$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
837 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (837)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
837 out of 837
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arkansas Papaw
Plainfield, IN
Apr 6, 2013

Something for all ages

Was there last week w/ 10 & 13 year old grandsons and their parents. Everyone was thrilled w/ the service, convemience and amenities. Ocean is the prettiest I've ever seen. Varieyt of restaurants and price ranges w/i walking distance. Try not to tour El Junque Forest when cruise ships are in port. The forest itself is a jewel! At 66, I would not consider driving anywhere. Cabs are plentiful and reasonable. I much preferred this to Cancun and Tulum. Weather was gorgeous. There was no down side to this resort and the casino would be a plus for many.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss The Place. Very cool hamburger joint w/ natural cooling and dozens of kinds of beer. Great food value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric G
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 6, 2010

Paradise Found!

This hotel is in an excellent location. I loved that we could just walk right out from the pool area and we were instantly on the beach. We were here just before hurricane season started and during the weekdays, so the beach was practically empty most of the time. The hotel has their own beach chairs that you can bring wherever on the beach--they are a little cumbersome to move around, but they were great to lounge on in the sun for hours. They pool area is very nice too with a large jacuzzi, shallow kiddie pool (with no kids around at all!) and a larger pool with a fun slide. The poolside staff is very friendly, and there are plenty of happy hour deals too. All of the rooms have balconies on them, so it was nice to hang out on it in the mornings while planning the rest of the day. There is a bus that stops on the street outside the hotel that you can take all the way into Old San Juan (for only 75 cents). There are also plenty of taxis in the area. Also nearby (within walking distance) are plenty of delicious restaurants as well as a large grocery store for cheap snacks and beer to stock the in-room fridge! We didn't try room service or the restaurants in the hotel, but the menus did look good. We were looking more for a local flare at small restaurants all around the hotel and in Old San Juan. There are a couple other hotels nearby that are right on the beach, but a lot of the other ones were off of rocky beaches or no beach. I just loved that it was right on a beautiful and clean beach. I will definitely be back here when I'm back in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many great (local) choices within walking distance from the hotel. There is a place open 24 hours that is about a 5 minute walk to the west (I think... it's a left turn when you're walking out of the hotel). I cannot remember what it was called though! We went there twice. I think it was called Latin Star (get the mini mofongos!). Ajilli Mojilli is also very tasty! Bebo Cafe is a little bit further in the other direction, but very very good and super cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shawver Family
Business
DFW, TX
Oct 7, 2010

Our Trip to Puerto Rico

We really enjoyed the our visit to Puerto Rico. We were impressed with our room and we loved the ocean side view. Great location -- right on the beach and minutes from the airport. The only negative was parking. Guest have to pay $16/a day for parking. Also, not many choices for breakfest in or around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you rent a car, be sure rent a GPS. Puerto drivers are very aggressive, so you might want to opt for the insurance as well. The roads need work, so becareful. Also, parking is limited in San Juan, so be prepared to pay for parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sha Sha
Business
Hampton, VA
Oct 9, 2010

Stay at Marriott San Juan Resort

The stay was very enjoyable. A wonderful view of the beautiful clear beach and walking distance to different shops. The hotel is minutes away from Old San Juan and what a beautiful part of Puerto Rico to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vacation lovers
Business
metropolitan NY
Jan 10, 2011

Great vacation experience

This hotel was wonderful, clean and on a terrific beach. The people couldn't be nicer. We loved the neighborhood, very upscale, and had a choice of great resturants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate breakfast every morning at Pinky's, a small cafe that had the freshest food. For dinner, we went twice to Via Appia. Really friendly staff and terrific Italian food at a reasonable prince. The locals love this place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 3, 2011

Can't go wrong with Marriott!

You can't really go wrong with Marriotts. Everytime we use one of the hotels, we are very pleased for the most part, and this time is not an exception. We loved our stay! When we arrived, we were greeted with friendly customers service and the front desk Manager, [...], was wonderful! The landscape and view of the swimming pools and the beach are the best in the area. Resturants and a few souvenier shops are minutes from the hotel. Also there is a car rental place right inside the hotel and one just across the street. Two minor things that we would suggest to improve - 1) they were unable to fix our t.v., the channels were not very clear and static. We were hoping to watch the Oscars on a clearer screen :=) 2) the traveling agents for special outings and activities were not very friendly. We stopped by a few times with different agents and had similer experiences. They did not give us much time, attention, nor a friendly tone. We ended up using a private tour guide.As far as our stay at the hotel, we love it! and we would recommend anyone to Marriotts! Also special thanks to our Cheapticket agent, Donna, for booking us this special package! Her customer service was superb!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi to visit Old San Juan. Once you there, you can take a free Trolley that goes around the whole Old San Juan for sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Psychologist
Business
Miami, Fl
Mar 7, 2011

