$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
611 reviews
Amazing Service

It was my birthday weekend and I enjoyed the whole trip from beginning to end. They were so... See full review

  • Adventerous Traveler
  • Dec 2, 2014
Girls getaway

Had a great time on a girls getaway. If you want to do the touristy things or go out to a... See full review

  • Cmtina88
  • Dec 2, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (611)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 611
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Resort happy
Business
San. Juan
Apr 14, 2013

Stay anywhere but here!

Horrible experience. Wasted time and money. There is no one in charge, no one you can speak to about problems. Stay in street before you book here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sanpeto
Business
NYC
Nov 12, 2012

Hip Condado Hotel

This is a pretty large hotel that still manages to feel like a hip boutique hotel. The open lobby surrounding a large bar/lounge area is always buzzing with activity and even becomes nightclub on some nights. There are at least 4 swimming pools (probably more) and waiters are always around to serve drinks and poolside snacks. The beach accessed directly from the property is pretty fairly nice although a little narrower these days due to storm erosion. Beach chairs and umbrellas available from the hotel. Towels and complementary iced water are available in all swimming areas. The rooms are updated with all necessary conveniences like flat screen TVs, central air and modern kitchens in the suites. The frosted glass shower walls are a cool design touch. Housekeeping makes sure the rooms are always spotless. Free Wi-Fi is not always reliable. There is an interesting mix of guests at this hotel from families, to young party seekers, to business travelers. Staff goes out of its way to make sure all guests feel welcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Place, a fairly new burger joint on Ashford not too far from the Marriott, has a nice mix of locals and tourists and is a good place to go for American comfort food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BizTravlr
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 28, 2012

Good stay and ideal location

Overall it is a great hotel. Good amenities with ample number of pools. Very nice view of the beach. Beach is cleaned properly. Very good customer service. Couple of issues I faced 1. Electricity was out for almost for 10 hours 2. Cannot lower the room temperature below 68, for people from north/cold places the room is very warm 3. Stagnated water in the bathroom, shower water did not drain completely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss dinner at BudaTai, which is just opposite of the hotel. I heard Tantric is also a great place, but didn't get a chance to go there this time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boerne Texas
Jul 14, 2011

La Concha

I was in Puerto Rico on business,I was only at hotel at night.There looked to be shopping and restuarants very close. Very easy getting around San Jaun,had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go across street to buy beer much cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Mar 27, 2011

looks good poor on details

Room is on the whole very good, hotel looks great, clean and new. Just lacks the finish that a $300 a night room should deliver. The rooms are all suites, king bed, nice, go for pool side quieter. Last visit was on street side and awake by noise until 4am then slept until the cleaners started at 4.30. This time waited for a room until 7pm unless I wanted a low floor, experience says this is a noisy option. The bed in the other half of the suite is a pull out, thin mattress, no sheets in room, maid does not answer phone, unhelpful when you do find one, in the end after an hour of waiting a tired looking nasty (clean) blanket was brought to the room, no duvet. This took me back to my days at the Motel 6's in the 70's. Then when you turn the light out the light from the attrium shines around the blind that you amy as well have the lights on. Awful. Overall not a bad place for a party weekend but for business and with kids go somewhere else with your money. Hilton is just down the road 5 mins walk, Hyatt is not far or just do south beach in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Guest
Business
Oceanside, CA
Dec 13, 2010

Very enjoyable hotel with some flaws

I have stayed at La Concha two times in the last few months. This is one of my favorite hotels in San Juan. The best features of the hotel are its location in Condado, the pool area, the gym, the business lounge, excellent restaurants and the staff who are always friendly and helpful. However, I did run into a few issues on my most recent trip which were not so pleasant. First my room had a very distinct raw sewage odor. I reported it to the front desk and they said they would install an ozone generator. If they did, it made no difference, and they did not check with me to see if the problem had been resolved or offer me a room change. Second, the room looked it was undergoing repairs as there were no frosted glass doors, like there normally is, on the closets. My room was also missing a folding stand for my suitcase. Lastly, check out is 12:00 PM. I asked for a late check out (2:00 PM) as I had a meeting in the morning followed by lunch with a client and wanted to change before catching my flight. They said they could not accommodate me unless I payed $50. Their reasoning was that they needed to clean the room. This was despite the fact that they never cleaned my room before 2:00 any day that I was there. I was also annoyed because I stay 30+ nights a year in Marriott properties and expect a little more flexibility. I shared my frustration with the person I spoke with but she said there was nothing she could do as she had checked with management. So I packed up my bags and proceeded to the front desk to check out. I reiterated my frustration with the late checkout issue and was told they could arrange it. Needless to say it was too late. Overall, I would still recommend this hotel. In the future however, I will be more vocal sooner regarding the issues I encounter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent restaurants within short walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 9, 2008

Very good hotel amenities

I wish they have SPA, Sauna, and Jacuzzis. I heard their in the process of building it. Look forward to that. Great views with the ocean front, wish the bed can be a bit more harden. They are too soft and creates backache the next day. It is time for new beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are couple restaurant that has great food and atmosphere. I like the Ummo a lot for their grills.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top