$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
934 out of 934
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BROWNSUGAR50
ST. PAUL, MN
Oct 18, 2012

before and after cruise

OMG, THE STAFF AND THE HOTEL ITSELF WERE SIMPLY AMAZING. GREAT DRINKS AS YOU WAIT IN LINE TO CHECK IN YOUR ROOM..AND MY HUSBAND DON'T DRINK LIQUOR AND THE LADY WENT AND MAKE HIM ONE WITH OUT LIQUOR..THE VIEWS FROM THE ROOM TO THE BEACH...GREAT, THE STAFF GREAT...ALL CHECK IN, PORTER, BAR, GIFT SHOP, CASINO. ALL GREAT PEOPLE. MY HUSBAND TOLD THEM AS WE GOT IN THE CAB. :WE WILL BE BACK: ONLY ONE DOWN FALL, ROOM SERVICE DINNER CAN BE TOO EXPENSIVE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

THE WALGREENS, SUBWAY AND ICE CREAM JUST A SHORT WALK AWAY. THE POST OFFICE IS A SHORT WALK AWAY ALSO. GREAT FOOD ALL AROUND YOU BY THE LOCALS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feetfirst
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 25, 2012

Fine overall, but......

I was checked in by Jenine, who was fabulous. The view from private balcony was excellent. Great food and drinks from Hotel's restaurant and bar. The downside of the stay was the atmosphere in the room itself. Damp and Humid to the point of being a bit "moldy" smelling. There was no ventilation system, not even an exhaust fan in the bathroom. No amount of Clorox or Lysol could vanquish the smell. Also, avoid elevators 1 and 2 which had a strong odor of urine each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ossobuco and mango cheesecake!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WKWK
Business
North Carolina
Oct 26, 2012

Marriott Stellaris

The hotel was nice, but a little run down. Carpets were worn. Our biggest issue was the food was way over priced and the restaurant wasn't up to the same standards as other Marriotts. On the other hand, there were nice restaurants across the street that were cheaper and provided better food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Raices Restaurant in old town San Juan is a must do!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Poppins2000
Business
British Virgin Islands
Oct 24, 2012

Quick Getaway

The first room we were allocated was a very poor standard, needs a coat of paint, room had musty smell and felt grubby. Air vent was dirty. They were fine about changing to another room, which was a complimentary upgrade - although more the standard we were expecting. Rooms are functional, nothing special. Balcony furniture, very poor. Windows not cleaned well. Staff were friendly enough, but no one stood out although Concierge Desk were really helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dmat01
Business
houston tx
Jan 29, 2013

GREAT LOCATION

The hotel overall was great , started a little rocky once I found out my reservation for a king bed was not kept and the valet damaged my rental car, but the good out weigh the bad , be careful of the casino, if you have no self control(lol). Staff was very freindly they understand customer statisfaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puertorican Food is the name of the place , a must go and try there famous milk cake , I made it a promise to end every night there with a slice or two..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neka Hall
Business
Indiana
Mar 2, 2013

MOLD MOLD in Room!! But Great location

Went for My 30yr Birthday with girlfriends Weekend Trip! We moved 3 different times and still ended up in a room that smelled. There was mold growing on the outer door entry to the two adjoining rooms and each room we were moved to either smelled of sewage or mold. It got to the Point we stayed in the Last room after talking with Managment the hotel was sold out they colud not move us again. they Took $400 off our Stay and a Free Excursion! :} Great! But still got sick from the Moldy room. Veiw was Beautiful from the Room. Great Location on the Condado not fair from Old San Juan {Must Go} Food wasnt that Great so we mostley ate at local places one place was awsome up the street walking distance serverd great pizza for got the Name of place?& Cheap Upon returning home all of my clothes… smell of mold... even those that I never wore. The people were great but beware this is a very poor country so some may be genuine and others may just be playing on your sympathy. I would not return and primarily due to the rooms... I think they have a serious mold problem! Puerto Rico People are Reserve Kinda up tight next time i go will stay on Isla Laverde more of a Carrebian Feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

That Area remind me of South Beach Miami! Fun Fun..Shops, Great Food,Beach is Nice alot of Hotels Around Will Stay at the La Concha Next time {PartyHotel} Also If u Like Clubbing Go to the Hotel El San Juan club {Brava} Awsome Club in side nice Casino Also!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K1200GT
Business
Massachusetts
May 18, 2013

Getaway Stay

The overall stay was fine. The restuarant was somewhat pricey for what you got. Room was standard but housekeeping could have been a little better (like vacuuming the floors. Staff was helpful and courteous. Great massage at the spa. I last stayed here 11 years ago and everything seems pretty much the same

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try Fefo's in Old Town for a great lunch at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RichNTacoma
Business
Tacoma
Aug 16, 2013

Great at appologies

This is a really nice place, that is very poorly run. What they are best at is trying to appease you with money off of services and free meals. The room we checked into was mildewy; yes, this is the tropics, but it is also a high end hotel. The maids scream across the hallways. There were workmen chancing locks; that was horribly coordinated. If the management learned to make things right instead of appease, this might have been a better stay. Good gym, nice pool, small but friendly casino are pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Tyme Visitor
Business
Texas
Sep 21, 2013

Honeymoon Experience

Not at all happy about the resort prices and we had to pay $25 extra to upgrade to a room I originally requested online. Also, when we got to the room there was a strong ammonia smell that we thought would eventually disappear since they had just cleaned the room before we entered but 3 days later it was still strong and sickening. We had to keep the windows open at night which was the perfect trade due to the sound of the waves from the ocean however the ac turns off as soon as the windows are open which we figured out the 2nd evening in the room. We are members of the Marriott and they would not add the points to our account since we prepaid for our stay online? The upside was that most of the staff was welcoming and one gentleman by the name of Carlos invited us to VIP breakfast as we were on our Honeymoon which was beautiful beyond expectation. He was also the only one to take the time to show us the best places in town to eat and how to get around Old San Juan. Overall the location was great. Nice Bars within walking distance. The beach is rough in back of the hotel, you can however walk to the hotel next door and use their beach. Best advise stay weds-sun for more activities and walk a block or two for local food as the resort was way overpriced for the quality of food served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Patricks's! Great prices and an awesome pair of guys managing the bar :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fhpd357
Business
Weatherford, texas
Sep 25, 2013

It was okay

The hotel had a clean beach and provided chairs and umbrellas. The food and drinks were high. Parking is $100 for a week at the hotel. The air conditioner worked half the time in the room. The beds were rough and too firm. The sheets smelled like dirty feet. Best part was the beach and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't rent a car and do the activities from the hotel. They provide transportation. And it was cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm Terra
Business
Miami
Oct 8, 2013

Get Away

The stay was a fairly good experience. The hotel rooms feel a bit worn. The location was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top