$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
43 reviews
pre-cruise

we stayed one night pre cruise in Le Consulat and found it wonderful. within walking distance to... See full review

  • musicman
  • May 21, 2013
couple getaway

It was a pretty good stay. It says that you get cable but it only gives you like 6 cable channels.... See full review

  • Quis
  • Jan 4, 2014
Small hotel, big on charm, in Condado District
Le Consulat is located on quiet, tree-lined Magdalena Street in the Condado District. The small but mighty boutique hotel is in the middle of an area popular for its shopping, dining and nightlife. The hotel is also just minutes from the beautiful Condado Beach. Small touches such as a reading nook on its third floor add up to big charm. Le Consulat has a lovely enclosed pool area, including a swimming pool and a hot tub fed by a waterfall, with tables and lounge chairs. The rooms are tidy and contemporary.
Highlights
  • The golden sands of Condado Beach just blocks away
  • Located in the glitzy Condado district
  • Situated on a quiet, tree-lined street
Rooms

The 20 rooms at Le Consulat are basic and tidy, but they're warmly decorated with walnut headboards and nightstands, colorful easy chairs and decorative lamps. Some rooms have balconies, private patios, work desks and sofa sleepers. All have bright bathrooms with gleaming white tile, basin sinks and wood accents. Wi-Fi is available in every room.

Recreation

There is a pool and whirlpool on-site, and Condado Beach is just a few blocks from the Consulat.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Plaza las Americas (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (4 mi/6.4km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout hotel  
Policies and fees

There is an operational charge of $3 per day at Le Consulat.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4558 -66.0737
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Int'l Arpt, (SJU), 4.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Airport, Condado Central

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Multilingual
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Sofa bed

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.9 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.9 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 43
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooke Lynn 718
Brooklyn, ny
Nov 13, 2012

Affordable, great staff, poor room

I stood there with my four friends and my sister and the location is pretty good, just a block away from the beach. There were quite a few problems with our room. The door kept getting stuck because it rubbed against the floor, the couch was ripped, and there were no decorations at all. The staff was very helpful though. We were stuck in PR for hurricane sandy and they reduced the rate for us a few times. This is a good stay if you only need a place to sleep. Very affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orozcos around the block has great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DD55
Idaho, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Get get away

If you don't need all the frills this is a great little place to stay. Sheets are kind of thread bare and they are short on wash cloths But it is very clean, Great staff and the perfect location. I definatly will be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There a several restaurants within 2 blocks in any direction you go and the beach is only 2 blocks away and Walgreens 1 block away. What more do you need?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Aug 4, 2011

good place to stay, informative receptio

hotel room is nice,but without fridge. staff at reception are really helpful,giving information on tours, car rental, and calling taxi. They offer guests free parking nearby. Walgreen is one block away, beach is two blocks away. It also has a small swimming pool, tho I am too busy touring around to try them. They no longer provide free breakfast voucher in a cafe nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to walgreen and ashford ave which is the main street for dining, shopping and metro transit to old san juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SC-nyc
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2010

Good budget hotel

Good hotel for the budget traveler. Really, no frills and very basic service. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I found the hotel room size adequate for me and a friend- 1 queen bed, a sofa, small work table and a spacious closet (with safe, for $1.50 a day. I didn't use it, and all my belongings and money were still there.) There is a spacious shower. I was pleasantly surprised that my room had an adjoining patio- didn't spend too much time out there, but nice place to sit with coffee and make some phone calls in the morning. There was free wi-fi as well. The pool area is small and not too exciting, but not too many other guests were using it while we were there, so it was a nice, quiet and private place too cool off at the end of the day. The room was relatively clean - although on some days the towels were frayed. They always brought new towels whenever I requested, though. The hotel is in a great location (on Magdalena Avenue, but really behind Ashford Avenue, where all the shops, hotels, and beach entrances are). There are some really nice restaurants right on Ashford Avenue as well. The bus stop is a 1 minute walk away (right by La Concha hotel) and you can take the B21 to Old San Juan. There's not too much to do in the hotel itself- there is no cafe on site, and just about 17 channels on the TV ( of which 2 or 3 are in Spanish, and the rest are USA, TNT, NBC-Virgin Islands, Discovery, CNN and I think FOX.) Bottom line, this hotel is great if you want a place to keep your stuff while you explore the city and just rest when you come at night- and maybe cool off by the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants and cafes within walking distance. Pelayo (coffee place) is located on the block right across the hotel(Calle Luisa, I believe). Picachos Cafe is on Ashford Avenue, a little before the Conrad hotel. Ropa Vieja was a great Cuban/PuertoRican place (try the Ropa Vieja Mofonguitos). Pinky's is a sandwich place on Ashford by the Marriott. And there are a ton of other restaurants near by on Ashford. Walgreens is near the hotel, and good place to stock up on ameneties. By the La Concha hotel is the local Parada (Bus station), and for 75 cents you can take the B21 to old san juan (vs. $16 for the taxi. On the weekdays and mornings, the bus services was fairly frequent. I would try to share a cab on Sundays and during the nights).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn ny
Jun 17, 2010

Good trip

Nice quiet hotel, great location close to restuarants, beach & casino. Would have been so much better if it had a fridge & microwave to store & heat our left over food because it was sooo good & we usually couldn't finish our plate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LSB
Corona Ca
Mar 29, 2010

one night stand

I read other reviews before staying at this hotel and I kind of had my doubts. Lets face it its not the Hilton but for a one night stand waiting for a cruise this place was great. There were a few of us so we had three rooms. It was clean. the staff was very nice and helpful. We did have to wait for towels but wasn't a big deal. The rooms are small and so is the pool but we we weren't staying there for our vacation. There is a great night life just around the corner and the beach is a two minute walk. If your going on a cruise i would stay here. They will hold your bags while you explore Puerto Rico while waiting to board your ship. Old San Juan is about ten minutes away via bus or taxi. .75 takes you there via the bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rickety crickets
philadelphia
Dec 21, 2009

Friendly, helpfull, convenient

We had to move our flight back one day due to a blizzard, so we booked a room here. The staff was very friendly and competant. The room was nice, clean with quality sheets and bedspreads. Parking was off site (around the block), but the gave us a pass for it. Beach is a couple blocks away and there were plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jul 31, 2009

Clean, Affordable, Chic Location

Our plane was delayed and we weren't sure when we'd arrive, so I called the hotel and they were very accomodating. When we got there, the girl at the desk was really friendly, and over the few days we were there it felt like we became friends with the desk staff. Whenever we asked for directions, they'd actually walk out into the street to point us the way. The room itself was small but really clean, with tile floors and nice art on the walls - a Picasso print, an Andy Warhol... not the usual hotel stuff. It had a comfortable bed and flat screen tv, and a nice size, clean bathroom. The pool out back was small but clean and private feeling. The location was great - walkable to beaches, restaurants and stores, and access to bus lines to go to Old San Juan and Isla Verde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus to get around - it costs $0.75! It gets you all over the city economically, so your money is not wasted on taxis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top