$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
936 out of 936
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VELVET
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Not for pleasure!

This hotel has no personal touch. No service at the pool, beach service was minimum and the check- in staff lacked hospitality. Had the breakfast very expensive and cold - it's buffet style. Was looking forward to the tropical drinks but they were horrible, beer was our save option. One thing I did notice the staff did cater to the conference people. Kudos to the cleaning crew the only people that had it right. I'm not staying here again, unless I'm on a conference!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

OLD SAN JUAN! MUSIC IN THE STREETS, GREAT LOCAL FOOD AND AWESOME BARS, LOTS OF CHOICES.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savvy NY traveler
Business
New York, NY
Dec 24, 2011

Pre-holiday getaway

Location was great and right on the beach with nice pool area. Plenty of chairs on the beach. Service was pretty good and friendly staff. Concierage was informative. In walking distance of restaurants and short cab ride to Old San Juan. Not much entertainement at the hotel. They were supposed to have dancing in the lobby bar area but never saw anyone dancing there. The downside - the hot water went out suddenly and was out from morning until 5:00 pm. They said a pipe had burst and it was outside of the hotel so not in their control. Hotel did give us a small credit to make up for it. It's typical chain hotel so you know what you can expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yerba Buena - great Cuban food with live Latin Jazz band playing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Muffin and Mister
Business
Westchester, NY, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Not the best, but ok

the room was average for the Marriott. The facilities were nothing special and food prices were not very reasonable on site. The worst part of the entire facility was the lounge and the music which was loud and horrible. We would have liked to sit in the lounge and have drinks and maybe dance, but the techno type music every night was unbearable. We expected some Latin music at some point during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David Tun
Business
Manchester
Jan 16, 2012

just so so for family ~

not too bad! The hotel location is good, but we pay extra fee buy ocean view,not directly face the ocean, we feeling not bad at this point .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

average~~

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pepp
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 1, 2012

family getaway

It was very expensive to eat and drink and didn't have much to offer for the children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens on the corner and you can buy everything from sunblock to liquor there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MU88
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Okay

The hotel was okay. Area is dumpy, but relatively nice for San Juan. Lots of police around. Needed to get buzzed into the Dunkin Donuts down the street. Pool appears much nicer in the pictures. Two pools - one is a kiddie pool, the other is only 3 feet deep. Drink prices are pretty steep and few if any attendants. Beach is nice. Casino is really small. Parking process is odd. You need to pull tickets and get them validated every time you enter and leave. Overall, an okay hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cloud 10
Business
Punta Gorda, Fl
May 12, 2012

Great getaway vacation in an excellent area

The hotel staff and facilities were reasonably good. The room was small and the bathroom made you feel like a sardine. No room at all in the bathroom. You could not move around with the bathroom door always in the way. Also, the rug made your feet feel wet and left dirt marks on the bottom of your feet. The pool was small and had no depth. The ocean and the way the empolyees treated you was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The rain forest, Ponce, and the National Observatory were excellent trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wwong
Business
New York, NY
May 15, 2012

Average Stay

I went with 2 other girlfriends and we chose Marriott knowing its 4 stars so it should be a well above average hotel but we were disappointed in their customer service. We arrived before 4pm and they said they dont have our room ready yet but if we upgrade to a pool view room then the room will be ready immediately, we decided not to upgrade and just waited at the beach. When we arrived at our room, we found that one of the sheets were dirty with some stains so we called to have them replaced, they said they will come immediately to change them. We waited over 1 hour and no one showed up yet so we called again. After another 30 minutes someone finally came to change the sheets. We also asked if there is complimentary breakfast that is included with our booking and whoever we spoke to said we do. The next morning we went down to get breakfast and they told us we dont have complimentary breakfast, so we went to front desk to check again and they said according to our booking, breakfast is not included. Their staff apparently dont know what they are talking about and what annoyed me was when they said they dont have a record of who took our call the previous night. We spoke to the manager and he said hes sorry but there's nothing he can do. Really now? Nothing? He could have at the very least do something to make our stay there a little more enjoyable after dealing with their incompetent staff for the first 2 days of our arrival. The manager definitely did not take us seriously because we look young, when we told him were never going to return he just said okay. I think its time for Marriott to reconsider the staff they hire and step up to their 4 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family of 4 from St. Lou
Business
St. Louis MO
Aug 6, 2012

Beach Paradise

If you are looking for a place to stay that has a nice pool, beautiful well kept beach and in walking distance to restaurants and clubs, this is a great location. We were a little disappointed that the kids slide did not work and the hot tub broke while we were there. The hotel does have a restaurant but it is very pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mister and Misses A
Business
Marriott Stellaris Casino @ SanJaun
Sep 22, 2012

Not handicapp accessible!!

The hotel is a disservice to the handicapp. The day of my arrival the hotel did not have wheelchairs. As a result, I waited in the lobby for two hours before a wheelchair became available for them to take me to my room. While I was waiting for a wheelchair, my husband made reservation with the conciegre for a wheelchair to be delivered for my use for the remainder of my stay at the Marriott. I was confined to my room until 12:30 the next day as when the chair arrived at the hotel. I spent from 4:30 check in time to the next day sitting in the room. In addition, a repaiman came because our tv did not work. It took him several hours (2-3) to return to fix the tv, The repairman stated several channels were not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top