$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
837 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.
Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (837)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
837 out of 837
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Starlene
Business
Bowie, Maryland
Jan 11, 2012

Exceptional Hotel

This was our second "girls trip" to San Juan and I have to say that the second stay was just as good as the first stay. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the staff is attentive. We could not have selected a better place to vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant food at hotel is delicious, but a little pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Starlene
Business
Bowie, Maryland
Jan 12, 2012

Perfect Resort

It doesn't get any better! Food, resort, beach, restaurant and location was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not rent a car. Everything is in walking distance or a short cab ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Over 60
Business
East Peoria, IL, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Wonderful hotel in wonderful location

We had a wonderful time in PR and at this hotel. We loved our ocean-view room, the easy access to the beach and to the Condado area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to rent a car while you are there, contact Target Rent-A-Car. They are cheaper than the Hertz rental in the hotel, and had very nice cars. They pick you up at the hotel and take you to their location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stryder
Business
Illinois, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Great Place to Stay

The hotel was very nice. Our room was beautiful with a great balcony view of the resort and ocean. There were many stores and lots of dining options within walking distance. There was a hidden "resort fee" of $50 some dollars for our two day stay. Over all, if the price is not a problem, it's a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found out that if you are dining in San Juan, do not make plan for the rest of your day. Most of these places do not get in a hurry. Allow one to two hours just for breakfast, and don't be surprised if you have to help the wait staff determine your bill. This happened three times at three different places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Niseybear
Business
Hagerstown, MD, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

The hotel was located in a great area. Our room had beautiful ocean views. The hotel and rooms were very neat and clean. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ram Ast TRAVELERS
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 22, 2012

wepa Puerto Rico

exellent location wonderfulhotel restaurant very expensive love the beach n the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk down the street for great food and cheaper that hotel restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doreen45
Business
Portland, CT, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Great relaxing vacation

Before booking my trip to San Juan I spent many, many hours on the internet comparing different hotels on the island and what each hotel had to offer. My prerequisite for choosing my hotel was to be right on the beach, have a pool, have an ocean view room, a safe location and to be within walking distance of a few restaurants outside of the hotel so I could relax, and being so lucky to live in the Northeast, to thaw out. Without a doubt, I would say the San Juan Marriott Resort and Stellaris Casino in Condado was great, and then some for all my needs. The location of the hotel was truly perfect due to the following reasons: • There are a lot of restaurants around…at least two dozen within a 2 to 15 minute walk from the hotel. My favorite, YerbaBuena Restaurant with great Cuban/Puerto Rican food…and yes, they have the best Mojito's. • Easy access to the bus system. Take a right out of the hotel and the bus stop is two minutes away and only 75 cents per person. You can take either bus #21 or #53 to Old San Juan, when you get there take the open air trolley to El Morro, the highest point and start walking the city. • If you want to see the Museum of Puerto Rico or the Contemporary Museum take a left out of the hotel and walk to De Diego Avenue, turn right on De Diego and the museum will be on the left. This is about a 20 - 30 minute walk. All the staff at the hotel was always courteous and always willing to help you if you have any questions. I would say Janine, a Front Desk Agent and Patrizia helped me the most and were most knowledgeable with restaurant chooses in the area, suggestions on where to go and what to see in Old San Juan, as well as where to eat there. They were both helpful trying to weigh the pros and cons on taking a car or a tour to the El Junque Rainforest. I ended up taking a tour, which can be set up right at the hotel. They were most helpful with walking directions on how to get to different locations near the hotel. The beach was very clean and the free use of the lounge chairs and umbrellas was great. There are plenty of lounge chairs and all were in good condition. Being on the beach in Condado, the water is definitely rough, but the sand is clean and easy to walk on. The pool was very nice and not as windy as the beach. The water was clean and nice to cool off in. I had an ocean view room on the 19th floor with a balcony. It was truly nice to have my coffee on the balcony each morning before starting my day. The room was clean and everyday and anytime during the day, there was hot water to take a shower. There was a safe in the room, as well as a refrigerator. All in all, it was a wonderful hotel, within a great location in Condado. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the hotel is great - at least two dozen or more restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel - no more than a 2 - 15 minute walk from any of them

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gerardeen
Business
Louisville, KY
Mar 12, 2012

Great place to spend a few days before your cruise!

Awesome location. Beautiful ocean view. Nice beach, soft sand. Gorgeous pool area. Enjoyed casino. Lounge area was comfortable, with good appetizers and friendly wait staff. This resort has it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street (a block to left and right) are great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
simplysaid
Business
florida
Mar 13, 2012

wonderful trip

the staff at the hotel was wonderful, very accomodating. very convenient to great restaurants... the only thing i missed was a heated pool ...in march the pool water was a bit cool ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great italian, puertorican restaurants close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom and teens
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Fabulous resort

Everything was better than I expected. The quality of the facilities and the helpfulness of the staff couldn't be beat. This is not a bargain value resort but you definately get what you pay for, and then some!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pinky's is a GREAT breakfast spot about 10 minutes East of the hotel (next to the hospital). Fresh food, generous portions, good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top