$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
View map of 1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
599 reviews
Great trip

Everything was perfect. The hotel staff were also very friendly and helpful. My wife and I had a... See full review

  • Adwan S.
  • Jul 31, 2015
birthday present

This is a blessing, my family enjoyed those days and i want to say thank to all concha staff for... See full review

  • Cesar V.
  • Jul 30, 2015
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.
General
 La Concha Renaissance Resort, San Juan
Location
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Dining
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Rooms
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Highlights

The resort's on-site dining options feature a variety of cuisines, ranging from the renowned seafood restaurant Perla, to poolside tapas, as well as Voga, an American restaurant. At Komakai, diners can partake in the area's only sushi bar, as well as unique Asian-inspired cuisine. Visitors of La Concha Renaissance Resort can take advantage of quick, convenient access to some of the best attractions, shopping and dining in the city.

Guests may also have the opportunity to enjoy the natural wonder that is Las Croabas Lagoon, and nearby Old San Juan is ideal for patrons wishing to explore El Yunque Rainforest. Other nearby attractions include the Bacardi Rum Factory, Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico, and the Old San Juan Historical District. Condado Beach is located just steps away from the hotel.

Policies
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
25,000 square feet of meeting space, perfect for Incentive and Corporate Groups.

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Delicias
Enjoy your new flavorful Puerto Rican cuisine menu prepared by our Chef Ericka. Unique ingredients transform into mouthwatering, tasty meals. Our entrees are the islands most distinctive and representative to our local cuisine, well attest to that. Open Daily for Breakfast from 6:30 a.m. to 11:30a.m. For dinner Tuesday thru Saturday from 6:00 p.m to 11:00 p.m.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Enjoy the evening while having dinner in a trendy environment.
Sereno Bar & Grill
Theres no need to leave the resort for an oceanfront dinning experience. La Concha Sereno Bar & Grill is located in the Ocean Tower, next to our infinity pool. With an array of delicious entrees and signature dinks, theres something tasty for everyone. It is the perfect place to relax, with a cocktail in hand, while enjoying the ocean breeze! Open daily from 11:00am to 6:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
599 out of 599
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Out for Family Fun
Business
New Jersey
Mar 25, 2014

Family vacation

We had confirmed reservations for 2 suites connecting or "close by" rooms for us and our children. upon check in, we were told they did not have the type of room as per our reservation and that the kids room was not only not connecting but not on the same floor! we then asked for a manager, who was very nice and proceeded to " upgrade " our kids room to a view of the beach, give us the size beds previously requested and said ,even though the rooms were not connecting they would be close by. However when we finally got to our rooms, the kid's room couldn't have been further away on the floor! Moreover, he view was of decayed buildings -we called the front desk, a new manager was on duty and told us that they 'downgrades Us".ok Not happy with this at all BUT the hotel itself was beautiful, and was well appointed . the beach is beautiful but as you walk on the beach you quickly notice the rundown, vacant buildings surrounding La Concha- not a pretty site The food was very average- the drinks very expensive. Departure day- as our flight was late in the afternoon, I called the evening before to request a late check out. I was told to call the day of checkout. The next morning, as requested, I called to ask, they told me ' we no longer have any rooms for late check out ". HUH?? the best they told us we could "have" is an extra 30 minutes in the room> if we stayed beyond that time, we would be charged. I requested they reconsider giving us some extra time on check out day considering what we had been through upon check in, and the person on the phone had an answer for everything.. ugh THEN FINAL thing, one and half hour PRIOR to check out , we returned to the room to pack and depart only to find out we were LOCKED out of our rooms!! Called the front desk again, and was told "we do this automatically upon check out ", HUH?? we did not check out yet and it was prior to check out time BOTTOM LINE< they were nasty and did not honor the reservations, did not seem to have any concerns about treating customers in this manner, DO NOT STAY HERE - plenty of other beautiful accommodating resorts in PR

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wennypooh
Business
DC
Jun 18, 2012

Horrible Stay

The hotel had terrible customer and room service. I was placed in the wrong room during my stay and the front desk was rude, barely spoke english, and was slow with their service. The hotel dining services (food) was overpriced and they have a lot of birds that prey on your food outside. I was attacked my 20 birds while eating my lunch poolside. The elevators and hallways were humid and the refridgertors within the rooms did not keep my food cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casa Lola had great food.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed 1
Business
Shelton, Connecticut
Aug 10, 2012

