$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
837 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Dining

Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.
Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (837)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
837 out of 837
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terriemom
Business
Midlothian, Va
Jul 26, 2013

Trip to San Juan

The room had a great view and was clean and comfortable. The staff was always friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drrich
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Jul 23, 2013

Quick adventure trip with my Dad and brother

Due to weather conditions we arrived to San Juan much later than we planned. We were supposed to arrive at 8pm but got there around 1230am. I called both hotel and car rental agency to inform them of late arrival. The car rental would be closed and we'd have to pick up car next morning. The Marriott said there would be no problems, and there wasn't. The check-in was smooth and we were brought up to our 15th floor ocean front room. The room was standard size and nice and clean and they brought us a single roll out bed for my brother since there were 3 of us. In retrospect, we spent so little time in the room, I doubt I'd pay for the ocean front room upgrade again. It was nice but I felt like I wasted money for the upgrade. The only issue we had with the room was the AC unit was broken the first night. They sent maintenance by (it was 130am) and he pushed a button and said it would be fine in 15 min, but it wasn't. We were all too tired and fell asleep. The room was humid and it was difficult to sleep because the AC was still not working and only blowing some coolish air out. We complained at the front desk the next morning and they completely fixed it while we were out on excursions during that day and it was fine from then on. They apologized and gave us 2 free nights of parking which came out to $32 savings. In the hotel fee charges you get 4 bottles of water daily, some $5 casino match coupons, wifi, but not parking which is $16 a day to self park. The location of the hotel is good, in a safe area with many police patrolling, and plenty of restaurants and night life with in a short walk to the hotel. It is approx a 10-12 min cab ride from the airport which is about $24 flat fee and a couple of dollars for excess baggage. Overall, I like the hotel, it's location and would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay Superman
Business
New York, New York
Jul 10, 2013

Great hotel

Great hotel. Service was great. Constant entertainment in the lobby. So much fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunbathed Sweetie
Business
Texas
Jul 9, 2013

Anniversary Celebration

We recently spent a week here and it was our best experience yet. The staff was very accomodating to our needs. The room was super clean and everything changed every day by housekeeping service. They have a good size pool compared to the others we saw in the area and it is also beautifully landscaped. The beach is steps away. The bar serves fantastic drinks and there are waiters that everywhere that can bring you a drink to the pool or beach. Also, upon arrival you are served 2 complimentary drinks but they also serve then everyday around noon if you are on the lobby. They provide towels to use while at pool or beach. They will set up chairs and umbrellas. We had a beachfront room with a breathtaking view. We would sit at our balcony early in the morning and late at night just to listen to the waves crashing. The hotel is located in a nice and safe are to walk to restaurants, shops and bars. One thing we loved is that we felt very safe in this area because there are police officers that are visible everywhere at all times of day. They are very friendly and helpful. The old San Juan is about 2 mins away if you are driving. You must visit. The souvenir shops there have the cheapest prices. There are a lot of restaurants and bars too. It's a beautiful and colorful area to go walk and take pictures in the afternoon and stay for dinner and enjoy the music and ambiance. We also visited the rainforest (el Yunque). This is THE place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to try authentic Puerto Rican food there are a couple of restaurants nearby that serve good food and not expensive. We liked Orozco's and Latin Star serves good breakfast and very cheap too. One thing I will say is that the service in most restaurants is not the best. The waiters take for ever to help you. That was the one thing I disliked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trip organizer
Business
new york
Jul 8, 2013

great family getaway

This was a great family getaway. It was on a beautiful clean beachfront. There was always plenty of chairs and umbrellas supplied for free. I would highly recommend it for a family looking for a very relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

i would recommend walking anywhere to the right of the hotel for reasonable places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blair and Jen travel
Business
Decatur, GA
Jul 6, 2013

best beach hotel ever

The Marriott was perfectly situated right on the beach - it was the only hotel in condado that had beach access AND a pool. They provide chairs, towels, beach toys, and a bar with delicious drinks! We had such a great time staying there, we would stay there again in a heartbeat. We ate breakfast at the restaurant there, which was pretty good. The hotel is right in the middle of many, many restaurant choices, so we ventured out for food instead of eating there. The staff was helpful and provided maps, directions, and anything else we needed. Overal this was a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Punk Burger is listed as a great place for burgers, but they are actually a great breakfast place as well. Very affordable and delicious. Also, Pinkys serves up a wonderful, healthy breakfast with a lot of food for the best prices we encountered.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KCAC
Business
New York, NY
Jun 28, 2013

Very comfortable stay

The rooms are very nice and reflect the relaxing area of PR. We loved that during our rainy stay, Carlos at Concierge was always able to recommend great restaurants and things to do. Good stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Marmalade for a delicious dinner, Picateo for amazing tapas! Also, try Pilico for the best pizza we have had.. even as native NY'ers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shawn and family
Business
Texas
Jun 26, 2013

Puerto Rico vacation

Great location, comfortable bed, nice breakfast, great beach. Cons: expensive drinks, double size bed not queen, slow elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at bar Gitano across the street -fabulous tapas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dolly0107
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 26, 2013

Our Puerto Rico Stay

Pros: This hotel is very accomodating and comfortable. They are very staffed and offer the whole beach vacation experience. The heated pool and backyard beach access is just as you would wish it would be. We paid extra for an upgraded view, which was amazing to wake up to. Awesome gym, awesome casino. Overall, we only have minimal complaints. Cons: We requested a couples massage from their Dayspa and it was the WORST massage we ever had. They are NOT professionals. Furthermore, we initially asked for 80 minutes, and only got 50. A blessing in disguise, we did not pay the additional costs. But dont waste your money. Another small complaint, its so nice that they will serve your drinks on the beach, but the waiter/waitresses barely come around. You have to flag them down or walk over and ask. Should have more staff on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KPAB
Business
South Florida
Jun 25, 2013

Average stay

Overall it was a great experience. The only complainant is that the bathrooms are way too small. You feel cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top