$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

4 stars
1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
828 reviews
Short Stay

Just stayed for one night. However the place was very nice. The staff was very helpful and... See full review

  • m1123
  • Jul 28, 2014
Bachelor's getaway

Close to everything .. Loved the ambiance .. Thanks for the executive suite was a nice experience See full review

  • African traveller
  • Jul 24, 2014
Four diamond extravagance is offered to all guests at the Marriot San Juan Resort, keeping adults entertained with champagne-style pleasure, while wowing kids with games and waterslides. An oasis among Puerto Rico's party atmosphere, the hotel features grand architecture, neutral decor, surrounding vistas and tall palm trees. Exotic dark wood paneling and granite tops make every suite feel like a more refined version of home. Five restaurants serve up delicious continental cuisine, and the on-site Stellaris casino gives guests the chance to hedge their bets at Texas Hold’em poker. With two outdoor pools to swim through, and spa treatments to enjoy, it's really no surprise that the Puerto Rico Tourism Company named this hotel Best of The Best for all around quality and service.
Key facts
  • All suites have balconies
  • Flat-screen TV and mini-fridges
  • Spa and sauna
  • Casino
  • 5 restaurants: Red Coral Lounge, La Vista Latin Grill & Bar, La Isla Beach Bar, Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop, Wan Chai Noodle Bar
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • Tennis court and game room
  • 2 swimming pools and a waterslide
  • Laundry facilities
  • Whirlpool
Neighborhood
Walk out of your suite and straight onto the sandy beach that the resort nudges. The city-side neighborhood has a Starbucks with a Puerto Rican slant, giving you classic coffees along with a menu full of San Juan staples. Old San Juan is only a short walk away, lined with a rainbow of historical fortresses and buzzing with nightlife, dancing and cuisine. For a quieter encounter with nature, the El Yunque Tropical Rainforest begs to be explored
Hints and tips

Oceanfront and First Floor Cabana rooms give visitors panoramic mountain and ocean views.

Those in search of a silent night should book a higher floor, away from the casino.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4556 -66.0702
Area served
Condado, Old San Juan, San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Guaynabo, Rio Piedras, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 5 miles
Area description
Located in the prestigious Condado area of San Juan, on Condado Beach. Immediate access to San Juan's business district, venues of shopping, dinning, theater, night life, historical and cultural landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino Rooms

City View
City view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Pool View
Pool/ocean view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.
Ocean Front View
Ocean Front view features 1 king bed or 2 double beds balcony, workstation, high-speed Internet access, 2 phones w/data line, iron-board, hairdryer, coffee maker, and safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.8 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.5 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
The Ocean Front fun bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open for lunch and dinner.
Coffee Merchant & Bake Shop
For a delicious quick bite visit our Coffee Merchant located at the lobby serving freshly ground mountain grown Puerto Rican coffee. Enjoy made from scratch, lunches, breads, deli sandwiches, fresh cakes and pastries prepared by our award wining pastry chef Fico. Open every day from 6am - 10pm.
Room Service
Featuring a wide variety of goodies in the concenience of your room. Open daily from 6am to midnight.
Red Coral Lounge
The most exhilarating bar in town featuring live entertainment and dancing every night. Open daily from 12noon on.
Wan Chai Noodle Bar
Extraordinary mixture of scents and flavors distinctive of the vibrant region of Hong Kong. Authentic Asian Cuisine for eat in or take out. Located inside the Stellaris Casino. Open daily for dinner only.
La Vista Restaurant
Our casual restaurant, serves typical, regional dishes. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet and also "a la Carte Menu". Open daily from 6am to midnight.
La Isla Grill and Pool Bar
Swim-up pool bar and grill. Open daily for lunch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
11,000 sq ft of total meeting space. 10 Meeting rooms including a 7,000 sq ft Ballroom divisible in four sections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (828)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
828 out of 828
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vcer
New Jersey
Jan 15, 2013

I CANNOT WAIT TO GET BACK HERE

I treated my brand new boyfriend for his birthday, took him to PR. I absolutely loved everything about this resort from the convenient location to the bars, casinos, buffet. It is right on the shore, the beach was absolutely beautiful. The pool areas had plasma televisions and lights inside the pool at night. We had a suite with the King Bed and city view, the view left me speechless. It was a dream... When I go back, I hope to get the same room :-). This was my 1st time in Puerto Rico. I'm so happy I chose San Juan and I was very smart to choose the Marriot/Stellaris. I now have plans of making a permanent move to PR within the next 5 years and I plan to visit PR at least once per year until my move is permanent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drinks and Food were a little costly. But there are fast food restaurants in the vicinity.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 9, 2009

