$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
837 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (837)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
837 out of 837
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave from Watertown
Business
Watertown, MA
Nov 18, 2011

Great hotel

Stayed here on a trip to San Juan with my wife. Thought the location was very good -- close enough to the airport for a short trip and on a nice stretch of beach close to a number of restaurants. The parking garage was fine and we were prepared for and fine with the daily fee. The room was clean and the staff friendly. We liked having a Starbucks right across the street. The beach was fine, though we didn't do much out there since the sea was pretty rough. Poolside was fine too -- did a lot of reading -- there's plenty of shade and lots of seating. Kids seemed to love the pool slide. We ate at the Italian restaurant and it was very good. Didn't do the casino but it's nice to have the option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexie LeLe
Business
Des Moines, IA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

I will stay here time after time!!!!

The staff was courteous and professional from the beginning. They were quick to recommend near and far restaurants or places to purchase any items I needed. All the staff was very, VERY accomodating!! I will stay here every time I am in San Juan!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the SuperMax on De Diego. It is wayyyy cheaper than Walgreens!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
opheelia
Business
Tempe, AZ
Nov 26, 2011

Thankful to Be in PR on Thanksgiving!

My boyfriend and I settled on this hotel after reading extensive reviews of comparably priced resorts in greater San Juan. We were greeted with a complimentary glass of champagne when we arrived at check in. The process was smooth and simple. The lobby bar was under construction, which was no big deal for us. It's expected to be done in December 2011. We had an oceanfront balcony room, and the view was amazing. You can sit on your balcony and stare at the blue-green ocean, and listen to the waves crash on the beach. I strongly suggest the upgrade if you can swing it; we caught a glimpse inside one of the "city view" rooms and ours was worth every penny! The hotel room was standard (bed, desk, TV, two nightstands, armchair) and the bed was very comfortable. I gave the "cleanliness" an average rating only because the housekeepers won't touch ANY of your stuff. I'm sure this is for security reasons and to keep guests from freaking out. So if you want a full cleaning, be sure to move your belongings into your suitcase or a small location. (This includes the bathroom counter; put your toiletries back in your bathroom bag!) The pool area is very nice, but much of it is shaded in the afternoons. We spent most of our time on the beach. There are chairs and umbrellas available, and the staff will bring them out to your chosen spot. The water is rough, so be careful when swimming! It's a resort, so the drinks and food were more expensive than your average bar or restaurant. The food was excellent, and worth the convenience when we ordered it. We ate at the Latin Grill one night and ordered lunch by the pool one afternoon; both meals were delicious! There are plenty of options outside the hotel, and you can bring your own beer/wine/drinks and food to the beach. The beach service was attentive, extremely friendly, and alcohol is reasonably priced if you ask about specials. There are taxis available at the hotel; they apparently wait in the parking structure, so if you want to head to Old San Juan or another neighborhood, it's a snap. Overall, we had an amazing, very relaxing time here. It became more crowded on Thanksgiving. It wasn't overwhelming, but we were glad we came the week leading up, since we had more beach space and less noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a local convenience store down the street to the right of the hotel that sells drinks and food. They even have fresh cheese. It seemed cheaper than the Walgreens across the street. If you can, pack a soft cooler or plan to bring or buy some Ziploc bags for ice to make your own out of a backpack. Ask the beach bar, pool bar, and beach service about drink specials! They run them all day, but they won't necessarily offer the information. There are a couple of cafes if you walk to the right (same direction of the convenience store) where you can find cheap breakfast and lunch. Again, this is a resort area, so things are pricey, but if you're patient and willing to look around at menus, you'll find the less expensive options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSRG
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 27, 2011

Awesome hotel!

Hotel is in the perfect location - great restaurants and nightlife all within walking distance. It is right on the beach and the rooms are very clean. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome dining options within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NicestGuy
Business
St Thomas, US Virgin Islands
Dec 1, 2011

Loved It!

Everything was great!!! It was a nice relaxing trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CEF Family
Business
Kansas
Dec 7, 2011

Good Place

Despite being on the Atlantic side vs Carribean... excellent hotel. Staff was fantastic. I would definitely stay again. Plenty to do with the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PlonyAlmony
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 11, 2011

This is the second time I've been to this hotel

This hotel is in a great location and is beautifully situated. The hotel is on the Condado and not too far from Old San Juan - there is a local bus that you can take there. There are two pools both not really deep, one for really small children and the other has a slide and has bar stools. I found the Concierge to be very helpful in booking trips in the area (my favorite trip was night kayaking in the Bioiluminescent Bay in Fajardo). The only draw-back of my stay this time around was the the lobby was under construction. Unfortunately, they finished the day I was leaving so I wasn't able to enjoy the bar. (The last time I was there they had music with dancing in the lobby at night). Overall, this is a wonderful, clean and friendly hotel. *A side note: as a NYer I love my coffee, so if you also can't leave Starbucks coffee behind...there is one across the street from the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY Folks
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Fun in the Sun

Hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. Read online that lobby was under construction. During our stay the barriers to the new lobby were taken down and they seem very close to completing. The new area looks great. Close to shops and restaurants. Beach was very nice, but surf is rough at this time, red flag all days. You can walk up and down beaches, but the distance is somewhat limited for serious walkers. Hotel pool is shallow, but still refreshing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tjienping
Business
Lubbock, TX, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Hotel is great, beach is so so

The hotel is great, but the Condado beach (where the hotel is located) is so so. Water is not clear, sand is brown. The wave is very strong, not for swimming at all. This hotel is perfect if you enjoy Old San Juan a lot. It's quite close by. But if your main attraction is beach, look somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's Walgreen, Malaysian Restaurant, Wendy's. All to the west of the hotel. It's a better deal/food eating in restaurants outside of the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
martimus
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Dec 24, 2011

Good hotel, nice beach location

The hotel's location is pretty good and it has most of the amenities you might want. Their strip of beach is prime with free towels and chairs. The prices for drinks and food are a little on the high side but still reasonable. I would recommend getting an ocean front view room. It costs a small amount more but probably doubles your enjoyment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top