$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
43 reviews
couple getaway

It was a pretty good stay. It says that you get cable but it only gives you like 6 cable channels.... See full review

  • Quis
  • Jan 4, 2014
pre-cruise

we stayed one night pre cruise in Le Consulat and found it wonderful. within walking distance to... See full review

  • musicman
  • May 21, 2013
Small hotel, big on charm, in Condado District
Le Consulat is located on quiet, tree-lined Magdalena Street in the Condado District. The small but mighty boutique hotel is in the middle of an area popular for its shopping, dining and nightlife. The hotel is also just minutes from the beautiful Condado Beach. Small touches such as a reading nook on its third floor add up to big charm. Le Consulat has a lovely enclosed pool area, including a swimming pool and a hot tub fed by a waterfall, with tables and lounge chairs. The rooms are tidy and contemporary.
Highlights
  • The golden sands of Condado Beach just blocks away
  • Located in the glitzy Condado district
  • Situated on a quiet, tree-lined street
Rooms

The 20 rooms at Le Consulat are basic and tidy, but they're warmly decorated with walnut headboards and nightstands, colorful easy chairs and decorative lamps. Some rooms have balconies, private patios, work desks and sofa sleepers. All have bright bathrooms with gleaming white tile, basin sinks and wood accents. Wi-Fi is available in every room.

Recreation

There is a pool and whirlpool on-site, and Condado Beach is just a few blocks from the Consulat.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Plaza las Americas (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (4 mi/6.4km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout hotel  
Policies and fees

There is an operational charge of $3 per day at Le Consulat.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Multilingual
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Sofa bed

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.9 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.9 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 43
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
musicman
Business
Iva, SC
May 21, 2013

pre-cruise

we stayed one night pre cruise in Le Consulat and found it wonderful. within walking distance to restaurants and the room (for) 5 was awesome. Two queens and a pull out. Staff was great. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Night life
Business
Minnesota, USA
Feb 5, 2013

Excellent place to stay for 1 or 2 nights

Clean hotel, close to the beach, friendly staff, near many restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomkatsmeow
Business
Nebraska
Mar 29, 2012

average

Desk clerks were very accomodating and informative. Doors on room dragged.Room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LA626
Business
NY
Feb 19, 2012

quiet side of town

beds were fine, pull out couch very uncomfortable, quiet, good location to get to isla grande, would not recommend for more than 4 people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NECKO
Business
ST.THOMAS,VI
Nov 22, 2011

GREAT HOTEL

THIS WAS A WONDERFUL HOMEY FEELING. THE AREA IS GREAT AND WALKING DISTANCE TO EVERYTHING WE WANTED AND NEEDED. WE (MY SON AND i) ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nenamami
Business
syracuse,ny
May 31, 2010

condado

The hotel is in a prime location where you really don't need a car if you want to stay in the tourist area. The only other enjoyable thing about this hotel was the staff. The first night I got there my bed was made but with dirty sheets. I asked for new sheets and the comforter was stained with blood. All the towels were stained up. There is only one cleaning lady for the whole hotel and her hair was on everything. Again the front desk staff was very friendly and attentive, other than that I was not very impressed. Based on the cleanliness I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

So not eat on the main strip in the tourist area as it is very costly. For a short drive you can find some of the best Puerto Rican cuisine at a very cheap price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Feb 21, 2010

Awful!!!!

I don't normally do reviews, but this was hotel was so terrible I had to take the opportunity to warn others away. Do not stay in this hotel! We used this hotel as a one overnight before getting on a cruise in San Juan. We arrived late, about midnight. The room was small, and the floors were filthy. The shower had no water pressure and the inside of the shower itself made me wish I had packed "shower shoes", I didn't want to step inside. But that wasn't the worst. About 20 minutes later there was a battery of gunshots. We came outside our room to see if there was an issue and was told there was a manhunt on our street to find someone who had just shot two police officers. There were police cars, helicopters and loud speaker annoucements for 3 hours! We were told to go back into our rooms and lock the doors. The next morning the staff at the hotel was nonchalant about the whole thing telling us they "caught the guy" and that was it. Apparently there isn't a "felony discount" on the hotel price if your stuck in the hotel due to a manhunt. Overall it was a terrible experience and if I could give negative stars I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Jan 20, 2010

Le Consulat

Downtown area lots to do, parking the block

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

most every is close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
luilli2007
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 18, 2010

The ugly Hotel

The hotel is located at a very bad neighborhood with high rate of crime. The hotel has not private parking lot and people have to park their cars on the street in front of the hotel. I cancelled my reservation and moved to other hotel that I found later and paid by my self.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Sep 27, 2009

it was ok

It was decent, for the price I paid, I can't really complain. Just wish the wi-fi wasn't so slowww

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top