$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
872 reviews
Take me back!

My boyfriend and I spent last week at La Concha resort and we LOVED it. Before our trip, I emailed... See full review

  • Lady Lil
  • Jul 13, 2014
Amazing time

Staff was pleasant and extremely helpful when we needed a car rental and all the nearby places were... See full review

  • latindancer
  • Jul 7, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (872)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 872
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Father
Houston, TX, USA
Jul 6, 2014

Family Getaway

Close by excellent restaurants and good shops. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bestdaughterauntytrip
NYC
Jul 4, 2014

mini vacay

On arrival we were pleasantly greeted by Felix who was very welcoming. The receptionist were also welcoming, we lucked out because our room was ready early. On arrival to our tower suite we immediately got hit by a strong mildew smell, which worsened with the air on, despite the smell the room was clean; the suite provided us everything that was promised and the refrigerator was actually full size with a freezer, we even had a full functioning stove and microwave. Other than the smell the room could use a paint job and the bathroom handle bars need to be refinished a bit rusty on some areas. I couldn't bare the smell so I checked with the front desk staff an they promised someone would come up to check out the smell but we left to get food after no one showed in 30 min after all we were hungry; upon return the smell was still present. The next day I stopped by the front desk and reported the problem again and maintenance arrived to our room right away. They changed the air conditioner vent which was filthy but that didn't help the mildew smell. At this point we were settled in, Instead of requesting a room change, we decided to tough it out for the next 2 days. The hotel overall was nice very modern, chic. There were many areas to relax by the lobby, pool areas, beach, never once did it feel crowded; we especially loved the adult only pool area overlooking the beach. the hotel is in a prime location, in the middle of everything so easy walk to restaurants, shops and the beach is right behind the hotel which was a plus! I would stay at La Concha again but first I'll need to do a room SNIFF!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

take the city bus to Old San Juan it only cost 0.75 and its a 15 minute ride vs $15 taxi. While in Old San Juan take the trolley its free and site see on your own. There's plenty to see!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leonsia
Staten Island, NY
Jul 1, 2014

NICE MINI VACATION

Check in was a bit disappointing got there a little early and rooms were not ready and even at check in time they weren't ready. After that all was great the staff is very nice and helpful. This hotel is in a great place to eat andwalk around in the evenings. Overall it was a great time and the kids also had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.Kats
Puerto Rico
Apr 21, 2014

Luxury and comfort

From the moment you walk in, everything is perfect. The staff is very accomodating and courteous. Everything in the hotel is next to excellent, the halls, the rooms, the pools and bars. I stayed on a Jr. suite which had a small kitchen, a refrigerator, a waiting area and a small lunch table.The location makes it easier to walk to all the cool places in Condado, specially the beach. The only problem is that is to expensive and, if you plan on spending most of the time outside the hotel then it is definitely not worth paying so much money. Is a beautiful hotel but very overpriced. I feels that it lacks a certain something for it to be so expensive. I enjoyed my stay but is still to overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at the hotel is kind of bland. There are many dinning places nearby and are not as expensive. There are many restaurants to pick from and with great taste.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Out for Family Fun
New Jersey
Mar 25, 2014

Family vacation

We had confirmed reservations for 2 suites connecting or "close by" rooms for us and our children. upon check in, we were told they did not have the type of room as per our reservation and that the kids room was not only not connecting but not on the same floor! we then asked for a manager, who was very nice and proceeded to " upgrade " our kids room to a view of the beach, give us the size beds previously requested and said ,even though the rooms were not connecting they would be close by. However when we finally got to our rooms, the kid's room couldn't have been further away on the floor! Moreover, he view was of decayed buildings -we called the front desk, a new manager was on duty and told us that they 'downgrades Us".ok Not happy with this at all BUT the hotel itself was beautiful, and was well appointed . the beach is beautiful but as you walk on the beach you quickly notice the rundown, vacant buildings surrounding La Concha- not a pretty site The food was very average- the drinks very expensive. Departure day- as our flight was late in the afternoon, I called the evening before to request a late check out. I was told to call the day of checkout. The next morning, as requested, I called to ask, they told me ' we no longer have any rooms for late check out ". HUH?? the best they told us we could "have" is an extra 30 minutes in the room> if we stayed beyond that time, we would be charged. I requested they reconsider giving us some extra time on check out day considering what we had been through upon check in, and the person on the phone had an answer for everything.. ugh THEN FINAL thing, one and half hour PRIOR to check out , we returned to the room to pack and depart only to find out we were LOCKED out of our rooms!! Called the front desk again, and was told "we do this automatically upon check out ", HUH?? we did not check out yet and it was prior to check out time BOTTOM LINE< they were nasty and did not honor the reservations, did not seem to have any concerns about treating customers in this manner, DO NOT STAY HERE - plenty of other beautiful accommodating resorts in PR

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PR Trip
Charlotte, NC
Jan 4, 2014

Friends and Family Getaway

Awesome location - Great value. Hotel staff very inconsistent with charges applied for services. Found 3 - 4 errors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roncheta
Armonk, NY
Dec 10, 2013

Great place, easy to be at.

The r5oom was nice, the beach was nice, all was good, Wish the weather was a bit better. Otherwise no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little cafe right next door, it is a Ben and Jerry , but ssrves fabulous breakfast and lunch at a reasonable price.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roncheta
Armonk, NY
Dec 9, 2013

We got what we were promised

The location was great. The staff was always helpful. The beach was prefect. The room we received was what we were promised: 2 queen sized beds. What we did not expect was that we got a suite (living room/kitchen and a bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ben and Jerry's right around the corner from the hotel by the park was great for breakfast and lunch. Yes Ben and Jerry's. Who would have thought. The meals had all fresh wholesome ingredients and were reasonably priced. We had all of our breakfasts and lunches at Ben and Jerry's

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PRprincess
New York
Oct 16, 2013

O.K.

The room was not what I expected it to be. I paid for an upgrade but was disappointment that the room was so small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jijo16
Houston
Oct 1, 2013

Relaxing Getaway

Hotel has nice beach with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Location is good. Within walking distance to many restaurants. Only complaint was upon check in, requested an upper floor and was told one was not available. Was given room on lower floor with awful view but when we when back down to complain and got different check-in clerk, magically a room on a higher floor with a great view was available. Why not just please your customers the first time?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Ben & Jerry's next to the hotel that serves breakfast and lunch. Waffles, pancakes, sandwiches, etc. Has a great patio. Wonderful!!!!

Back to menu Return to top