5th trip, but most discouraging

This was my 5th trip to Puerto Rico. The surrounding areas outside the property were quite depressing. The hotel property was in need of renovation. Our room was dated and not clean or comfortable. The public areas (pool, beach, etc.) need to be maintained. There was litter in the pool areas and beach as well. I was surprised to see this at a 4 star resort. None of the restaurants at the property were worth eating at and were quite overpriced. I would not recommend this hotel or the area to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
otistonka
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 4, 2013

2 Star Hotel - Not a 4 star resort

First off I have to say this is a hotel and not a resort. The building is old and shows signs of age and is absolutely unimpressive. Our room was decent and many of the bar staff at the pool were friendly. That is where the good things end. If I can stop just one family from making the same mistake we made, I will feel better about my horrible experience. We arrived at 3:30pm and were told our room would be ready in 10-20 minutes. 2.5 hours later we were still not in our room. I asked the desk manager about the room and he finally gave me the keys. We headed to our room and waited in the long line at the elevator. Only 1 of the 2 elevators were working. As soon as we opened the door to our room we knew there was a mistake. Someone else was already staying in the room. Not only was this unprofessional, it was a huge security issue. We headed back down to get another room. Of course they apologized. We waited again and finally got to our room. It over looked the roof tops and street. It also was not the 2 queen beds as we requested, instead just 1 king. I asked the bellman if they had an air mattress in the hotel and he said one would be sent right up. 3 hours later there still was not air mattress. I called down and eventually did get one. Funny thing is that 3 days later another mattress was randomly delivered to our room. Now that is slow! The next day my daughter went back to our room from the pool and the room key did not work. After 4 trips to the front desk, up and down from the 7th floor, they finally got us a key that worked. Come on, how hard is it to create a key? No apologies from the front desk this time. I am a Marriot rewards Gold Elite member. For those of you who do not know what that means, it means I have stayed over 50 nights at Marriot hotels and I am supposed to get extra benefits. The front desk never mentioned that Elite members get access to the Ocean Lounge or even recognized me as an Elite member. I happened to notice the lounge on my own, but by that time it was closed for Good Friday and the weekend. Do not be fooled by the pictures you see on the website. The pools are very tiny and so is the beach. I have seen hot tubs larger than the pools. They were extremely crowded and covered with a bubbly scum. It was quite disgusting. The hotel claims to be family friendly, but there are no activities for kids. A real resort has activities for them and at the very least, some type of beach equipment to rent or use. Nothing of the sort here. This stay has left me with a very bad impression of Renaissance Hotels and Marriot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Resort happy
Business
San. Juan
Apr 14, 2013

Stay anywhere but here!

Horrible experience. Wasted time and money. There is no one in charge, no one you can speak to about problems. Stay in street before you book here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Jessica
Business
Kansas City, KS
Dec 20, 2013

Beware of leaking showers!

My husband and I were looking forward to our honeymoon in Puerto Rico for a year. I searched for months, looking for the perfect hotel for us to stay at. This hotel had such high reviews, I decided quickly, THIS was THE place to stay!! We couldn't have been more wrong. When we arrived, I was told our room wasn't ready, but we would receive a call when it was. I never received a phone call. After we arrived back from touring the rainforest, I decided to ask if our room was ready. (It was after 4:00 pm, so I hoped it was!) It was ready, and were placed on the 4th floor. Even though I was told a few months prior that they would AT LEAST get us a higher floor, if not an upgrade for our honeymoon. Neither occurred. When we took our showers that evening, the shower leaked so bad, it FLOODED the bathroom floor. We called maintanence, they came up and looked at it, and informed us they wouldn't be able to fix it, and here, have some towels to mop up your floor every time you want to take a shower. This was NOT acceptable to either one of us. It took FOUR sepearte phone calls to the front desk before they FINALLY moved us to another room. I honestly believe they were hoping we would just deal with the leak. The room we moved to was a higher floor, but it was placed right next to the stairwell, and made a weird clicking noise all night long. It was absoutely awful. The only positive this hotel had was the valet guys were exceptional. Overall though, we were NOT IMPRESSED.Extremely devestating, knowing how long we have been looking forward to this! PICK ANOTHER HOTEL, STAY ELSEWHERE!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a delicious restaurant right across the street from the hotel. Their breakfast is cheap (much cheaper than the hotel), and extremely good. At night, try their chicken fried rice or their Mufongos. AMAZING!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Papooooch.
Business
McAllen, TX
Jul 7, 2010

The Loud Nights at La Concha

The hotel is too expensive for the amount of money spent there. They did not have a room ready for me when I arrived and ended paying additional $50.00 dls per day on another room they assigned me. The new room was away from the sea view I originally requested and closer to an extreme loud lobby area. I do not recommend this for anyone with family and [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Nightlife is too loud to be inside a hotel....it's poor....

