$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
1,238 reviews
Bachelor's getaway

Close to everything .. Loved the ambiance .. Thanks for the executive suite was a nice experience See full review

  • African traveller
  • Jul 24, 2014
Perfect getaway for families and couples

Bar none the best hotel we have stayed in. Best service and the staff was wonderful. See full review

  • Big Fig
  • Jul 20, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1238)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
1238 out of 1238
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie3145
Port St Lucie FL
Apr 7, 2013

Good stay

Good stay overall, staff plesant and courteous, with view of the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carolina Mike
Columbia, SC
Apr 6, 2013

Anniversary trip

Wife and I went for our 10 year wedding anniversary in April 2013. We've been to resorts in Mexico and Jamaica and also been on a couple cruises. Overall we were very pleased and felt like the hotel met our expectations. Pros- Great location ( e.g. beachfront, walking distance to many restaurants, short cab ride to Old San Juan), Very nice common areas, Nice room overall, Good size beach area, Hotel staff were generally friendly and attentive. Cons- Main restaurant was decent but not great, Carpet in our room was a little worn/dated, Would prefer an adults only pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Very good Puerto Rican food at Casa Lola (about 1/2 mile down the street from the hotel). A little pricey though.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arkansas Papaw
Plainfield, IN
Apr 6, 2013

Something for all ages

Was there last week w/ 10 & 13 year old grandsons and their parents. Everyone was thrilled w/ the service, convemience and amenities. Ocean is the prettiest I've ever seen. Varieyt of restaurants and price ranges w/i walking distance. Try not to tour El Junque Forest when cruise ships are in port. The forest itself is a jewel! At 66, I would not consider driving anywhere. Cabs are plentiful and reasonable. I much preferred this to Cancun and Tulum. Weather was gorgeous. There was no down side to this resort and the casino would be a plus for many.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss The Place. Very cool hamburger joint w/ natural cooling and dozens of kinds of beer. Great food value.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel deals
Riverside, CA
Apr 4, 2013

couples get away

the hotel was in a great location. We had an ocean front room but the rooms are very small. They charge you a resort fee which was quite high. The fee included welcome drinks, 4 bottles of water per day, wifi and $40 of casino match play money. They give you a card showing what is included with the resort fee but we had to ask for the drink cards and they only left 2 waters each day unless you asked for the others. Good amenities for a family with a pool with slide and right on the beach. The beach has warnings for swiming due to the current but everyone was in the water. Close to many restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ropa Viejo, excellent restaurant that was reccomended by hotel, 15 min. walk.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fireman Dave
Frederick, Maryland
Apr 3, 2013

San Juan Marriott and Stellaris Casino

Our trip to San Juan Marriott was outstanding. We had rain off and on tthe first couple of days, but we were able to work around that with all of the nearby attractions. We rented a car and drove to the East side of the Island, where it wasn't raining, and enjoyed a day of sightseeing. I would definatly rent a car again for the week, I felt very safe driving and the roads and highways are in good shape. We had an excellent day of ziplining and an excellent tour of Old San Juan and the forts. The hotel was in a great location for restaurants and shopping. The staff was outstanding and very helpful. All of their recommendations for sightseeing and places to eat were great, never had a bad meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to Loquillo one day and have lunch at the Food Kiosk. It is only about 30 minutes from the hotel, right off Highway 3 East, and a great place to sample all of the local foods at an econmical price. Go during mid week and go to the beach right out back. The water is very calm and during the week it is almost empty.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Kids
Boston
Mar 29, 2013

Definitely worth it

This definitely felt like a vacation. Great location, great service, great fun. We rented a car so we weren't at the resort all the time, but for the time we spent there it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tijuana's for dinner. The quesadillas are amazing. Their margaritas are a little too strong, but that may be a good thing.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DKRL
Scotch Plains, NJ
Mar 29, 2013

Family vacation

Perfect family vacation. Hotel staff was amazing, pool was great, rooms were nice. location very convenient to some great restaurants. Beach was great, only negative was no life guards. would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pinky's great breakfast.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boricua2
New Jersey
Mar 28, 2013

Great resort!

My family and I just came back from the Marriott and my family had a great time. My kids were very upset when we left and the staff was incredibly friendly. I cant think of one isse where the staff was helpful. My only issue is that the rooms were not big enough for myself, my wife and our two kids (13,10 years old) but I didn't get a suite so you get what you pay for. I couldn't recommend this hotel more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Orozco's Puerto Rican Restaurant 2 blocks down from the hotel. The food was awesome and reasonable.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margie from Maryland
Gaithersburg MD
Mar 26, 2013

If you travel alone, this is a great location!!

From the time of check in to seven days later, everything was available at this hotel: food on property and many within walking distance and price range, great swimming pools and well staffed and maintained beach, beautiful lobby and live music and a great casino. With so many smiling faces around, I was never lonely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Put on comfortable shoes and walk to Old San Juan early in the morning.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
real hillbilly
Illinois
Mar 19, 2013

Wish I could have stayed longer.

This hotel is expensive, but the view from our room was priceless. Only stayed 1 night after our cruise. If I could find a deal I would stay here for a week .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top