$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
836 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (836)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
836 out of 836
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Addict
Business
Miami, Florida
May 20, 2013

Phenomenal stay!

Just came back from this hotel and I am very pleased of my decision. Booked this hotel for a romantic weekend and couldn't be any happier with the service we received. Rooms and bathrooms are clean, spacious enough , the staff is super competent and accomodating, the hotel is conveniently located. They staff sets up your umbrellas and chairs at the beach for you, the server brings you food and drinks upon your request, there is a pool when you are tired of sea water. Yes, the drinks and food is a bit expansive, nothing too extreme ( I live in Miami, so to me it wasn't that much of a difference), however right across the street as well as within walking distance there are restaurants and bars at your disposal for a different choice of food and drinks. This is a great place to stay and you will not regret it. I am planning on coming back already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must say that across the street there is a little restaurant called " zuchero" - totally reccomend their passion fruit mimosas and breakfast menu

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irazola
Business
Yuma, Arizona
May 19, 2013

Great hotel & staff.

I have nothing negative to say about my experience. Overall the hotel and it's staff was great as well as the location. Would recommend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K1200GT
Business
Massachusetts
May 18, 2013

Getaway Stay

The overall stay was fine. The restuarant was somewhat pricey for what you got. Room was standard but housekeeping could have been a little better (like vacuuming the floors. Staff was helpful and courteous. Great massage at the spa. I last stayed here 11 years ago and everything seems pretty much the same

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try Fefo's in Old Town for a great lunch at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AWDRY
Business
L.A. , CA
May 9, 2013

Great choice!

We were extremely satisfied with the friendly staff at this hotel. It was our first time in Puerto Rico and the staff was very friendly. They gave us great suggestions and made the stay a very pleasant one. They very good customer service and the concierge was extremely helpful when planning our daily activities. We booked our sailing and snorkeling activity there as well as our hike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveloften2013
Business
new york
May 8, 2013

Best Hotel

this is the second time I stayed at this hotel and its perfect. The pool is beautiful. The location is great and its not far from Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Droyonna
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 8, 2013

Savoring San Juan - Our Pleasure

The friendly staff in every area is top drawer, like no other that we have encountered before. They all gave us warm smiles and were willing to answer all of our questions and respond to our requests. We appreciated the space and design of our room. The coffee counter and frige were in the perfect area. The safe worked like a charm (that hardly ever happens to us). Thank you for the magnified mirror. The quality of all materials and maintenance of the property reflectes the goal of the Company, to ensure that the guests return again and again. My husband and I, daughter and friend loved every minute there at Marriott Resort. Daughter and friend plan on visiting you again in October. Life is Great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Pepper
Business
Athens, GA
May 7, 2013

Two Thumbs Up

This was our first trip to Puerto Rico and we booked this hotel based on previous reviews. We were not disappointed. The location perfect, the food was great and the staff was awesome. I ding one star for two reasons: - The casino was very small and while we were there "on the weekend" less than 25% of the table games were ever available. - The bar area in the pool- while the bartenders were friendly the drinks were way over priced and not good. $15 for a 12oz rum punch and they use a pre mix instead of fresh ingredients, come on, the resort is too nice for that. One note: this resort seemed a lot more laid back and relaxed than the Conch or El San Juan. So for relaxation stay here or partying and gambling I'd recommend checking those other resorts out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit the Casa Lolo for some local cuisine. It was our best meal while in Puerto Rico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NLK89
Business
Chicago
May 6, 2013

Good not great

Enjoyed one night at the Marriott San Juan...great rooms, awesome pool, and a well-equipped gym all perfectly situated right on the coast in the well-heeled Condado neighborhood. On the whole, I enjoyed everything -- but, the hotel could have had a better procedure for check-in. I had to wait til 5pm (after the 4pm promised), and when I came to get my key, the line was extremely long. The hotel needs to have more front-desk staff to reduce inconvenience for customers. Definitely would recommend the hotel to friends/family though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Lover 87
Business
New York, NY
May 6, 2013

Relaxing Vacation

Clean hotel; spacious rooms; had an ocean view without even upgrading. Very family friendly. Hotel is nearby to a lot of restaurants and shopping, also nearby to bus stop, which goes into Old San Juan (10-15 min bus ride, 25 cents). Taxi ride was about $20 for 3 people to the hotel from the airport. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Be advised if you order from the waiter service at the beach or pool, or go to the outdoors bars (one overlooking ocean, one swim up in the pool), only credit/debit or room charge is accepted, no cash. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk in either direction (left or right) from the hotel you will find a big selection of restaurants; Mediterranean, American, Argentinian, Puerto Rican, Mexican. It's a safe area and the selection is much more varied (and more reasonably priced) than eating at the hotel restaurants every night!.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CBSJ
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 27, 2013

Fantastic on Condado

Last time I was there, the hotel lobby was under construction. It's been completed, and looks fantastic. Rooms, amenities and location are all top notch. Highly recommend staying here, and will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining options, both in the hotel and along the strip just steps outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top