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
steve ny
Business
NY, NY
Jun 19, 2009

bad service, undfriendly staff

The hotel is nice and the rooms are ok. I only had problems with the service. First, you have to pay an amenity fee of 30$ every day for using the pools etc. Can you imagine: you go to a hotel in PR and have too pay extra money to use the pool. Second, when we arrived no room in our reserved booking class was available, although we had called to tell that we'll arrive late. We had to aks three times on the next day, to get an appropriate room. In summary, nice hotel, very bad service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Val your pal
Business
Windermere, Fl.
Mar 10, 2009

OMG! Never Again!

I upgraded to a oceanview room on a higher floor paying $400+/night for my daughter and I. Upon arrival after midnight they had given my room away and put me in the 2-story at end of property. I asked them for a discount since I was not getting the room I paid for and the clerk said they were all the same price. It was raining hard and I had to go out of the main lobby to get to the attached 2 story rooms on the pool side. When getting into the room; my daughter taking off her shoes step on a needle; which went 1/2 way in her foot! Blood was everywhere - on the cream chair; floor, etc. I called down for some assistants. I was brought bandaid and a wipe. Getting in bed at 2 am; the fluorescents green/blue lights beamed in through the shades. We could not sleep because there was a group of guys parting in the Hot Tub. I went down at 7 am to discuss what happened and see about getting the room I paid for. Loiza was the only friendly one there trying to help me out. I had to go take my daughter to see her relatives so I left it in here hands. Trying to get out of the underground parking was a nightmare. Too narrow, no signage, and my ticket needed to be validated. Getting back to my new room had a nice view but smelled very wet and mildewy. Going down to the bar area to order a cocktail and food for my daughter; I was completely ignored. I went to speak to the manager and he did not even know what to say except that he would look into it. This was uncalled for! No compensation for my room or even offering to order our food. I went to validate my ticket another day after paying for 2 days at $15/each day; Loiza (only one with customer service) had arranged for my remainging 2 days to be valeted. I lived in PR for almost 7 years before my return of 8 years later. I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone. Oh yeah; the night before I was to leave at 4 am the next morning. The party in the lobby was so noisy I did not sleep a wink; when I left for the airport it was just starting to break up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you want to just party and don't care about customer service; stay here!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granite Bay California
May 13, 2011

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly

This hotel is not worth the stay for the money they charge. The Bar tender's especially the woman is rude, I felt like we were ghost and did not exist.We asked for a mango mojito and we got them 10 min later and there was only two other people there.After we received are drinks she made sure she let us know it was her quiting time and if we could cash out our tab though we only had one drink. So i left my card 15 minutes later she returned with three more mango mojitos and placed them in front of us, I told her we did not order those, and she got angry and started to tell us that she just spent the last 5 min mashing mango's for our drinks. Well that was a lie as they have mango preserves already made for the mojitos.But ok we take them anyway. finally a half hour later she closes are tab out and was in a rush to go hang out and swap spit with her boy friend in the lounge.She may want to go look for a new profession as she clearly has no business working with the public.There Drink prices are out ragious and i understand its on the main drag tourist attraction . But 10 dollars for a short glass of rum? That's hi way robbery. especially when you can go right over to the Marriott and have a tall for 7 dollars and the staff is much friendlier. our room had two queen beds a broken chair that i called the front desk about when we arrived and never herd from them till the day we left. The bath room had mold around the sink and shower, and the noise from them cleaning the pool's at night and deliveries equaled not much sleep.All three restaurants were way over priced especially when you can walk down the street and buy authentic Puerto Rican food for half the cost.The most disappointment was from the staff there were allot of unfriendly staff at this Hotel. first impressions go along way and there was not very much of that at this hotel. We visited a friend that was staying at the Court yard by Marriott in Carolina Puerto Rico over by the airport. And the staff there was the most courteous and professional and we were not even guest at the Hotel. I wished I would have done more Research before wasting 2500 dollars at this Place. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

orozco's restaurant. It is a Short walk maybe two blocks. The Best Puerto Rican food you will ever eat and the Best staff. Price is very reasonable.

Back to menu Return to top