Best Hotel in San Juan

I am a SBF under 30 years old that stayed at this hotel with my friends for my B-day. This hotel is the best in San Juan. I researched other hotels before arriving in San Juan. I also took my research a step further and went to various 4 star hotels upon arriving in San Juan. I have to be 100% honest the Marriott Hotel and Stellaris Casino is the best. I have to warn you I am a Psychologist so I analyzed everything LOL. The hotel was in the center of all the action. This hotel has beach access. The hotel is in a very safe neighborhood. So if I felt like walking I was able to do so. It is in the center of great restaurants that we know and love (i.e. Starbucks, Chili's and Wendy's) and a short walk to Puerto Rico's great restaurants. Please make it a point to visit Danny's Restaurant. The customer service at the hotel was EXCELLENT. The hotel staff was very knowledgeable of night clubs, restaurants and sites. The hotel also assisted me in outside travel like tours of Rainforest and hotel spa. The hotel is a short cab drive from the mall, Old San Juan, Fort and nightclubs. If you don't want to leave the hotel you can eat downstairs in there reasonably priced buffet and Italian restaurant. The Casino was really fun too. The hotel is very family friendly as well. The kiddie pool is away from the adult pool. I saw children having a great time as well. This hotel made my first experience in Puerto Rico a very memorable one. I will definitely be back to Puerto Rico and the Marriott and Stellaris Casino hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Walgreens one block down from this hotel and a Starbucks directly across the street. So whatever you forgot don't go crazy the Walgreen is there. Oh and you cant check in the hotel until 4:00 p.m. but the hotel staff will hold your luggage and you can go sightseeing or to the beach. Besides who wants to be stuck in the room anyway LOL.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diana snowy ny
Business
oneonta ny
Mar 11, 2011

stress free vacation

my husband and i own a restaurant and this was the first time we had been away for 10 years! truly exceptional service, friendly staff, large, clean rooms with anything you need. the oceanview room couldn't have been better. lots of great restaurants and local shops steps away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

miro restaurant across the street from the hotel was superb caribbean dining, excellent service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tup113
Business
Hampton Bays, NY
Apr 22, 2011

The Only Place To Stay!

One thing that we kept saying to each other was that everyone in this hotel from the front to the back was incredibly friendly! Rooms were clean,we had a partial ocean view that looked out to the pool area. When I go back again, I will definitely get an ocean view. The reason is that in the afternoon the sun is so strong, that you can't sit out on your balcony! My family recommends the breakfast downstairs! Buffet every morning, totally worth the money - 11.95 pp, 7.95 for kids. Staff in the restaurant is top notch friendly! The beach at this hotel is gorgeous! Walk right out of your hotel, ask for chairs and an umbrella for your family and you're set up for the day! We spent hours in this beautiful ocean! Pool area perfect for non-ocean families. Fun slide for all to enjoy. This hotel is located on one of the nicest streets in San Juan. Great restaurants in the area. We went to Cherry Blossom, which is very entertaining for the family - Hibatchi! An italian restaurant down the street called Via Appia, great pizza and fun location. The staff was great. Easy access to Old San Juan from the hotel. We recommend taking a cab to Old San Juan - $15.00, great restaurants and lots of history. We went back again the next night for dinner at El Asador. Excellent food, we loved the interior of this restaurant. Go to the website for pictures! I had the mahi-mahi with pureed sweet potatoes - excellent, my oldest daughter had the filet mignon - she love it! My husband had the the shrimp bruschetta, we were skeptical, 13 shrimp on a skewer! Delicious! My youngest daughter had the grilled chicken, perfect healthy meal for her! Rent a car across the street from the Marriot (I think it's called Charlies- it's a little booth where you can rent cars and plan trips) to go to the rain forest, it cost us $50., do it yourself and enjoy the day! It's easy to get to, about 45 minutes and safe to drive to. We were skeptical about driving at first, but have no fears, it's the best way to go. You are in charge of your day. We left at 1:00, got there by 2:00. Wear your sneakers for the hike to the waterfalls! Best vacation in a long Time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ST CROIX VI
May 2, 2011

NICE FOR CUOPLES AND SINGLES

UN SPEAKABLE NICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gerard aka Justin "Just in case"
Business
Jersey Shore . Neptune NJ.
Apr 4, 2011

highly recommended. great locals

The services were great! The staff was very accomadating. The bartender Lucy was the best at what she does.Old San Juan has alot to offer with it's shops and authentic foods.The locals are friendly and love good music and dancing.Keep up the good work Marriot!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

experience the local food. great taste and not too expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top