$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
42 reviews
pre-cruise

we stayed one night pre cruise in Le Consulat and found it wonderful. within walking distance to... See full review

  • musicman
  • May 21, 2013
couple getaway

It was a pretty good stay. It says that you get cable but it only gives you like 6 cable channels.... See full review

  • Quis
  • Jan 4, 2014
Small hotel, big on charm, in Condado District
Le Consulat is located on quiet, tree-lined Magdalena Street in the Condado District. The small but mighty boutique hotel is in the middle of an area popular for its shopping, dining and nightlife. The hotel is also just minutes from the beautiful Condado Beach. Small touches such as a reading nook on its third floor add up to big charm. Le Consulat has a lovely enclosed pool area, including a swimming pool and a hot tub fed by a waterfall, with tables and lounge chairs. The rooms are tidy and contemporary.
Highlights
  • The golden sands of Condado Beach just blocks away
  • Located in the glitzy Condado district
  • Situated on a quiet, tree-lined street
Rooms

The 20 rooms at Le Consulat are basic and tidy, but they're warmly decorated with walnut headboards and nightstands, colorful easy chairs and decorative lamps. Some rooms have balconies, private patios, work desks and sofa sleepers. All have bright bathrooms with gleaming white tile, basin sinks and wood accents. Wi-Fi is available in every room.

Recreation

There is a pool and whirlpool on-site, and Condado Beach is just a few blocks from the Consulat.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Plaza las Americas (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (4 mi/6.4km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout hotel  
Policies and fees

There is an operational charge of $3 per day at Le Consulat.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4558 -66.0737
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Int'l Arpt, (SJU), 4.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Airport, Condado Central

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Multilingual
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Sofa bed

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.9 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.9 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SC-nyc
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2010

Good budget hotel

Good hotel for the budget traveler. Really, no frills and very basic service. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I found the hotel room size adequate for me and a friend- 1 queen bed, a sofa, small work table and a spacious closet (with safe, for $1.50 a day. I didn't use it, and all my belongings and money were still there.) There is a spacious shower. I was pleasantly surprised that my room had an adjoining patio- didn't spend too much time out there, but nice place to sit with coffee and make some phone calls in the morning. There was free wi-fi as well. The pool area is small and not too exciting, but not too many other guests were using it while we were there, so it was a nice, quiet and private place too cool off at the end of the day. The room was relatively clean - although on some days the towels were frayed. They always brought new towels whenever I requested, though. The hotel is in a great location (on Magdalena Avenue, but really behind Ashford Avenue, where all the shops, hotels, and beach entrances are). There are some really nice restaurants right on Ashford Avenue as well. The bus stop is a 1 minute walk away (right by La Concha hotel) and you can take the B21 to Old San Juan. There's not too much to do in the hotel itself- there is no cafe on site, and just about 17 channels on the TV ( of which 2 or 3 are in Spanish, and the rest are USA, TNT, NBC-Virgin Islands, Discovery, CNN and I think FOX.) Bottom line, this hotel is great if you want a place to keep your stuff while you explore the city and just rest when you come at night- and maybe cool off by the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants and cafes within walking distance. Pelayo (coffee place) is located on the block right across the hotel(Calle Luisa, I believe). Picachos Cafe is on Ashford Avenue, a little before the Conrad hotel. Ropa Vieja was a great Cuban/PuertoRican place (try the Ropa Vieja Mofonguitos). Pinky's is a sandwich place on Ashford by the Marriott. And there are a ton of other restaurants near by on Ashford. Walgreens is near the hotel, and good place to stock up on ameneties. By the La Concha hotel is the local Parada (Bus station), and for 75 cents you can take the B21 to old san juan (vs. $16 for the taxi. On the weekdays and mornings, the bus services was fairly frequent. I would try to share a cab on Sundays and during the nights).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn ny
Jun 17, 2010

Good trip

Nice quiet hotel, great location close to restuarants, beach & casino. Would have been so much better if it had a fridge & microwave to store & heat our left over food because it was sooo good & we usually couldn't finish our plate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oiuyt
Philadelphia
Jun 10, 2010

