$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
837 reviews
Great hotel!

I would definitely recommened this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Juan, PR!! The staff there... See full review

  • Princess1002
  • Oct 6, 2014
Lucy & Ethel Part II

You know us as Lucy & Ethel from our trip a year ago when we fell in love with the Marriott, its... See full review

  • Lucy and Ethel
  • Oct 2, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.
Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (837)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
837 out of 837
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Droyonna
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 8, 2013

Savoring San Juan - Our Pleasure

The friendly staff in every area is top drawer, like no other that we have encountered before. They all gave us warm smiles and were willing to answer all of our questions and respond to our requests. We appreciated the space and design of our room. The coffee counter and frige were in the perfect area. The safe worked like a charm (that hardly ever happens to us). Thank you for the magnified mirror. The quality of all materials and maintenance of the property reflectes the goal of the Company, to ensure that the guests return again and again. My husband and I, daughter and friend loved every minute there at Marriott Resort. Daughter and friend plan on visiting you again in October. Life is Great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Addict
Business
Miami, Florida
May 20, 2013

Phenomenal stay!

Just came back from this hotel and I am very pleased of my decision. Booked this hotel for a romantic weekend and couldn't be any happier with the service we received. Rooms and bathrooms are clean, spacious enough , the staff is super competent and accomodating, the hotel is conveniently located. They staff sets up your umbrellas and chairs at the beach for you, the server brings you food and drinks upon your request, there is a pool when you are tired of sea water. Yes, the drinks and food is a bit expansive, nothing too extreme ( I live in Miami, so to me it wasn't that much of a difference), however right across the street as well as within walking distance there are restaurants and bars at your disposal for a different choice of food and drinks. This is a great place to stay and you will not regret it. I am planning on coming back already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must say that across the street there is a little restaurant called " zuchero" - totally reccomend their passion fruit mimosas and breakfast menu

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa and graduate
Business
Rock Hill, SC
May 22, 2013

Outstanding

We had an exceptionally great experience at this hotel. The food, staff, amenities where all top of the line. We could not ask for anything more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jmsonic
Business
Frederick, MD
Jun 2, 2013

Hotel with everything you ever wanted!

This is the hotel you want to book. The Marriott in San Juan was amazing. Everything (room, staff, bars, pool, beach, entertainment, etc.) was much better than expected. We've stayed at other hotels in the area, but nothing compares or even comes close. We'll always come back to the Marriott for future trips to San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

While it is tempting to stay in the hotel for everything, you can find some really authentic food nearby in the La Plaza (ask the locals). It a bit of a walk from the hotel (10-15 minutes) and includes walking through some interesting areas, but it is well worth it. Otherwise, you can also take the Parada bus to Old San Juan (75 cents per person). It's much better than the $12 the taxi driver wanted to charge us. Once in Old San Juan, the trolley is free, so you can get around the town for very little money. There's plenty of good shopping and restaurants, as well as the two forts. No need to sign up for a tour, just fine the free trolley and ride around all day for free. Just hope off whenever you see anything interesting!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunbathed Sweetie
Business
Texas
Jul 9, 2013

Anniversary Celebration

We recently spent a week here and it was our best experience yet. The staff was very accomodating to our needs. The room was super clean and everything changed every day by housekeeping service. They have a good size pool compared to the others we saw in the area and it is also beautifully landscaped. The beach is steps away. The bar serves fantastic drinks and there are waiters that everywhere that can bring you a drink to the pool or beach. Also, upon arrival you are served 2 complimentary drinks but they also serve then everyday around noon if you are on the lobby. They provide towels to use while at pool or beach. They will set up chairs and umbrellas. We had a beachfront room with a breathtaking view. We would sit at our balcony early in the morning and late at night just to listen to the waves crashing. The hotel is located in a nice and safe are to walk to restaurants, shops and bars. One thing we loved is that we felt very safe in this area because there are police officers that are visible everywhere at all times of day. They are very friendly and helpful. The old San Juan is about 2 mins away if you are driving. You must visit. The souvenir shops there have the cheapest prices. There are a lot of restaurants and bars too. It's a beautiful and colorful area to go walk and take pictures in the afternoon and stay for dinner and enjoy the music and ambiance. We also visited the rainforest (el Yunque). This is THE place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to try authentic Puerto Rican food there are a couple of restaurants nearby that serve good food and not expensive. We liked Orozco's and Latin Star serves good breakfast and very cheap too. One thing I will say is that the service in most restaurants is not the best. The waiters take for ever to help you. That was the one thing I disliked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trip organizer
Business
new york
Jul 8, 2013

great family getaway

This was a great family getaway. It was on a beautiful clean beachfront. There was always plenty of chairs and umbrellas supplied for free. I would highly recommend it for a family looking for a very relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

i would recommend walking anywhere to the right of the hotel for reasonable places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay Superman
Business
New York, New York
Jul 10, 2013

Great hotel

Great hotel. Service was great. Constant entertainment in the lobby. So much fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HLM2013
Business
New Haven County, CT
Jun 9, 2013

Another wonderful stay in PR

This was my 2nd trip to PR, but first time staying at the Marriott and I will definitely be back to this hotel next year! The location was amazing with lots of restaurants within walking distance (breakfast at Pinky's and Ben & Jerry's were my favorite meals!) and a short bus ride (75 cents each way) to Old San Juan (do not pay for a cab, the bus was SO easy!). As for the hotel, the staff were all knowledgeable and friendly. I used the gym a few times and enjoyed that and even went to a yoga class across the street at Condado studio one morning. The hotel also offers yoga classes too, I just did not get the chance to try one out. The room was spacious and clean as well; we did not pay for an ocean view but ended up having a partial ocean view as our room was on the side of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terriemom
Business
Midlothian, Va
Jul 26, 2013

Trip to San Juan

The room had a great view and was clean and comfortable. The staff was always friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wonder Woman 43
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 6, 2013

Lost in Paradise!

Our hotel balcony was amazing!!!!....The staff was very helpful and courteous! The tour desk answered all of our questions. Old San Juan was one of our first destinations. Its beautiful walking thru the streets. The weather was just perfect. Be prepared to walk a lot, so wear comfy shoes. We went to the Yunque Rainforest, which offers an amazing waterfall view. Right after we went to the Yokahu Tower and I was in awe of how amazing the island really is. We decided to go to the island of Culebra, which you have to drive to Fajardo (an hour away- we took a taxi at $75), and wait in line for the ferry to take you to the island. I suggest you get to Fajardo at 4am. You will wait in line at least 3-4hours! We arrived to Culebra and headed to Flamenco Beach. This is a must!!!! You will see why once you arrive-its worth the wait. The water is gorgeous ! Everything is walking distance from the hotel,and the area felt very safe! The beach was literally right infront of the hotel, and I felt Lost in Paradise! Definitely loved our experience and would come back to the Marriott without question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Orozco's ...its right next to a souvenir shop. the Mofongo there is amazing!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top