$309 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 9, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
View map of 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
851 reviews
Love my trip,will come back to visit.

the hotel is nice, beautiful and good location, good staff. See full review

  • LINH P.
  • Mar 2, 2015
exellent stay

Stayed four night here. accidently met the "22 jump street" shotting at this hotel. Had a wonderful... See full review

  • Suwen D.
  • Feb 27, 2015
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.
Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (851)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
851 out of 851
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cruz
Business
Seattle, WA.
Oct 20, 2011

Great Place to Stay

Hotel was comfortable and clean, we checked in and was told that our Ocean front room only had a double bed, I told them that I had personaly requested a King size bed, the manager overheard our conversation and got us the room with the King size bed and on the 12th floor, the view was awesome and the sound of the ocean was terrific we slept everynight with the sliding door opened, place is still under construction but it was not a problem, the only thing I didn't like was the price of the drinks @ $10.00 for a cup of Pina Colada and the Resort Fee plus paying $16.00 a day for Parking. We decided to buy our drinks somewhere else, location was great and the pool was very nice even thought its a shallow pool and not deep @ all, we also took the Bus to Old San Juan for .75 cents and saved a few bucks, overall a nice place to stay, we didn't go into the casino this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Varitas @ the Conrad Hotel, fine dining @ very reasonable prices and food to die for!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Starlene
Business
Bowie, Maryland
Oct 24, 2011

Girls' Trip

My friends and I take an annual girls' trip and this is our second stay at the Marriott. It is a lovely beach/casino resort in a prime location. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. The pool area is nice and the waiter/waitress service at the pool and the beach is awesome. However, the bar menu and the drinks are a little pricey. Overall, our stay was excellent and we will vacation here again in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at Tuscany restaurant is simply decadent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thewoodman
Business
Florida, USA
Nov 1, 2011

What a way to celebrate a wedding anniversary

Even though the lobby was in disarray due to remodeling for HIGH-Season, this Marriot was close enough to Old San Juan, and close enough to the airport to make travel convenient to either. Taxis are everywhere, so are the policia. There is a bus system, though we never really could find a schedule or route map, limiting access to some travel. We were there to relax, however, so big trips were no in our plans. Everyone on staff was friendly and helpful, except the one person paid to be, the CONCIERGE. What a waste of a resource! No matter what we wanted to know, her answer was: ask the front desk or call house-keeping. Now, why would the front desk or housekeeping know anything about a bus route or schedule or how we could procure some tea without having it delivered to our room by room service? HHMMM??!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many local flavors to behold. I never knew that mofongo could be made in so many different ways or that humus could be a main course dish. What taste distinction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomDadandKids
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Family getaway

Perfect for a long weekend with children who only want to play in pool or at the beach. Staff was very nice and accomodating and plenty of options for eating out. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RonsReview
Business
New Jersey, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Great value

Really got our money's worth. Great location. We enjoyed restaurants, casino, pool. Everyone was nice and very helpful. beach could have been kept cleaner, but I believe the town controls that. I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tuscany restaurant in the Hotel was fantastic. Don't pass it up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brakkus
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 10, 2011

Great attached beach and location

Although a bit touristy, I enjoyed myself at this hotel and found it to be a nice alternative to the even more touristy (and less beachy) San Juan options. There was a Hertz counter and a local tours counter, both of which were pretty helpful to my girlfriend and I during our stay. The only major complaints I had were the concierge who wasn't very knowledgeable at all (in fact, the hotel clerks and Hertz clerk were more informative) and the breakfast buffet is a bit overrated, even if it's a good deal. The main highlights for us were the fact that it was on a nice beach with good availability on lounge chairs (we went in off-season in early Nov) and the amenities/location: rental car pickup spot, nearby Starbucks/Walgreens, nearby bike rental (mopeds too), near San Juan without being *in* San Juan, and swim-up bar (although truth be told it wasn't staffed while we were there).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tock
Business
nyc
Nov 16, 2011

Vacation

was relaxing! should have rented a car...bar inside the pool was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cg family
Business
New Jersey, USA
Nov 15, 2011

First family trip to Puerto Rico

When we first arrived, the standard room that they booked us into was too small for me and my wife plus our 2 sons, even though I indicated online their ages (11 & 15). The pull out couch was a cot. But the Marriot staff were very accomodating. They let me know about a slightly bigger double that would be available for $50/day more at midweek. Definitely worht the price of the upgrade. The Resort was perfect for us with 2 pools and beach access. The staff was wonderful to deal with. Food and drinks at the resort is a little pricely, but that's what I would expect. There are plenty of great restaurants right outside of the hotel, plus a Walgreens nearby for convenience items. Location: It's a short 10 minute ride to the airport (cab fare, $16, is regulated by zones). You are close to Old San Juan (beautiful).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luigi and Mario Bros
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Great

The only BUT I have is that the room needed to be clean on a daily basis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave from Watertown
Business
Watertown, MA
Nov 18, 2011

Great hotel

Stayed here on a trip to San Juan with my wife. Thought the location was very good -- close enough to the airport for a short trip and on a nice stretch of beach close to a number of restaurants. The parking garage was fine and we were prepared for and fine with the daily fee. The room was clean and the staff friendly. We liked having a Starbucks right across the street. The beach was fine, though we didn't do much out there since the sea was pretty rough. Poolside was fine too -- did a lot of reading -- there's plenty of shade and lots of seating. Kids seemed to love the pool slide. We ate at the Italian restaurant and it was very good. Didn't do the casino but it's nice to have the option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top