Le Consulat - San Juan, Puerto Rico

Free breakfast included (at a bakery a bit under 2 blocks away), which was a welcome surprise and very good. Good location, 1 1/2 blocks from the beach and on a bus route to wherever in San Juan. Friendly and helpful desk staff. Smallish hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nenamami
syracuse,ny
May 31, 2010

condado

The hotel is in a prime location where you really don't need a car if you want to stay in the tourist area. The only other enjoyable thing about this hotel was the staff. The first night I got there my bed was made but with dirty sheets. I asked for new sheets and the comforter was stained with blood. All the towels were stained up. There is only one cleaning lady for the whole hotel and her hair was on everything. Again the front desk staff was very friendly and attentive, other than that I was not very impressed. Based on the cleanliness I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

So not eat on the main strip in the tourist area as it is very costly. For a short drive you can find some of the best Puerto Rican cuisine at a very cheap price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
froggy to-be
new york city
May 17, 2010

la consulat, san juan

very pleasant-nice staff-free breakfast-one block from beach and shops and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

because of low taxes the food prices are a little steep for what it is-consider stocking up on some snacks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington, VA
Apr 2, 2010

Spring Vacation in San Juan

Our stay at Le Consulat was fabulous! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the free breakfast at a cafe down the street was an added bonus. My boyfriend was on crutches during our trip, so the proximity of the hotel to the beach, many restaurants, taxis, buses, and trolleys was perfect. The room was small-ish but clean, cool (important any time of year in PR!), and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ajili-Mojili is worth the money! It was BY FAR the best meal we had in San Juan! I didn't think I liked arroz con habichuelas or flan until I had both there :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LSB
Corona Ca
Mar 29, 2010

one night stand

I read other reviews before staying at this hotel and I kind of had my doubts. Lets face it its not the Hilton but for a one night stand waiting for a cruise this place was great. There were a few of us so we had three rooms. It was clean. the staff was very nice and helpful. We did have to wait for towels but wasn't a big deal. The rooms are small and so is the pool but we we weren't staying there for our vacation. There is a great night life just around the corner and the beach is a two minute walk. If your going on a cruise i would stay here. They will hold your bags while you explore Puerto Rico while waiting to board your ship. Old San Juan is about ten minutes away via bus or taxi. .75 takes you there via the bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trasmuss
Denver, CO
Mar 29, 2010

Le Consulat felt like home...

We arrived in San Juan for a week stay. And overall we were very satisfied with the vacation. We arrived at one, our room wasn't ready... but they kept our bags as we walked around town. When we arrived we were put into the Christianity room (gay couple)... we found that funny. All 'balcony' rooms are on the first floor... I was hoping for more of a view. However, our room was cleaned everyday... even sand from the beach was cleaned out of the shower and off the floor. I was impressed with the attention to detail. We didn't have hot water in the shower for most of the trip... but it was so warm out... the cold shower was kind of refreshing. The staff was helpful with directions and best ways to get around town. The hotel is in a great location... close to EVERYTHING including bus lines. Public transportation is very safe and easy to navigate in San Juan... don't waste your money on renting a car! I may or may not stay at this hotel again... they were some other hotels with more amenities in the same area that I might like to try. La Concha and the Conrad hotels are both very nice and have great pools, restaurants and views. Le Consulat felt more like home than an exotic vacation... i appreciated this but sometimes you want to be spoiled!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go on the fortress tours in Old San Juan! Easy bus-ride away! It is only $5 for both fortresses... They are well worth it! Beautiful views and lots of history! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Feb 21, 2010

Awful!!!!

I don't normally do reviews, but this was hotel was so terrible I had to take the opportunity to warn others away. Do not stay in this hotel! We used this hotel as a one overnight before getting on a cruise in San Juan. We arrived late, about midnight. The room was small, and the floors were filthy. The shower had no water pressure and the inside of the shower itself made me wish I had packed "shower shoes", I didn't want to step inside. But that wasn't the worst. About 20 minutes later there was a battery of gunshots. We came outside our room to see if there was an issue and was told there was a manhunt on our street to find someone who had just shot two police officers. There were police cars, helicopters and loud speaker annoucements for 3 hours! We were told to go back into our rooms and lock the doors. The next morning the staff at the hotel was nonchalant about the whole thing telling us they "caught the guy" and that was it. Apparently there isn't a "felony discount" on the hotel price if your stuck in the hotel due to a manhunt. Overall it was a terrible experience and if I could give negative stars I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane, WA
Jan 20, 2010

Le Consulat

Downtown area lots to do, parking the block

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

most every is close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search