$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
776 out of 776
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Cleveland, OH
Dec 3, 2009

Not too impressed

I was upset that we were put on the second floor of the hotel. We asked to be moved to a different floor and the desk attendant said there would be no additional charge. When we signed out they charged us and additional $50.00 per night. I will likely not use this again due to being put on the second floor for our vacation. Is that why there is savings involved? We ended up paying more in the long run. Room smelled like mildew.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 25, 2011

Seen Better

The staff was friendly. However the nightly entertainment was dismal. The pool area was decent and the beach was OK...the ocean waves were very rough to enjoy a good swim. The restaurants nearby were expensive and and not very authentic. If you want value for your money, go where all inclusive is offered - islands like Jamaica (negil) or Aruba...you won't go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Debary
Dec 19, 2008

porr location

Old hotel with minimum facilities, poor restaurant, rooms bare minimun, location noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

many touist stores for the cruise visitors

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cosh
Family
Atlanta
Jun 6, 2010

DO NOT STAY IN JUNE

We did not know that June is high school prom month, the drinking age is 18.......... so you have a hotel full of drunken 18 year olds out for there school prom. According to the hotel there should be an adult in the room for them to stay, this was not the case. So we had to put up with parties in rooms,shouting in the corridors and doors slamming. They showed no respect to the dress code and the boys walked around in shorts around there buts and no shirts. I guess they were trying to look cool....... sadly they looked like jerks. The women were not much better. I wish the hotel would of stopped this. it is a nice hotel, just do not stay in June

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The fort is really cool

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Waynette
Family
New York, NY, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Our Trip to San Juan

I was very dissappointed with the hotel! I understand they just had a hurricane, but staff was not friendly or imformative.. no one new anything at all! no activities to do at all. they did try and make the stay pleasureable due to horrible circumstances. I think being PR has bad weather the hotel should have been better prepared! this had to be one of the worst hotel ive every stayed in! We had a problem every morning with our free breakfast! The halls smelled like mildew! the beach was beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sadwest
Family
San Francisco
Dec 23, 2010

ok

The location was great and it was only a $15 cab ride to Old San Juan. Rooms were nice, spacious and clean. However I did find the staff rude, ESPECIALLY the Hertz rental car associate. Staff wasn't very welcoming but luckily there is plenty to see and do and you can avoid having to deal with them too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VELVET
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Not for pleasure!

This hotel has no personal touch. No service at the pool, beach service was minimum and the check- in staff lacked hospitality. Had the breakfast very expensive and cold - it's buffet style. Was looking forward to the tropical drinks but they were horrible, beer was our save option. One thing I did notice the staff did cater to the conference people. Kudos to the cleaning crew the only people that had it right. I'm not staying here again, unless I'm on a conference!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

OLD SAN JUAN! MUSIC IN THE STREETS, GREAT LOCAL FOOD AND AWESOME BARS, LOTS OF CHOICES.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savvy NY traveler
Couples
New York, NY
Dec 24, 2011

Pre-holiday getaway

Location was great and right on the beach with nice pool area. Plenty of chairs on the beach. Service was pretty good and friendly staff. Concierage was informative. In walking distance of restaurants and short cab ride to Old San Juan. Not much entertainement at the hotel. They were supposed to have dancing in the lobby bar area but never saw anyone dancing there. The downside - the hot water went out suddenly and was out from morning until 5:00 pm. They said a pipe had burst and it was outside of the hotel so not in their control. Hotel did give us a small credit to make up for it. It's typical chain hotel so you know what you can expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yerba Buena - great Cuban food with live Latin Jazz band playing

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Muffin and Mister
Couples
Westchester, NY, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Not the best, but ok

the room was average for the Marriott. The facilities were nothing special and food prices were not very reasonable on site. The worst part of the entire facility was the lounge and the music which was loud and horrible. We would have liked to sit in the lounge and have drinks and maybe dance, but the techno type music every night was unbearable. We expected some Latin music at some point during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MU88
Family
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Okay

The hotel was okay. Area is dumpy, but relatively nice for San Juan. Lots of police around. Needed to get buzzed into the Dunkin Donuts down the street. Pool appears much nicer in the pictures. Two pools - one is a kiddie pool, the other is only 3 feet deep. Drink prices are pretty steep and few if any attendants. Beach is nice. Casino is really small. Parking process is odd. You need to pull tickets and get them validated every time you enter and leave. Overall, an okay hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top