$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
64 reviews
pre-cruise

we stayed one night pre cruise in Le Consulat and found it wonderful. within walking distance to... See full review

  • musicman
  • May 21, 2013
couple getaway

It was a pretty good stay. It says that you get cable but it only gives you like 6 cable channels.... See full review

  • Quis
  • Jan 4, 2014
Small hotel, big on charm, in Condado District
Le Consulat is located on quiet, tree-lined Magdalena Street in the Condado District. The small but mighty boutique hotel is in the middle of an area popular for its shopping, dining and nightlife. The hotel is also just minutes from the beautiful Condado Beach. Small touches such as a reading nook on its third floor add up to big charm. Le Consulat has a lovely enclosed pool area, including a swimming pool and a hot tub fed by a waterfall, with tables and lounge chairs. The rooms are tidy and contemporary.
Highlights
  • The golden sands of Condado Beach just blocks away
  • Located in the glitzy Condado district
  • Situated on a quiet, tree-lined street
Rooms

The 20 rooms at Le Consulat are basic and tidy, but they're warmly decorated with walnut headboards and nightstands, colorful easy chairs and decorative lamps. Some rooms have balconies, private patios, work desks and sofa sleepers. All have bright bathrooms with gleaming white tile, basin sinks and wood accents. Wi-Fi is available in every room.

Recreation

There is a pool and whirlpool on-site, and Condado Beach is just a few blocks from the Consulat.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Plaza las Americas (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (4 mi/6.4km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout hotel  
Policies and fees

There is an operational charge of $3 per day at Le Consulat.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4558 -66.0737
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Int'l Arpt, (SJU), 4.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Airport, Condado Central

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Multilingual
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Sofa bed

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.9 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.9 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Feb 21, 2010

Awful!!!!

I don't normally do reviews, but this was hotel was so terrible I had to take the opportunity to warn others away. Do not stay in this hotel! We used this hotel as a one overnight before getting on a cruise in San Juan. We arrived late, about midnight. The room was small, and the floors were filthy. The shower had no water pressure and the inside of the shower itself made me wish I had packed "shower shoes", I didn't want to step inside. But that wasn't the worst. About 20 minutes later there was a battery of gunshots. We came outside our room to see if there was an issue and was told there was a manhunt on our street to find someone who had just shot two police officers. There were police cars, helicopters and loud speaker annoucements for 3 hours! We were told to go back into our rooms and lock the doors. The next morning the staff at the hotel was nonchalant about the whole thing telling us they "caught the guy" and that was it. Apparently there isn't a "felony discount" on the hotel price if your stuck in the hotel due to a manhunt. Overall it was a terrible experience and if I could give negative stars I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Feb 21, 2010

Awful!!!!

I don't normally do reviews, but this was hotel was so terrible I had to take the opportunity to warn others away. Do not stay in this hotel! We used this hotel as a one overnight before getting on a cruise in San Juan. We arrived late, about midnight. The room was small, and the floors were filthy. The shower had no water pressure and the inside of the shower itself made me wish I had packed "shower shoes", I didn't want to step inside. But that wasn't the worst. About 20 minutes later there was a battery of gunshots. We came outside our room to see if there was an issue and was told there was a manhunt on our street to find someone who had just shot two police officers. There were police cars, helicopters and loud speaker annoucements for 3 hours! We were told to go back into our rooms and lock the doors. The next morning the staff at the hotel was nonchalant about the whole thing telling us they "caught the guy" and that was it. Apparently there isn't a "felony discount" on the hotel price if your stuck in the hotel due to a manhunt. Overall it was a terrible experience and if I could give negative stars I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
San Juan traveller
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Very dirty

I would be very careful booking this room. The bathroom was very dirty and when I asked to be changed to another room they said they were booked. They didn't even offer to clean it. There was still hair and gum in the shower from a previous guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
luilli2007
Houston, TX
Jan 18, 2010

The ugly Hotel

The hotel is located at a very bad neighborhood with high rate of crime. The hotel has not private parking lot and people have to park their cars on the street in front of the hotel. I cancelled my reservation and moved to other hotel that I found later and paid by my self.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Jan 13, 2010

Horrible stay. Would not reccommend!!!!

There was no room service at the hotel. The management claimed that the maid did not show up for two days. I never had my towels or even my toilet paper refreshed! The AC did not work properly! The phone was old and nasty! The lamp shade was crooked and warped! The TV only had basic channels and the picture was difficult to see. This was a scam!!!! I could have done better for $20 more per night!!!! Overall, a shabby establishment! Will not reccommend and will never go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Jan 13, 2010

Horrible stay. Would not reccommend!!!!

There was no room service at the hotel. The management claimed that the maid did not show up for two days. I never had my towels or even my toilet paper refreshed! The AC did not work properly! The phone was old and nasty! The lamp shade was crooked and warped! The TV only had basic channels and the picture was difficult to see. This was a scam!!!! I could have done better for $20 more per night!!!! Overall, a shabby establishment! Will not reccommend and will never go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nenamami
syracuse,ny
May 31, 2010

condado

The hotel is in a prime location where you really don't need a car if you want to stay in the tourist area. The only other enjoyable thing about this hotel was the staff. The first night I got there my bed was made but with dirty sheets. I asked for new sheets and the comforter was stained with blood. All the towels were stained up. There is only one cleaning lady for the whole hotel and her hair was on everything. Again the front desk staff was very friendly and attentive, other than that I was not very impressed. Based on the cleanliness I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

So not eat on the main strip in the tourist area as it is very costly. For a short drive you can find some of the best Puerto Rican cuisine at a very cheap price.

Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nenamami
syracuse,ny
May 31, 2010

condado

The hotel is in a prime location where you really don't need a car if you want to stay in the tourist area. The only other enjoyable thing about this hotel was the staff. The first night I got there my bed was made but with dirty sheets. I asked for new sheets and the comforter was stained with blood. All the towels were stained up. There is only one cleaning lady for the whole hotel and her hair was on everything. Again the front desk staff was very friendly and attentive, other than that I was not very impressed. Based on the cleanliness I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

So not eat on the main strip in the tourist area as it is very costly. For a short drive you can find some of the best Puerto Rican cuisine at a very cheap price.

Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
just working
Business
minneapolis, mn
Nov 20, 2012

Not a three star hotel; horrible wi-fi

The room was not clean (spills and a lot of dust bunnies on the floor). The couch was old (I wouldn't sit on it). The wi-fi barely worked and only if you found the one little spot (that changed frequently) in the room could you get a "poor" connection. I've stayed in places like this before - I would not even complain typically. However, listing this as a 3 star hotel and charging the prices they do, I just think was completely out-of-line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
time2play
Chicago
Nov 2, 2010

Hotel was ok-ish / Manager was crabby!

Hotel is off the main street of Ashford. If you are walking at night it's a dark street and it has a crumbling sidewalk so be careful. Room was adequate however the housekeeping staff is not great. Some days I had a full set of towels and some days not. Some days shampoo and some days not. Tissue ran out first day and was not replaced. Desk clerk was helpful in stocking the room upon my request. The manager (middle aged male) always appeared crabby and silent. Breakfast is a pre-packaged muffin and a cup of coffee served at the front desk waiting area. Manager was at front desk one day when someone tried checking in a few minutes early and he boldly stated that check in was at 3:00 although I am sure they had a room ready. Either way he could have said it in a nicer manner as the man stook and waited till 3:00. Pool is tiny but clean. Overall I would not be interested in staying again at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top