$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
64 reviews
pre-cruise

we stayed one night pre cruise in Le Consulat and found it wonderful. within walking distance to... See full review

  • musicman
  • May 21, 2013
couple getaway

It was a pretty good stay. It says that you get cable but it only gives you like 6 cable channels.... See full review

  • Quis
  • Jan 4, 2014
Small hotel, big on charm, in Condado District
Le Consulat is located on quiet, tree-lined Magdalena Street in the Condado District. The small but mighty boutique hotel is in the middle of an area popular for its shopping, dining and nightlife. The hotel is also just minutes from the beautiful Condado Beach. Small touches such as a reading nook on its third floor add up to big charm. Le Consulat has a lovely enclosed pool area, including a swimming pool and a hot tub fed by a waterfall, with tables and lounge chairs. The rooms are tidy and contemporary.
Highlights
  • The golden sands of Condado Beach just blocks away
  • Located in the glitzy Condado district
  • Situated on a quiet, tree-lined street
Rooms

The 20 rooms at Le Consulat are basic and tidy, but they're warmly decorated with walnut headboards and nightstands, colorful easy chairs and decorative lamps. Some rooms have balconies, private patios, work desks and sofa sleepers. All have bright bathrooms with gleaming white tile, basin sinks and wood accents. Wi-Fi is available in every room.

Recreation

There is a pool and whirlpool on-site, and Condado Beach is just a few blocks from the Consulat.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Plaza las Americas (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (4 mi/6.4km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout hotel  
Policies and fees

There is an operational charge of $3 per day at Le Consulat.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4558 -66.0737
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Int'l Arpt, (SJU), 4.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Airport, Condado Central

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Multilingual
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Sofa bed

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.9 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.8 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.9 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Night life
Minnesota, USA
Feb 5, 2013

Excellent place to stay for 1 or 2 nights

Clean hotel, close to the beach, friendly staff, near many restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quis
san Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan 4, 2014

couple getaway

It was a pretty good stay. It says that you get cable but it only gives you like 6 cable channels. The pool is small other than that it is a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
musicman
Iva, SC
May 21, 2013

pre-cruise

we stayed one night pre cruise in Le Consulat and found it wonderful. within walking distance to restaurants and the room (for) 5 was awesome. Two queens and a pull out. Staff was great. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Night life
Minnesota, USA
Feb 5, 2013

Excellent place to stay for 1 or 2 nights

Clean hotel, close to the beach, friendly staff, near many restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travis n Kristin
Phoenix, Maryland
Nov 28, 2012

Simple and to the point.

There are no frills. The hotel is basic and simple. It's not the Ritz, but it's not a hostel either. I thought it was a pleasant and comfortable stay. I would stay here again. I thought the location was nice, not directley in Old San Juan, but close enough. The room could have used a small refrigerator, but oh well. One bad thing was the water pressure in the shower. Not so good, but dealt w/it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two yummy restaurants right out the front door of the hotel. A crepe place across the street where we consumed a wonderful Sunday brunch for a steal. Also an Italian place almost right next door w/great soup/salads and we had pizza, as an entree, but everything looked good. Sorry can't remember names of the places. Both just steps away from the hotel.

Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
just working
Business
minneapolis, mn
Nov 20, 2012

Not a three star hotel; horrible wi-fi

The room was not clean (spills and a lot of dust bunnies on the floor). The couch was old (I wouldn't sit on it). The wi-fi barely worked and only if you found the one little spot (that changed frequently) in the room could you get a "poor" connection. I've stayed in places like this before - I would not even complain typically. However, listing this as a 3 star hotel and charging the prices they do, I just think was completely out-of-line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooke Lynn 718
Brooklyn, ny
Nov 13, 2012

Affordable, great staff, poor room

I stood there with my four friends and my sister and the location is pretty good, just a block away from the beach. There were quite a few problems with our room. The door kept getting stuck because it rubbed against the floor, the couch was ripped, and there were no decorations at all. The staff was very helpful though. We were stuck in PR for hurricane sandy and they reduced the rate for us a few times. This is a good stay if you only need a place to sleep. Very affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orozcos around the block has great food

Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomkatsmeow
Nebraska
Mar 29, 2012

average

Desk clerks were very accomodating and informative. Doors on room dragged.Room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lrshontz
Columbus, OH, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Great value

My boyfriend and I visited San Juan for spring break. The staff at this hotel are the absolute best, they were so friendly and very helpful. You get what you pay for with this hotel. It's perfect for those who don't need to spend a lot of time in the hotel. However if so, there is a tv and a quaint pool. There are plenty of shops in the area along with restaurants and other hotels and casinos. Great beach which was a two minute walk! It was a great place to stay. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Must experience old San Juan!!

Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xochilt
New Jersey, USA
Feb 19, 2012

It was good stay!

Le Consulat is at a great location! It's a block away from the Condado beach which is a plus! We did not rent a car and actually feel we didn't have to, great places to eat(walking distance), a walgreens around the block, casinos and liqour store nearby. Old San Juan is a15min bus ride away which was fantastic. As far as the hotel I was somewhat disappointed to be honest, but remembered some of the reviews I had read previously like "you get what you pay for" for example. You won't pay a lot so don't expect any fancy stuff. We stayed in a 1 bedroom on the 1st floor. Expect some humidity smell if the air isn't on before you get there but it is clean! Once we turned on the air we no longer smelled it during the entire stay. The AC was so good that the whole time we were there we kept it on low. The bed was comfortable and sheets were change everyday. New towels was also provided everyday. There were no dressers to place our belongings but we did have a closet. It was a small room but had a private patio with two beach chairs to enjoy the out door weather. The bathroom unfortunately was the complete down fall to the room. It wasn't completely separated from the rest of the room with actual walls, there was an accordion door/ wall which you can slide open/ close when necessary. Good thing was that you could keep it open to watch tv while sitting on the toilet. The pool was also small but clean and had chairs to sun bathe! The staff there was the plus to this hotel. They were nice and anything you ask for they make it available to please you. First hour there we asked for a new iron (the one we had, had some sticky stuff stuck on it) and with no question they gave us a new one. We also asked for additional hangers and with no problem also provided them. More towels to go to the beach we got it! The best personell there I must say is Pablo! He is awesome and was the only conciere there to greet us every time we saw him. Super informative and always willing to help, feel bad I didn't see him to give him my farewell when we checked out. Overall, yes it wasn't a five star hotel, but great location, good people, and good food nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bebo's Cafe was highly recommended to us and we totally agree. Local prices which was good and awesome I mean awesome food. Eating in the Condado area could be expensive if you don't where to eat, even eating at known places like Uno's pizzeria could run you a 50 dollar tab. At Bebo's you'll find a great Latin menu and delicious dishes.

Review of Le Consulat, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LA626
NY
Feb 19, 2012

quiet side of town

beds were fine, pull out couch very uncomfortable, quiet, good location to get to isla grande, would not recommend for more than 4 people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top