Marriot San Juan Stellaris

The hotel had excellent service from the front desk, bar, restaraunt, and beach. The rooms were clean and we had a wonderful view of the ocean and pool. The only downside was the price of food and drinks within the resort itself. We enjoyed the convenience of getting everything brought to our beach chairs but it was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk either way on the street the hotel is on and find good food options.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Auburn, MA.
May 27, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Family vacation with two teenagers.Hotel was very comfortable. Nice pool, beach, and casino.Rooms were clean, and people who worked there were very friendly and helpful. We had no car so everything was on foot or by a taxi. Enjoyed going to Old San Juan, and the large shopping mall in San Juan. Wanted to do the rain forest , and a duck tour, but the week we were there in late May, we had rainy days. Sun in the AM and downpours in the afternoons.The lobby at the hotel is great, with alot of music esp. on the weekends.Tuscany(Italian Restaurant) in hotel was excellent. Go for the specials. Breakfast at the hotel was expensive . There are a few places to eat on the same street. We enjoyed the pool and swim up bar. Great pina coladas!Relaxing week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop in Old San Juan, or at the plazais des Americas (largest shopping mall in the carribean). It is beautiful.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Traveler from NJ
Highland Park, NJ
Jul 11, 2009

Had a great time!

The Marriot is a beautiful hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. Located on the beach and having a pool, allows for variation during the day. The gift shop and restaurants are expensive. You can find both out on Ashford Ave. at a cheaper price. Take the Old San Juan, Bacardi Tour. It is well worth the money and knowledge of history. Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restaurants on Ashford Ave. They are a close, safe walk and the food is wonderful.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, MO
Aug 9, 2009

Excellent hotel.

Excellnet hotel. Rooms very clean and quiet. Very helpfull staff. Nothing to complain. Love the beach! Very clean and the waves are a plus!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC, NY
Aug 19, 2009

great location for the price

Although we traveled alone as a couple, we had family staying elsewhere on the island with a young child. They really appreciated the pool, water slide,etc. The hours were very flexible and the staff very accomodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tierra Santa is a wonderful mideastern restaurant. the food is exceptional, the atmosphere relaxing and there is even belly dancing on the weekends.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauren & Dan
Ewing, NJ
Aug 30, 2009

Wonderful place to stay

This was a great hotel. The pool and beach were great and all of the staff was very friendly and helpful. There were some great restaurants in the hotel and within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan and the Bacardi Factory were cool things to see.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norwalk, CT
Aug 31, 2009

Great location for a great price

The beach and ocean were beautiful. The hotel and rooms were nice and clean. I love that they have balconies. We had chose a city view room. If you decide to choose that, when you get there ask for a nice city view. I did that and half of the view ended up being the beach. It was gorgeous! I loved everything about the hotel except for the overpriced food/drinks and that there were kids everywhere at the pool. One of the pools should be adult only. As far as food, there are restaurants in walking distance. Another problem was when I called someone to come up to my room to heat up food I had, they never came. And the bell boy had to be reminded twice to come get our bags at checkout. But other than that the whole trip and hotel stay was definitely worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat at the hotel! If you go to the consierge, they will give you a list of restaurants and the type of food within the area.

Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 14, 2009

Nice Vacation

Service was great... the staff ALWAYS helped my fiance and me with our baby's stroller. They were very helpful in getting us aquainted with local places to eat and tours. The restaurant in the hotel was pricey, but would you expect anything less from the Marriott? The rooms were clean, the beach was intimate, and the location is great. We're planning to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moi
New York
Sep 26, 2009

Overall nice place

Overall, this was a great hotel to stay at and by far the best thing about it was the EXCELLENT service we received. It was clean & had a great location as far as being the best spot on the beach. It's a great place to be if you don't want to venture out. Don't get me wrong, there are good places to eat surrounding the hotel, but I felt that a few hotels down the street had more going on and were a little closer to things I wanted to do. I had a good experience here, but honestly would probably stay at a different hotel next time for the reasons mentioned above. P.S. Go for the ocean view room, it's totally worth it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
June bug
King of Prussia, Pa
Mar 28, 2010

spring vacation

We were here for rest & relaxation. I loved everything about the hotel, it was our 2nd time here. The food and hotel service was wonderful. We ate at some local retaurants as well which were within walking distance. The only drawback was our room had a musty smell and the carpet felt damp at first. We were able to have the sliding doors open all the time so that helped & the temp was comfortable, otherwise we would've asked for a room change. Our rooms view was very nice & ours was a mid-priced room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

some really good local restaurants

Back to menu Return to top

Change search