$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 25, 2015 Check-out: Feb 26, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
626 reviews
great trip w friends

Nothing to say except loved everything about this hotel. Great location . Very helpful staff.... See full review

  • Andrea C.
  • Jan 18, 2015
Girls' Trip

My stay at La Concha was fabulous. Every member of the staff was wonderful! I would definitely... See full review

  • Jocelyn A.
  • Jan 15, 2015
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (626)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
626 out of 626
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vienna, WV
Jul 15, 2010

Nice getaway

Good overall experience. The only issue was they added a resort fee to our bill. After some discussion it was waived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Use the hotel staff to get information on which vendors to use for your excursions. Their local knowledge was very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville TN
Jul 12, 2010

Not what I would expect from a Marriot

When you walk into this hotel you see clean lines and modern look but that's as far as it goes. I vacation monthly and I have never across a place quite like this. Locals hanging out around the pool with tons of kids and floats. We never even stepped into the pool for the wall to wall people. You knew they were local because some of the family members were fully dress. Trash and towels would lay by the pool for hours with workers just standing around. It was so hard to believe all this beauty just being trashed. The infinity pool had a line of dirt that had not been cleaned in a long time. Our room was suppose to be a king but we ended up with a queen and the hotel was full. Since the room was ocean view and we were to have a city view we stayed. Only they were painting and sanded outside our room starting at 7am so sleeping late was out. Each day our room would be cleand and we were NEVER left more towels, soaps, glasses or even the plastic for the ice bucket so each night we had to call down. If you are looking for a party hotel this is it for the partying is heavy at night. We did not hear the noise but eating downstairs was never a option because of the people. The staff was nice but that doesn't change the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the rain forest. It was beautiful. The roadside ventors had great meals. The bio view trip was well worth a trip to the east coast. Old San was great and we ended up there several nights and had wonderful meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PuertoRico
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 10, 2010

La concha - Puerto Rico

It was a good hotel. The staff was friendly. Several hidden charges. Room was not ready for check-in until 9:30pm on day of arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yonkers, New York
Jul 10, 2010

The best Hotel in San Juan

La Concha is a Beautiful resort. It's in the best location in the town of San Juan.The staff are great and very very friendly, the rooms are cleaned everyday for you. Which is nice to come back to after a long day of outings. The pools are amazing and so is the ocean front view. The jacuzzi gives you plenty of privacy, on weekends the hotel provides live music which is nice. My wife and I had a great time, It was by far more than what I though. I would recommend La Concha hotel to everyone going to San Juan P.R.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Orozco's Restaurant just 2mins from the hotel. Great food for less. And check out thier happy Hours all drink $3.00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Papooooch.
Business
McAllen, TX
Jul 7, 2010

The Loud Nights at La Concha

The hotel is too expensive for the amount of money spent there. They did not have a room ready for me when I arrived and ended paying additional $50.00 dls per day on another room they assigned me. The new room was away from the sea view I originally requested and closer to an extreme loud lobby area. I do not recommend this for anyone with family and [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Nightlife is too loud to be inside a hotel....it's poor....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 7, 2010

loved it-fantastic service and staff!!!

While in PR, we ventured to many hotels to check them out-bars, restaurants, casinos, etc. La Concha had far superior staff. the people were so friendly and happy to help with anything! I ordered chips and guacamole for a snack and asked for salsa. They didn't have any so a chef made some for me. Very impressive!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

all hotels give free food and drinks at the casino so save yourself from oredring at the pricey restaurants and eat a delicious hot sandwich while playing some 3-card poker

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wby, CT
Jul 6, 2010

Beautiful Hotel

Our trip would've been better had the weather cooperated. Rain and overcast haunted our week.The Hotel was beautiful....but very expensive. I got a great deal for Hotel/Airfare [...]but you pay when you get there.Two drinks at the bar...$24...w/out tip.Hamberger $12-$15....Chips and guacumole $9. That adds up quickly when you're a family of 4. I don't want all my money to go to food.We did find some good restaurants nearby.We went to Ole San Juan. My hubby and son enjoyed the Barcadi tour. We ate at Traices....it was excellent....great Puerto Rican food.Our room had a great view of the ocean and pool. It only lacked in places to hang wet bathing suits and towels.The staff..was excellent. Polite and very attentive. That goes from the FRont desk, your greeters, wait staff and chair set up guys at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

VERY EXPENSIVE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dray871
Business
Collingdale, PA
Jun 25, 2010

Wonderful Time

I stayed at La Concha for 4 days and had a pretty good time overall. The hotel is very beautiful and well maintained. The beach is a great spot to relax, although the weather wasn't that great for the first few days I was there. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax, this may not be the hotel for you, the parties last until at least 3 in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pandatam
Business
Republic Missouri
Jun 24, 2010

Fabulous Hotel and Staff

The hotel and staff were wonderful. They did tell us we had free breakfast, only to tell us 2 days later we didn't. Also we couldn't get into our room on the 2nd day and they had checked us out of the room 2 days early. All was fixed though and the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. They printed out directions for us for driving and helped set us up with the biolumenescent tour. EVERYONE was incredibly friendly and professional and made our stay at La Concha absolutely fabulous! The hotel is very clean, modern and simply gorgeous. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There is a great restaurant across the street that serves Puerto Rican food. I HIGHLY recommend that you try the Tres Leches dessert here! If you rent a car, you need to drive to the town of Guavate for roasted suckling pig on the spit at Los Pinos restaurant. Simply amazing food and an awesome experience that is very reasonable. Also take the tour in the town of Fajardo on the boat with Capt. Suarez for the biolumenescent tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Certified Puerto Rico Lover!
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 17, 2010

AMAZING!

We were a group of young adults who came down not knowing what to expect of La Concha and Puerto Rico. As soon as we got to the hotel, we were greeted by friendly valet and then a very friendly front desk. The staff was amazing at La Concha! Everyone was very professional, from valet to concierge to the beach workers! The hotel itself was absolutely GORGEOUS. We were in awe as we walked around, the pools, lounge areas, lobby, beach, etc. were very clean, spacious, and enjoyable to be around. The local bars close to the hotel were also fun to go to, you could get cheap drinks while talking with locals and dancing too. We ate at Perla, the fancy restaurant that is part of the hotel, and it was definitely way too pricy, but Solera, the outside food and grill, was definitely a cheaper and more reasonable option for people to eat at. We also felt very safe while we were there. Safety was never an issue at night,because there was security everywhere. Also, the times when we got back to the hotel late, there were still people to greet us and make sure we got in safely. As we left, I said that this trip was the best I had ever been on and it's true! I would definitely stay at La Concha again when I got the chance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel food and drinks can get veryy pricy, so hopping across the street to the bars can get you much cheaper drinks, and there are restaurants right down the street if you want to grab a bite to eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top