our inquiries and needs. The music in the lobby area was so loud you couldn't hear well. The good: They held our bags on check-in because the room wasn't ready (we arrived about 2 and check-in time is 4), the place was clean and most of the housekeeping staff we ran into in the hallway was nice. The location ON THE BEACH and the proximity to shopping and dining in the Condado district are the only things that would bring me back to his hotel. And I'd look elsewhere first. If I did book this with my disabled mother again I would insist upon a room on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful service and food at a restaurant on Ashford avenue with two white awnings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fambase group
Business
Boston, Massachusetts.
Aug 10, 2011

Relaxing getaway.

We did a lot of activities, most of them not provided by the hotel because those were too pricy and booking through independent tourists are much cheaper. We visited El Yunque rainforest, Luquillo beach, el Morro, old San Juan, the country side mountain villages, club lasers, club brava, club the noise, and the bacaradi factory. One thing that I wish the hotel had was an all inclusive package or at least one complimentary meal because that's where most of our money went. Compared to the vacations it wasn't the best but it wasn't the worse either, it was descent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book activities through independent tourists not the hotel because it's much cheaper. For example the rainforest/Luquillo beach tour is $95 per hour for a minimum of 4hours on a private tour through the hotel while through an independent tourist we found it was only $65 per person for the whole day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top