$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
43 reviews
pre-cruise

we stayed one night pre cruise in Le Consulat and found it wonderful. within walking distance to... See full review

  • musicman
  • May 21, 2013
couple getaway

It was a pretty good stay. It says that you get cable but it only gives you like 6 cable channels.... See full review

  • Quis
  • Jan 4, 2014
Small hotel, big on charm, in Condado District
Le Consulat is located on quiet, tree-lined Magdalena Street in the Condado District. The small but mighty boutique hotel is in the middle of an area popular for its shopping, dining and nightlife. The hotel is also just minutes from the beautiful Condado Beach. Small touches such as a reading nook on its third floor add up to big charm. Le Consulat has a lovely enclosed pool area, including a swimming pool and a hot tub fed by a waterfall, with tables and lounge chairs. The rooms are tidy and contemporary.
Highlights
  • The golden sands of Condado Beach just blocks away
  • Located in the glitzy Condado district
  • Situated on a quiet, tree-lined street
Rooms

The 20 rooms at Le Consulat are basic and tidy, but they're warmly decorated with walnut headboards and nightstands, colorful easy chairs and decorative lamps. Some rooms have balconies, private patios, work desks and sofa sleepers. All have bright bathrooms with gleaming white tile, basin sinks and wood accents. Wi-Fi is available in every room.

Recreation

There is a pool and whirlpool on-site, and Condado Beach is just a few blocks from the Consulat.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Plaza las Americas (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (4 mi/6.4km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout hotel  
Policies and fees

There is an operational charge of $3 per day at Le Consulat.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4558 -66.0737
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Int'l Arpt, (SJU), 4.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Airport, Condado Central

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Multilingual
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Sofa bed

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.9 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.9 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xochilt
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 19, 2012

It was good stay!

Le Consulat is at a great location! It's a block away from the Condado beach which is a plus! We did not rent a car and actually feel we didn't have to, great places to eat(walking distance), a walgreens around the block, casinos and liqour store nearby. Old San Juan is a15min bus ride away which was fantastic. As far as the hotel I was somewhat disappointed to be honest, but remembered some of the reviews I had read previously like "you get what you pay for" for example. You won't pay a lot so don't expect any fancy stuff. We stayed in a 1 bedroom on the 1st floor. Expect some humidity smell if the air isn't on before you get there but it is clean! Once we turned on the air we no longer smelled it during the entire stay. The AC was so good that the whole time we were there we kept it on low. The bed was comfortable and sheets were change everyday. New towels was also provided everyday. There were no dressers to place our belongings but we did have a closet. It was a small room but had a private patio with two beach chairs to enjoy the out door weather. The bathroom unfortunately was the complete down fall to the room. It wasn't completely separated from the rest of the room with actual walls, there was an accordion door/ wall which you can slide open/ close when necessary. Good thing was that you could keep it open to watch tv while sitting on the toilet. The pool was also small but clean and had chairs to sun bathe! The staff there was the plus to this hotel. They were nice and anything you ask for they make it available to please you. First hour there we asked for a new iron (the one we had, had some sticky stuff stuck on it) and with no question they gave us a new one. We also asked for additional hangers and with no problem also provided them. More towels to go to the beach we got it! The best personell there I must say is Pablo! He is awesome and was the only conciere there to greet us every time we saw him. Super informative and always willing to help, feel bad I didn't see him to give him my farewell when we checked out. Overall, yes it wasn't a five star hotel, but great location, good people, and good food nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bebo's Cafe was highly recommended to us and we totally agree. Local prices which was good and awesome I mean awesome food. Eating in the Condado area could be expensive if you don't where to eat, even eating at known places like Uno's pizzeria could run you a 50 dollar tab. At Bebo's you'll find a great Latin menu and delicious dishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DD55
Business
Idaho, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Get get away

If you don't need all the frills this is a great little place to stay. Sheets are kind of thread bare and they are short on wash cloths But it is very clean, Great staff and the perfect location. I definatly will be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There a several restaurants within 2 blocks in any direction you go and the beach is only 2 blocks away and Walgreens 1 block away. What more do you need?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lov2dine
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan 30, 2012

Excelent location for Dining and Night Life

friendly staff, great location. Small hotel ideal for short stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must dine at Trois Centz Onze in Old San Juan. And all the best restaurants are in that area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
San Juan traveller
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Very dirty

I would be very careful booking this room. The bathroom was very dirty and when I asked to be changed to another room they said they were booked. They didn't even offer to clean it. There was still hair and gum in the shower from a previous guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scout1
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Excellent location and great staff

this budget hotel is centrally located with easy access to public transportation and to old san juan. Staff were great...especially Susie, Pablo and Tatianna. Had a patio which is a must and was wonderful. The room was basic the bed very comfortable. The bed skirt and one of the window drapes was dirty and I reported it and it was never fixed. Hotel located in great neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NECKO
Business
ST.THOMAS,VI
Nov 22, 2011

GREAT HOTEL

THIS WAS A WONDERFUL HOMEY FEELING. THE AREA IS GREAT AND WALKING DISTANCE TO EVERYTHING WE WANTED AND NEEDED. WE (MY SON AND i) ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Aug 4, 2011

good place to stay, informative receptio

hotel room is nice,but without fridge. staff at reception are really helpful,giving information on tours, car rental, and calling taxi. They offer guests free parking nearby. Walgreen is one block away, beach is two blocks away. It also has a small swimming pool, tho I am too busy touring around to try them. They no longer provide free breakfast voucher in a cafe nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to walgreen and ashford ave which is the main street for dining, shopping and metro transit to old san juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montreal, canada
Feb 14, 2011

Nice place

Nice small hotel (15-20 rooms) with a swimming pool. Place was clean, with access to a few restaurants at 2 min walk. We stay only 1 night before going on a cruise ship. Good value considering that other hotels around were in the 200-300$ price range

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jan 12, 2011

Nice hotel, good location

This is a small hotel that doesn't offer too much in the way of extras. It is modern, clean, comfortable and in a reasonably good location. The staff was helpful and we had no complaints about our stay. If I go back to San Juan I would probably splurge and stay in Old San Juan, the hotels there are more expensive but it is the most interesting part of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taxis in San Juan are surprisingly expensive. Take the city bus from Avenida Ashford to Old San Juan - the buses are modern and air conditioned and cost $0.75, you need to have exact change.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
time2play
Business
Chicago
Nov 2, 2010

Hotel was ok-ish / Manager was crabby!

Hotel is off the main street of Ashford. If you are walking at night it's a dark street and it has a crumbling sidewalk so be careful. Room was adequate however the housekeeping staff is not great. Some days I had a full set of towels and some days not. Some days shampoo and some days not. Tissue ran out first day and was not replaced. Desk clerk was helpful in stocking the room upon my request. The manager (middle aged male) always appeared crabby and silent. Breakfast is a pre-packaged muffin and a cup of coffee served at the front desk waiting area. Manager was at front desk one day when someone tried checking in a few minutes early and he boldly stated that check in was at 3:00 although I am sure they had a room ready. Either way he could have said it in a nicer manner as the man stook and waited till 3:00. Pool is tiny but clean. Overall I would not be interested in staying again at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top